We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable stay in London” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Monkeys in the Trees

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Monkeys in the Trees to your Saves list
The Monkeys in the Trees
49 Becklow Rd, | Shepherds Bush, London W129ER, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #309 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good affordable stay in London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was coming for a few days to England, primarily for the wedding of a friend, and decided to see a little bit of England. I use London as a central point for the place I'd stay at.
So I wanted something that would be cheap enough and yet comfy/convenient. Also note that I was there just the week before the Olympics started...

First of: the location...
This is not central London in the sense that you'll need a few tube stops before getting to any of the big attractions in London. It's about 10 minutes walk from the nearest tube stop (Shepherd's Bush Market). Some also would call it a "dodgy" neighbourhood. Now I guess where they would be coming from as it's not as posh as other places, for sure, but I don't know if I would call it dodgy.
What I ended up finding convenient though (especially as I was coming back later in the evenings) was to take the tube to Hammersmith then a bus (riding all night I believe) that would bring me closer to the hostel.
The street is also a really quiet one so no waking up because of busy traffic.

The staff...
That's what for me was the best part. I wasn't very present at the hostel as I was obviously out and about but when I was there and asked for advices, they would give them to me nicely and extensively. (This is how I found out about the above mentioned bus for example)

The rooms...
I had of course been hoping to get one of the custom-beds rooms but, oh surprise!, I didn't. I ended in one of the others that have very simple metallic dorm beds. I was a little disappointed of course but having read other reviews, I knew this could happen and was mentally prepared. I got over my disappointment quite easily. The bed, if not excessively comfy was alright and very clean at least (the most important in my opinion). The girls only room I'd gone for wasn't fully booked for the time of my stay so I had nice and quite nights, with girls respectful enough not to be loud when coming in/going out. That's always much appreciated!

The pub...
The pub is probably a nice place to hang out a little in the evening but I didn't get the opportunity to give it a try, all on my way here and there that I was. The only time I got to stick around was on the first morning when I took my included-in-the-price breakfast and well... that's the only morning I stayed there for breakfast. It was rather boring in a general point of view. The food was really (REALLY) average and the atmosphere was between sleepiness and boredom (not what you want when in London, expecting the time of your life). I would advise you to skip their breakfast (unless you're on a real tight budget) and find something else elsewhere.
The small garden at the back though is quite lovely by sunny weather!

The facilities...
Alright so this wasn't the highlight of my stay. The bathrooms-slash-showers-slash-toilets are pretty small and the shower curtains weren't all that clean. I wish they'd just shoved them in the washing machine before I arrived. I guess I wasn't that important a guest for it to be done then.
Surprising though, seeing how nice and clean the bed sheets were...
Call me precious, let's just say I kept my flip flops in the shower!
There's no mention of it anywhere that I could find but know that there's no lockers in the bedrooms. There are some on one floor in the hall way. You'll just have to give a £5 deposit for a key.

So all in all, I would recommend the place (I actually did to good friends of mine staying there for New Year's) unless you're scared of Ethiopian semi-dodgy neighbourhoods or of slightly dirty shower curtains. If you're able to get passed that (which isn't that hard really), I believe you'll have a good stay. I did anyway.

Room Tip: I believe that if you do want one of the rooms with custom bed, you'll have to ask the hostel up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    18
    7
    12
See reviews for
Families
0
7
26
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I found this hostel to be quite reasonable.It is located outside of central London, which is a bit of a pain because all the tourist attractions i wanted to visit were in central London. It made transport lengthy are more expensive than it already is (even with an oyster card).

The size of the hostel is rather small, which meant we were packed in a tiny room like sardines, that there was very little kitchen space for food and space for luggage ( a massive suitcase). In saying this, there was opportunity to meet people and it was always very quiet whilst in my room.

I felt very safe in my hostel. Not once did I lock up my laptop or other personal belongings. I stayed with 5 guys in the room and they all respected my privacy and were great to chat with. Curtains were a great touch for privacy but the beds I had an issue with. The springs were sticking out of the bed and the roof is too low ( hit my head I don't know how many times).

The hostel is very clean but the temperature of the showers can be difficult to get right. The free WIFI is great and breakfast was a real price saver ( basic cereal and toast but really tasty)
The bar downstairs has a lovely vibe to it and the staff are really lovely.

For the price I payed for the hotel I would come back here again. I would not recommend the hostel to families or couples, but if your independent traveller short of cash and want to meet people over a pint come to this hostel.

Room Tip: The hostel in located in a residential area. It was never noisy and I always slept soundly through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hostel was well priced, the common rooms were functional and clean, the kitchen was small but functional.
the pub downstairs was lovely.
good distance to the tube.
the rooms were a little small and the bunks were three high.
I did have one issue, i stayed in one of the top bedrooms, and got bed bugs.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Definitely love this hostel. Great facilities, and all the staff are really friendly. The hostel has a very homely feel and the pub downstairs is an awesome place to chill with other travellers. Probably my favourite hostel out of all I've stayed in.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

this is the nicest hostel i've ever stayed in. it's also one of the smallest - it feels more like someone's house than a hostel. the bar downstairs is beautifully decorated and a good place to hang out. rooms are average but everything is so clean! a bit out of the way but it's only a 15 minute walk or a short bus ride from the train which connects to everything. staff are lovely. would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed in this hostel for a few short days, but it felt like home. The staff were friendly especially James the Aussie, the other travellers were friendly, and the hostel itself was inviting and comfortable. The bar underneath served as a lounge room when the common room in the hostel was busy, or any other time you wanted really. I met loads of people at this hostel, and we would cook our dinner in the hostel then take it down to the pub to eat it together. The kitchen in the hostel was small, but sufficient, although more than 3 people wouldn't fit comfortably in there, and only one person can cook at a time. The hostel itself was set over 2 levels with only a few rooms on each level. It's small hostel which made it feel more cosy and homelike. It was cleaned everyday, and though it wasn't immaculate, I never felt it was dirty, and was happy with it overall. The room I was in had bunk beds that were really comfy, and whilst our room was only 2 bunks high, some of the other larger 9 person rooms had bunks that were 3 high, which some people didn't like. There was a female only bathroom on the second floor and another 4 or 5 bathrooms on the first floor. Luggage storage was also available at no extra charge as there were no lockers in the rooms - I kept my luggage in the room the entire time and had no problems at all, and there was still enough space to move around. The rooms weren't huge, but they were comfortable enough. Wifi was free, and always had good signal from anywhere from the bedroom, to the common room to the bar. the only place you couldn't access wifi was in the large beer garden. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful but basic, and very good value included in the price. The location of the hostel for me was perfect as I was waiting to move into my house which was just a few blocks away. This was a great hostel at a great price.

Room Tip: The 9 bed rooms have bunks that are 3 high, where the 6 bed is only 2 high and maybe a little more c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Monkeys in the Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monkeys in the Trees

Address: 49 Becklow Rd, | Shepherds Bush, London W129ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Monkeys in the Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monkeys In The Trees London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Monkeys in the Trees, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.