We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomsbury Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bloomsbury Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel
29 - 31 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HG, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 535 London B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here Oct 2013 for 3 nights. Would recommend asking for a room at the back as on a busy road and traffic noise and don't know why but the noise curfew between the hours of 11pm - 6am do not apply to this Area of London and many sirens could be heard.
Room was comfortable and breakfast was great. Staff very polite and helpfull. The location was brilliant with a five minute walk to Goodge Street and 7-10 minutes to Oxford Street. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    56
    19
    52
See reviews for
31
30
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was everything I expected it to be having paid a reasonable price for our stay.
The room was nice, basic, clean and tidy and equipped for a comfortable stay including complimentary shower products and tea/ coffee making facilities.
Oxford street was about 10-15 minutes walk away and it took us about half an hour to walk from Kings Cross.
Breakfast was well catered for with choice of cereals, fruits, full English and many beverages to chose from.
If I had to fault the Bloomsbury Palace I would have to say their was only one member of staff who was welcoming and smiled!
The breakfast room was small and people had to wait a while to be seated and the stairs could have done with a good vacuum.
Other than that I would definetly stay there again if I returned to London.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The single room was just as wide as the window and therefore too tiny to put my suitcase anywhere. It was also very warm and I could not figure out why. That would require to open up the window every now and again during the night to the anyway very noisy Gower Street. The noise was unbearable, even with windows closed, so I did not get much sleep. The room and bathroom were ok clean, but there were staines on the linen, which I find unforgivable.
A cooked breakfast and a broad choice of serials and juices were very positive. Also, for business in and around Bloomsbury or the UCL, the hotel is very conveniently located. I have stayed at worse places in London, but for less money. So I cannot recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for just one night and were pleasantly surprised how nice this small hotel was.Its centrally located, clean and great value for money.It cost us £85 for the night including full English breakfast,which was great.The room was in the basement but was very cosey and comfortable and had modern furnishings with a large flat screen TV.The staff were friendly and help full.The tube at Goodge Street is just around the corner along with shops restaurants fast food outlets and coffee bars.This is an ideal tourist or business hotel and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear of the hotel as its quieter as the hotel is situated on a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I booked this hotel for a family theatre outing as the location was pretty good - near Oxford street and Theatre land, on a bus route and it had a triple room. Booking.com rated it as a 4 and a half star. That is too high, I would say. We found it a reasonable place to stay - more like a 3 star. We arrived early and our room was ready was we checked in straight away. The room was fine and everything was clean and everything worked. The temperature was controllable and we got a good nights sleep. We had no traffic noise as we had a room on the lower ground floor. The breakfast room is obviously not big enough on a busy weekend as guests had to wait to get a table and there was not a great deal of room as tables were tight together. However the cooked breakfast was lovely and it was served up quickly despite being busy. The scrambled eggs I had were freshly cooked and delicious. The people waiting on us in the breakfast area worked hard and responded quickly to any requests. The reception staff were fine as far as we could see (unlike another reviewer) - one guy was very helpful in terms of directions in the area, and also getting us extra milk and sugar for the coffee maker. We were also allowed to leave our luggage there after checking out on the Sunday. All in all it was much better than expected after reading some of the awful recent reviews.

Room Tip: LG3 was quiet and cool. Dont get the room next to the breakfast room if you want to lie in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

myself and two other friends are just after staying in this hotel just for one night! hotel located just about a 5 minute tuble stop away goodge street!! this hotel was cheap and cheerful our room had a double and a single bed was small enough room but was fine for us bathroom quite small and compact but was clean!! had a quick breakfast the morning after as we had to catch a flight so just had cereal tea and toast which was fine! staff were nice and friendly hotel quite compact so no bar or lounging area really. curtain in breakfast room was absolutely filthy not something you want to be looking at whilst eating!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was on the third floor (fourth, if you count the ground floor, and no elevators). One side of the bed was lower by 3 inches, as the room tilted to one side. The shower was half the size of a phone booth, and impossible to use your arms to wash. The room had a thermostat for A/C but no A/C. Cheap fan only. The desk personnel on all shifts looked at you quizzically whenever you asked a question or directions. English language deficiency.

Won't be back here, although London will be revisited soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloomsbury Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomsbury Palace Hotel

Address: 29 - 31 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bloomsbury Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomsbury Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.