We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emirates Air Line - Royal Docks

Emirates Air Line - Royal Docks
27 Western Gateway, London E16 4FA , England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Trams, Tours, Landmarks
Attraction details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We visited this on the first day of the summer holidays so we had a 20 min queue for tickets which was reasonable considering how new the attraction is.The queue was well organised,mostly shaded from the sun and had helpful Friendly staff.Once tickets were purchased we were straight on.
It cost £4.30 for an adult single and £2.20 for a child single with children under five free.Oyster cards get you a discount.
We rode on a clear day so the view was amazing,kids absolutely loved it!.
You need to fold your pushchair to fit it on if there are a few of you riding but staff are on hand to help if needed.
Looking forward to doing a round trip next time!
The ride takes about ten minutes

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    309
    70
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cable car joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is clean, quick and a joy to go up in. Loved the 3 times in one week I went up. Emerates could do with some form of interactive guide as you are at the top and can see the whole of East London. Fantastic views and great for taking the camera. there's no shake and is simple even if you don't like Lifts

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“after all the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was disappointed, it's a cable car, just another means of crossing the river.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Will do it again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The cable car has only been open three weeks at the time of writing. It is therefore one of London's newest and most exciting attractions.

Furthermore, with Oyster Cards, it only costs three pounds twenty for a single ride. We were able to simply swiper our cards and walk straight on, with no queues.

The staff were very pleasant and motivated to help.

The cable car initially rises steeply giving a fantastic view of the Milenium Dome, the river and the docks, and further afield, Canary Wharf and the Olympic stadium.

It's even possible to look down the runway of City Airport. It must be really cool to see a plane taking off or landing from the perspective of the cable car !

Although windy on the day, the ride was very smooth and comfortable.

At the end, I would have been very happy to ride back in the other direction and I'm sure it would have been a completely different experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A unique view of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

There are options to get to and from either the north side (Royal Albert Dock) or south side (North Greenwich) of the river. The DLR is good in that you travel above ground for most of the way out from the City of London and get some good views of the Shard (currently Europe's tallest building), the O2 and other landmarks. However, that is as nothing compared to the views from the cable car as it crosses the Thames. If you have been to London many times or this is your first visit it is a great experience. Nothing much (yet) on the north side but if you get off at Greenwich Peninsular then there is lots on offer to eat and drink around the O2 (aka the Millennium Dome). You can travel back into the City or to the Olympic park on the Jubilee line in a very short space of time. If you want' something a little different then how about heading off to London Bridge station (10 minutes) and have a look around Borough Market. For those that might be put off because of walking difficulties, don't be. very helpful staff and an easy in/out from each car.Enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emirates Air Line - Royal Docks also viewed

 

Been to Emirates Air Line - Royal Docks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emirates Air Line - Royal Docks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.