We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff & convenient location but avoid the restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Richmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn London Richmond to your Saves list
Premier Inn London Richmond
136 - 138 Lower Mortlake Road, London TW9 2JZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #135 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Helpful staff & convenient location but avoid the restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Whilst I endorse other reviewers comments about helpful staff and convenient location, the catering in the restaurant was poor and room cold (weather also cold but British hotels must be designed for British weather).

Hot food at breakfast was lukewarm at best - not helped by cold plates (due to overloaded non-functioning plate warming racks). At dinner steaks were small, tough and over-cooked (despite being ordered to be medium cooked). Steak had to be returned and replacement just as overcooked. Price was refunded however and service staff apologetic - just need better cooks.

Hotel staff attentive and helpful and efficiently dealt with bag accidentally left in room on check-out. In cold weather room heating inadequate and duvet too thin. Premier Inn has made great strides with its staff training - needs to invest more in room fabric quality (e.g. heating & bedding). Also TV screen at this Prem Inn tiny compared to other Prem Inns.

Room Tip: Ask for room (if reception manned and not forced to use auto-check in) at rear and not on main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    132
    34
    7
    1
See reviews for
149
110
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I can't fault this place really. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. Cost was reasonable - not particularly cheap. The was clean, spacious and comfortable with all of the amenities one expects. The hotel was quiet enough and the bed comfortable so I slept well. There was a nice, small bar where i had a drink in the evening. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked in to the Richmond Premier Inn for our two night stay and decided to have a meal in the restaurant we were met by staff dressed in their onezys or pyjamas all in aide of Comic relief I guess, we were then treated to a display by the new guy on how not to open and pore a bottle of prosecco. But with some expert tuition from my good lady and much laughter we got the job done.
We had just started our meal and reflecting on the long day when we were joined by some twenty to thirty hockey mad school girls who were down from Arnold school thrashing the locals. As they could not all fit in the booking in hall we had the pleasure of their company one of which like me was celebrating their birthday? A cake was produced and happy birthday was sung to the birthday girl and because they had imposed on our quiet meal I was sung to as well. All in all a Comical night. Didn’t get a piece of cake though.
The accommodation was that we have come to expect adequate and clean the staff were friendly. The breakfast was fantastic, self service but very nice and plenty of it we will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night and booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 kids so we could do some sightseeing in London. The hotel was easy to find and we were greeted by a very friendly young lady dressed in her pyjamas when we came to check in. This was part of comic relief celebrations but it created a really fun atmosphere in the reception area and it gave our kids a bit a lift after spending 2 hours stuck in the car. Our room was immaculately presented and also reasonably spacious even though it had a double bed and two single beds already made and up and waiting. We had a room at the front of the hotel but there was no problem with road noise and we all slept very well. The walk to Richmond station the next morning took less than 10 minutes we were straight into London on the District Line. Sunday morning we decided to have breakfast at the hotel at a cost £8.95 per adult ( kids eat free) but this was well worth it because the selection of items, the quality of food and the service was fantastic.
Thorougly recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

As someone who regularly visits Premier Inns I booked a visit to the brand new one in richmond with high hopes. The service was friendly but the bath in the room had hairs in and one of the towels were stained. In addition, on a cold evening the heating didn't work properly and we were left cold for most of the night. Being on the first floor on a main road there was quite a lot of noise from the traffic. I would advise requesting a room at the back of the hotel where possible.

An average experience. I wont hurry back until the lunatics leave the asylum and charge less for their rooms.

Room Tip: Choos rooms at the back of the hotel if you want any chance of getting some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've never been in a Premier Inn before and I had no idea how fantastic it would be, it certainly wasn't what I expected. The rooms were huge and had everything we (my wife) needed, the beds were very comfy, the location nice and quiet and the food was excellent, although we did only have breakfast on our booking.
There is a car park attached to the hotel and although it costs £10 per night, this is London after all, and parking spaces in that location seemed few and far between.
If I'm ever back In Richmond I know where I'm staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Short 1 night stay. Staff, room and breakfast all very good. We were staying for a Rugby match at the Harlequin Stoop.
Only real niggle was the taxi the Hotel arranged. We were charged £17.50 for a 10 minute ride up the major Road, cabbie saw us coming. On the way back organised ourselves at 10 pm £8!!!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Richmond

Address: 136 - 138 Lower Mortlake Road, London TW9 2JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in London
#107 Business Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#117 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn London Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Richmond England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Richmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.