We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midweek Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel to your Saves list
Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Whitechapel Road, London E1 1JG, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #348 of 1,066 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ireland
1 review
“Midweek Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in Ibis Whitechapel at the beginning of July for 3 nights. On arrival, the reception team were very friendly and quickly assigned our room with very little delay. The room was well equipped. The shower was located within the room itself, and not in the bathroom. Located 5 mins walk from tube station, this is a great base for a sightseeing trip to London.

Room Tip: Be aware that noise pollution is strong in this area, so perhaps look for a room further back from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien L, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Julien Lamarre,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    858
    259
    55
    26
See reviews for
499
573
88
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had read strange reviews where guests leapt from the shower into complete strangers. (Pls read room description before booking). Some officialese said this was a cocoon concept which sounds very small indeed. But as refugees from the exorbitant prices of central London hotels, we thought we would give it a try. And we were not disappointed. We had a room which looked due west onto the mosque where one night we saw the real crescent moon hovering above the mosque's. No drawers and only 5 hangers so we spread clean clothes on top of the bunk bed. Very good WiFi and copious 'all you can eat' Continental breakfast in smallish eating area. Spitalfields 15 min. walk away. We slept one night with the quiet A/C on. Aldgate East tube station connects you easily to river and central London on District and H&C lines. 4 nights for 2 plus breakfast 349 quid (Internet booking 3 months before arrival)

Room Tip: I would say that most rooms are pretty noiseless though the heavy bedroom doors sometimes slam and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien L, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Julien Lamarre,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Just spent 4 nights here. Let me stress that the hotel and staff were great. Its basic, but thats what you are paying for so no complaints there. They did a good breakfast each day (continental) for £5, which was convenient. It was also very clean so thumbs up to the staff. Unfotunately it is in a fairly seedy location that is quite simply filthy. It is in the middle of an area that is predominantly middle eastern- and while that doesnt bother me culturally, it does mean that all the eateries near by are middle eastern and no pubs for close to 1km. Being a visitor to London I wanted to experience tradition British pubs, so had to walk a long way to find some. The tube was about 500mtrs away so you could get around fairly coneniently. Overall I wouldn't stay there again based purely on the location...personally i would suggest to steer away from the east end.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien L, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Julien Lamarre,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very clean comfortable hotel. Rooms were serviced daily & very clean. Good nights sleep and quiet rooms especially considering the hotel is on a busy road. Helpful reception staff and an excellent breakfast. Close to the tube & 20 minutes walk to the river for ferries. The shower bring in the room was interesting considering I was travelling with my dad but was a very minor issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien L, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Julien Lamarre,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The toilets can be enhanced with the instalation of an accoustic isolator and water barrier at the shower. The should use the wall beside the window to install lockers.................................

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien L, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We have also well noted your comment about the shower and the toilet.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Julien Lamarre,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Budget seekers will like this place. However as a family it was difficult to get off the car with the luggage while no parking available. Had to find a temporary solution for that.

Room is acceptable and service is very good. They were quite helpful and over the phone friendly to us.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien L, General Manager at Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us. See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Julien Lamarre,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel

Address: 100 Whitechapel Road, London E1 1JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in London
#61 Best Value Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
#294 Romantic Hotel in London
#312 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ibis budget - essential comfort modestly priced. Ibis budget London Whitechapel - close to Central London 1km from The City East London easy access to A11 local transport links from/to Central London and Whitechapel/Aldgate underground stations. 169 Cocoon rooms for up to 3 people En-suite shower and flat-screen TV. Free wifi throughout. 24/7 reception. 24/7 sweet/savoury snacks/drinks. Good value breakfast buffet. No on-site car-park. 100 pct non-smoking. All at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget London Whitechapel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.