We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for young people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Monkeys in the Trees

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Monkeys in the Trees to your Saves list
The Monkeys in the Trees
49 Becklow Rd, | Shepherds Bush, London W129ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Celje, Slovenia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect for young people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have stayed in hostel in february (3 nights). I travelled with a friend and we were in room for 6 females. The room is tiny, but everything you actually need is some space for luggage and hangers for coat/towel (enough hangers and enough space). The room is as clean as are the ones who occupy it. The bathrooms had a problem: no electrical outlets in there. Despite that, i have no complains.
Breakfast was free, toast and tea, which was good.
Hostel has no curfew so you can stay out as long as you wish.
I strongly recommend this hostel to young people. You get what you pay for

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    13
    6
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
7
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stay in hostels all over the world. They are always a great way to meet strange and interesting people. This place is no exception!
Thoroughly charming staff (even the owner!)

The bar is great with a superb range of whisky. Ask Jakub which one is his favourite!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Really friendly staff but awful maintenance hostel, too dirty, no clean correctly, only work one shower and there are three, toilet no works ok, matress shape in V, too humidity..............place to avoid

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Pub was comfortable, welcoming; location was decent, staff were friendly, courteous and knowledgable.
Beds were squeaky, unstable, and in some cases unsafe (semi-detached ladders, no railings), mattresses were the worst I have encountered in 15 years of hostels, comparable to sleeping on a box of bundled wires. Noisy and run down, things needed repair; especially broken showers, faucets, and fans. (And the credit card machine). Dorms could use a thorough once over with a vacuum, wall hooks, bedside lights, bedside power sources, shelves. Some art would be a bonus.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed 11 nights here due to working in the area in a 6 bed mixed dorm on the first floor.

Positive Points:-

- For a London hostel it's very good value, you will be hard pressed to find a cheaper dorm room in zone 2 London
- Most beds have privacy curtains, reading lights so you can have privacy
- Breakfast included
- Excellent bar / communal area
- Quiet location away from traffic noise
- Friendly staff
- Free wifi
- Free lockers
- Pre allocated bunks

Negative points:-
- Rooms quite cramped, not much space for luggage
- Kitchen far too small, cannot fit more than 2 or 3 people in at a time, ended up eating out most nights as physically couldn't get into the kitchen
- Not enough shower rooms and some shower rooms didn't have working showers, one room had a working shower but then the sink didn't work, there was always a queue in the mornings for people to use the bathrooms.
- 3 tier bunks, some people struggled getting up and down from top bunk
- hostel is a little out of the way

All in all I would stay here again, as it is great value for money and the negative points you can live with due to the low cost of the accommodation

Room Tip: Request a bottom bunk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here as our first stop in London, not too hard to get to from Heathrow Airport.

Going out at night was a bit of a walk to the Tube station, otherwise there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. The hostel is in a really quiet area, and a pin code is needed to enter after 11pm I think which made it quite secure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very good hostel considered how cheap it is. Staff is friendly and the atmosphere in the dorms and common room was welcoming.
Dorms were a little messy and bathroom floors were almost wet and the kitchen was in horribl condition but I blame the fellow travelers instead of staff. Cleaners came everyday and did a good job but the second new guest arrived, their stuff seemed to be everywhere.

Location is not the best but public transportation is easily accessable.

I enjoyed my stay very much and I will consider coming again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorm of 10 people for two weeks and I liked it a lot. Just to remind you, it's e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Monkeys in the Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monkeys in the Trees

Address: 49 Becklow Rd, | Shepherds Bush, London W129ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #267 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Monkeys in the Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monkeys In The Trees London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Monkeys in the Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.