We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The London Gin Club

The London Gin Club
22 Great Chapel Street | Soho, London W1F 8FR, England (Formerly The Star at Night)
+44 20 7494 2488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,619 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $12 - $16
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From their website, you'd think they're just a cocktail bar but we had a great "proper English fry-up" here. Service is quick, the atmosphere is nothing special but comforting in its lack of pretension.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    9
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good spot for relaxing drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I booked a table here for a catch up with 4 friends of mine. I was looking for somewhere central to all of us (we all work in London) and with a relaxed feel. I was particularly keen on table service as any bar/pub in London in December will be busy. The bar was not what I expected - more like an intimate pub you would find in mainland Europe. The crowd was mixed, the atmosphere was exactly what was required and the waiting staff were very attentive. One of my party felt he had to try a gin-based cocktail and was impressed. 10% on top of the drinks as a tip was more then acceptable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, intimate gin bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Tried the Start at Night's London Gin Club last night, and we were thrilled at what we found. The staff are very knowledgable and enthusiastic, and the gin tasting menus are a great idea. Your gin arrives in little shot glasses with an appropriate accompaniment (citrus zest, olives, herbs, fruit, all matched to the gin) and a large bowl-style glass with ice. Very decadent! The service was great, and the atmosphere pretty intimate - a great buzz without the aggressive volume of other, nearby gin bars. The prices are transparent and the food is delicious - the chorizo is meltingly soft and richly delicious. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fab relaxed cocktail bar for gay women and their friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This place is a lunch venue during the daytime - never been to it then - but at night it changes hands to a different team who run it as a laid-back, intimate bar and bar food restaurant for gay woman and friends. There's no strict enforcement of who can come in - it's open to all but has definitely become a place to meet for women who love woman, and also for people who have no qualms about spending their time in the company of lots of fabulous women who love women. Cocktails are great, properly made and by knowledgeable staff - best of all, you can 'top shelf' a cocktail for a small fee to swap more standard alcohol brands out for fancier numbers which I love. Just a great venue, a little off the beaten track for Soho, and SO much better than Candy Bar. Which isn't saying much, but in this case, it is.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Soho's Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I almost don't want to write a review about this place as I don't want too many people finding out about it. But I have to. Just because it's so good.

This is, by a country mile, my favourite place to have post-work drinks in Soho. I was introduced to it by a friend about a year or two ago, and since then, have probably been back there once a week! It's a great place to sit and chat the night away over a bottle of wine or two.

Staff are excellent and always give fantastic service, the cocktails are delicious and good value, and the ambience is warm and unpretentious - something that can be hard to find in Soho.

So if you're looking for somewhere that has a friendly atmosphere, where you can sit down, have a few drinks and talk without having to shout over ear-splittingly loud music, then get yourself down to The Star (just don't tell too many people about it please),

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The London Gin Club also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The London Gin Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The London Gin Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.