We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for the South Bank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bookmark
You added Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern to your Saves list
Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern
15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England (London Bridge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #52 of 1,063 Hotels in London
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Base for the South Bank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The immediate surroundings of the hotel are not particularly inviting, but Southwark Street, just round the corner, is a nice shopping area with banks, M and S etc. I used the electronic check-in for the first time, and if I can work it, anyone can! The reception staff are on hand anyway, and are pleasant and polite as you would expect in a PI. Hotel is immaculately clean and tidy; my room on the seventh floor was extremely quiet - no noise from inside or outside the hotel. Buffet breakfast was very tasty, but restaurant wasn't very spacious: I can imagine that queues would build up at busy times. I stayed here when seeing shows at the National Theatre and Royal Festival Hall; it was a 5 minute ride on the RV1 bus to these venues, though I walked back to the hotel. Bankside Pier is a 5 minute walk from the hotel (by Tate Modern) and gives access to the excellent riverboat services which go to Greenwich (National Maritime Museum etc) and the O2. Altogether, this is a fine addition to PI's London collection and a very convenient base for exploring the attractions of the South Bank.

Room Tip: Seventh floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    241
    28
    6
    6
See reviews for
395
194
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Withernsea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend at this Hotel during a short trip to see a concert and we will definitely use is again. What made our stay so pleasant was the friendly staff who could not do enough to help!

Would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A great weekend away - excellent service and personal attention. Trouble free stay in a relatively new building. Ideally placed for central london, south bank. Short walk from soutwark tube. Great service in the restaurant, our 3 year old was well entertained by our waitress even during a busy service time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Another great property by Premier Inn. In my experience theyre almost always clean, tidy and comfortable, and offer all one needs for a functional comfortable stay in the city without paying £200+ more a night for more expensive room furniture and in-room food on demand (at a premium of course !)
Of particular note here: The check-in and reception staff were really really nice, bent over backwards to make me feel more than just a number, and carried the 'service with a smile' concept very pleasantly to its highest level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the place to be in a great location for visiting central London as well as friends. I hesitated about whether to give it 4 stars or 3 but decided to go for 3 for the following reasons:

On the plus side is the location: 5 minutes walk from Southark tube station, the same distance to the new entrance to Blackfriars for trains and of course just behind Tate Modern and the river. Also, the surrounding area was great - some good pubs (try the Union Jack for a good Sunday roast) and also there is a Tesco Express right next door which is open late. The staff were great and attentive - the really are great at their job. Overall the room was fine - what you expect from a Premier Inn. Clean, good bed and pillows, TV, kettle etc etc.

On the down side: If you like a hot shower/bath you need to settle for a nice warm shower/bath. The water was just not hot enough - you can easily fill a bath entirely from the hot tap and get in. Don`t get me wrong - it was not cold but simply not hot enough. And, perhaps more annoying is that you cannot open the windows in the room to let fresh air in. If you like to sleep with an open window you will not like this place. There is aircon in the room but this really doesn't help make the room feel fresher.

Overall, the location makes this place worth considering....I would potentially go back again for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietrabruna, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we were in london for the olimpic game's, and we stayet 2 nights .We din't chooise the hotel, because was a wish realisaid for my doughter from Make A Wish, we are from italy, and , every place should be good.But was a very surprice find such a lovely hotel, wiht helpful staff in a good location....we had a very good time in London and we'll back next summer, because we have lot's of thiks to see. and this time i'll book from my self. thanks a lot for the most vonderful holliday of my life!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North-West England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here with my mother for 4 nights, having chosen it because of the number of glowing reviews - and we weren't disappointed! This is a superb place to stay - OK, it's pretty much what you would except of a Premier Inn, roomwise, but what makes it so special is the excellent staff. Extremely welcoming and helpful, and they treat each visitor as though they really matter (but not in an intrusive or ingratiating way - we found it to be more like how you get treated when staying in a really nice b&b). We were so impressed with all of them, but particular praise must go to Nikesha on the reception desk, and Ashleigh in the Thyme restaurant.
Breakfast was great, and everything in the restaurant was well-organised. We ate there in the evening a couple of times, and we can thoroughly recommend it.... great service, delicious food (especially the 'Duck Parcel' starter!), and a lovely environment.... a very nice little restaurant!
We were in a 1st floor room, opposite the lift. It was extremely quiet, and we heard very little noise from adjoining rooms.
We found the location of this hotel very good - handy for the tube, and quite quiet! The Tesco next door proved very useful, and it's just a short walk to Borough Mark and to the facilities in the London Bridge area - and, of course, it's a stones throw from Tate Modern.
We not hesitate to stay at this hotel again - in fact, we are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern

Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in London
#51 Romantic Hotel in London
#65 Best Value Hotel in London
#76 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Southwark - Tate Modern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.