We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for photo taking, energetic experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Up at The O2

Up at The O2
The O2, London SE10 0DX, England
+44 20 8463 2680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get ready for a breathtaking new attraction, combining an exhilarating active outdoor challenge with a completely unique perspective on the Capital.Prepare yourself for an unforgettable 90 minute experience which will take you on an uplifting expedition across the roof of the world's most popular entertainment venue. Enjoy spectacular 360 degree views of London from our viewing platform in the centre of the roof, before finishing with a thrilling descent back to base to complete your adventure.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great for photo taking, energetic experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I went here with my boyfriend. The climbing instructor, Jack was great, really friendly. You start by watching a information video then proceeded to the climb. Even those in wheelchair at able to climb the o2, which is great. You at advised aplenty way up, an when you get to the top you can take photos before climbing back down. I went on a twilight climb but there are big floodlights that make sure you don't miss anything. The gift shop is really reasonably priced too there you can get a large photo plus a magnet and a key ring (or two magnates /two key rings ) for jus £20. The climb its self costs £25 per person but the 90 minutes you spend on this attraction are well worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    219
    23
    10
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We booked this attraction with a little apprehension but that was totally unfounded. The staff were great, the safety aspect second to none which if you have a fear of heights or worried about "falling off" DO NOT worry. Trust me this is a well run and first class attraction.

Once you reach the summit the views are amazing, you will not be disappointed.
I recommend that every should experience this, it really is worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“A 'must do' attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked this well in advance using my O2 Mobile discount and hoped that the weather would be good. I was not disappointed. 30 degrees and excellent visibility from the top of the dome. On arrival the guide took us through some of the safety precautions, incredibly friendly staff, fun and enthusiastic. We were given climbing shoes and a harness. Normally a jumpsuit is also included, but the temperature on the day dictated otherwise. Just before the ascent there was the usual official photo opportunity (I would recommend buying. Their gift shop is actually quite reasonable) and then you start your climb. The guide can move freely between all climbers, so you are never on your own and there is plenty of time allocated, so you are not rushed. You will get about 10-15 minutes to take in the views at the top. Cameras and phones will be carried by your guide to the top (only bring a small camera as DSLRs, etc are not permitted. There are lockers available at the base for your belongings).

This is not a hard climb, nor a frightening one and I would recommend it to anyone. It's a fantastic way to see the cities skyline and something completely different from the usual tourist attractions. The easiest way to get there is via the tube to North Greenwich. The main entrance is just outside the stations exit. It's well worth the money and I'm considering going back again at night.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I'd thoroughly recommend 'Up at The O2' - we loved it! Not a bad price (£30 each) and worth every penny. Our guide (Callum) was enthusiastic, helpful and friendly, leading us over one of London's best known landmarks.

I'd recommend going up early evening; we were on the 15.45 tour so by the time we were outside it was dark, and the lights of the City made the view really special. Equally, the Greenwich laser and the lights on the cable cars were pretty fab too.

It was pretty windy on the day we went, and that added to the excitement too - as did the seasonal snow machine on the top!

A thoroughly enjoyable experience - get on the cable car too if you haven't done it before - we both had, but had half an hour to fill so did a round trip.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

A relatively new attraction and absolutely fantastic. Sceptical at first as not the cheapest 1.5 hours out, but worth every penny, exciting, great views, our guide was fantastic and all of my friends (9 of us) would rate this as a 5 star day out.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up at The O2 also viewed

 

Been to Up at The O2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up at The O2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.