We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cpuld not fault one thing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern to your Saves list
Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern
15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #54 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cpuld not fault one thing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, fab location, very clean. Excellent staff. Very impressive as great value for money. Breakfast was very good but wished we hadn't had it as meant we were too full for the yummy food festival at the Royal festival hall!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    248
    29
    6
    6
See reviews for
402
205
26
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deanshanger, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A new hotel and very good value, service and facilities. Great to see air con in the rooms. Location OK but lack of parking for out of towners was a problem. Cost about £40 on top. Great buffet breakfast - quality and quantity. Staff attentive, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for just one night and used the hotel as a central point for a family birthday and day to explore London. We checked in later on the evening with our 2 kids - check in was smooth and friendly and we were offered a room on the 5th floor. We were in a hurry but sadly arrived to see the room had only a double bed made up with nothing for our kids. My husband went back to reception and within minutes arrived back with a new room on the 1st floor which was ready for 4 people. The problem was resolved quickly and the receptionist apologised when we were on our way out. As always with Premier Inns, the beds were comfortable, the facilites clean and our room was very satisfactory. We all had a superb breakfast which we couldn't fault. The food was great and fresh and the breakfast staff so friendly and happy to help - particularly with our kids. A lovely hotel, good location, great staff and brilliant breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel for a family break and it is a great hotel in a really good location just behind the Tate modern. It is ideal for the nearest Tube for good access into central London museums and shopping areas as well as being near to the river. This time we went to Pizza Express on the river side by the Globe which is very handy for a family evening meal out and a nice location overlooking the river, bridge and St Paul's. The hotel provides the usual good clean, quiet and friendly hotel that can be expected from the new Premier Inns and is ideal for family breaks. There is a Tesco next door for anything you need to pick up, such as wine :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a modern and new PI in a really good location near the Tate Modern. Staff were very friendly and were happy to keep our bags while we went off to enjoy our day. On return check in was quick and we went off to find our room 604 upon entering an awful smell of cigarette smoke hit us. It was obviously coming out of the a/c unit someone somewhere must have been smoking near unit outside of the building so maybe not the hotels fault. We had to queue and speak to someone and eventually had our room changed which was fine. Well it was clean and comfortable although very very hot!! After reading the in room temp control instructions we turned the unit down and waited still boiling hot so we had another trip and another queue at reception to be told that they could switch our unit to a/c rather than heat mode and to go back to our room and wait we did and it was fine but by then after a long day sightseeing it had taken over an hour to sort out room out! Next was the awful loud plumbing noise which was when anyone anywhere flushed the toilet. It did ease off during the night as I guess less people were flushing although it did wake us on a few occasions. Breakfast was AWFUL long queue, less than friendly rushed and overworked staff. Counter tops were dirty, no cups, no juice had to keep getting up and down. We are vegetarian and are always impressed with PI breakfasts they always have soya milk and veggie sausages but the hash browns were foul and cooked in with the sausages and bacon. We had to wait ages for the soya milk and when it arrived it arrived in a coffee cup for all 3 of us. There was a queue at reception when we left so did not leave a complaint we were just glad our stay was over. We won't be back to this PI although the experience hasn't put us off the brand and we don't normally have any problems. I think the management should have a note in all rooms explaining the issue with the plumbing so all guests are informed from the outset and there should be an option in the room to switch between a/c and heat without a trip to reception.

Room Tip: Book a different PI
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wozani T, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for not having delivered out high standard of service on this occasion. I believe you stayed with us during the busiest period of the kid’s holidays. After having received your comments all necessary action has been taken to prevent your experience at breakfast from happening again. We have taken the decision to add extra seating and extra team members during such busy periods.

With regards to the Air-conditioning and the noise, we have called out the necessary contractor and the issues have been resolved. I hope you will visit us in the near future to give us an opportunity to rectify your unsatisfactory stay and restore your faith in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just returned from a four-night stay at this hotel. Despite it being half-term and the hotel was full, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. The room was clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed a restful night's sleep. Even though the train runs close by the hotel, the sound-proofing was effective and you could only hear a very distant sound. We only ate breakfast once in the hotel, as there are plenty of places nearby offering good breakfast, and in the evening we were able to find good restaurants within ten minutes or so walk of the hotel. A Tesco Express is right next door and an M&S Food is within five minutes walk. Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Visited during half term with my two Daughters, although the hotel was fully booked, the staff were still very pleasant and extremely helpful. The Hotel is very clean and quiet (considering it was fully booked) The hotel is well located with a short stroll along the Southbank getting you up to Westminster or Covent Garden. The Hotel is very close to St.Pauls andf the Millenium footbridge, we found it easiest to walk across the bridge and get the tube from St. Pauls Station. Thank you to 'ayola' who was very helpful to us on our last day, storing our bags until we had to go home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern

Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in London
#54 Romantic Hotel in London
#63 Best Value Hotel in London
#73 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.