We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth visit still astounded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bomber Command Memorial

Bomber Command Memorial
Hyde Park Corner | Green Park, London, England
0207 580 8343
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$41*
and up
Ranked #4 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The RAF Benevolent Fund is proud and privileged to be the custodian of the new Bomber Command Memorial in central London. The memorial has been built to be modern, yet classical, in Portland stone. At its heart are the bronze sculptures of a Bomber Command aircrew. Within the memorial, the space is open to the sky with an opening designed to allow light to fall directly onto sculptures of the aircrew.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fourth visit still astounded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I could literally sit her everyday for the rest of my life, absolutely stunning!! Always amazed at the tributes so many stories so little recognition.
Strike hard, strike sure.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,034
    195
    40
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bombercommand memorial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

a fantastic piece of work and well worth a visit in Green park easy to walk to from Park lane use under passes to get to the park

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Emotional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Having lost a friend a couple of years ago who was an ex Squadron Leader during WWII it was quite emotional to see the splendor of what I can only describe as the most breath taking memorial I ever seen. What was especially heart rendering was the acknowledgement that losses had occurred on both sides, perhaps contentious but none the less an emotional moment.

This memorial has been a long time coming as a tribute to the bravery and sacrifice of all who served in Bomber Command. I sit here and write this a free man, in my view, that freedom is very much due to the efforts of that special division of the RAF. I left a small picture of my friend Bill on the memorial, next to the many other personal tributes. For me, Bill is back with his colleagues, within this extremely fitting and grand memorial.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“At last a fitting tribute to Bomber Command”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This memorial although long overdue, is a fitting tribute to those thousands of service personnel in Bomber command of the RAF who died for us to enjoy the freedom we have today. For those of you who had relatives that served on bomber command then this is a must visit. The bronze crew statues are beautifully constructed and the whole memorial is like the inside of a fuselage of an aircraft of that day. The memorial is close to Green Park tube not to far from a busy road but this doesn’t deter from the realisation of what this memorial stands for. Truly brilliant.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“About Time too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A True memorial to the 55,000 + who gave for their country and our freedom. Also A stuuning scupture of a Lancaster crw.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomber Command Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Bomber Command Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bomber Command Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.