We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, terrible cleanliness - bed bugs??” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomsbury Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bloomsbury Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel
29 - 31 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HG, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 523 London B&B and Inns
Trondheim
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tiny room, terrible cleanliness - bed bugs??”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have to start by saying I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!
The room was described on booking.com as a “small single room”, but tiny would be more correct! (had room nr. 105 – a closet in the stairs…) At first, I just had to laugh when I opened the door and in a very clumsy way tried to maneuver my luggage into the “room”. It was barely 1 metre wide and about the length of the bed. Had to place the kettle under the bed to make room for my suitcase on the nightstand, as there where no place for it on the floor… The bedspread was also put under the bed, where it was dirty!! Wonder how many guests have done the same before me, and after each “housekeeping” it was on the bed again…just wanted to throw that dirty thing out the window! Bathroom wasn’t better… Sink was not clean, toilet seemed ok… Wetted a paper towel and cleaned the shelfs before I placed my toiletries there. Shower is small, and when you sit on the toilet it feels like you’re at the dentist, hanging over that little sink… The bathroom fan was just disgusting, and I crossed my fingers hoping I wouldn’t get mildew from it or Legionella from the shower… This might seem exaggerating, but it’s not!
Complained about the cleaning the next day, and the receptionist said they would do a thorough cleaning. He didn’t seem to bother about the problem, though… Later, some of the most obvious “dust bunnies” on the floor was gone, but the coffee cup I had used once wasn’t changed during the stay at all.

The breakfast room is too small for the hotel, and you have to sit and wait to get a little rack of toast, and then wait again if you want some more toast…

A few days after the stay I got an itch on one of my legs, like bug or flea bites. Thought that it probably was a coincindence, but reading other guests experiences I’m pretty sure where I got it from! Three weeks later it’s still itchy…

The only positive thing about this hotel, is the location; 5 minute walk to Oxford Street, Soho, China Town, Covent Garden, etc. Rooms facing the back are quiet.

I now regret that I didn’t complain more, and think it’s horrible that I paid over 100£/night for this experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    43
    66
    21
    58
See reviews for
33
33
38
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just back from a business trip in London, stayed in Bloomesbury hotel because it was central and with 55 pounds for one night cheap for London circumstances. I did, in all fairness, book a small single room.



The positives:

The location of the hotel is very central, Oxford Street 3 mins walk, Piccadilly Circus 10 mins walk.

The room was new, very clean, TV, Wifi, hairdryer, phone, tea kettle, everything there and in good working order.

Staff friendly at reception and breakfast room.



The negatives:

The size of the room was a joke. I have seen a lot, but nothing could have prepared me to this.

The tiniest of single beds reached from one wall to the opposite, on the side of the bed you just could open the door.

The room is 2*1,5m, that is three square metres, less the size of an average toilet.

The bathroom en suite: when I sat at the toilet, my feet were touching the shower basin. Small, small, small.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A desire to see the Pompeii exhibition prompted a spontaneous trip to London over the Easter weekend with my wife. At very short notice we found the Bloomsbury Palace conveniently situated for the British Museum at under £100 B&B which for central London is a bit of a result.

I stay in central London hotels all the time on business and room size is often an issue - even in the big brands (when someone else is paying!). We stayed in a basement room (No 4) and it was fine - far more spacious than some of their near rivals, very clean with a great ensuite shower. The door to the bathroom could be a little more private (see through glass). The staff in the hotel were very helpful, bringing extra towels swiftly when asked. The hotel was nice and quiet on Gower Street, but only a short walk to Goodge Street tube where there is all the life in terms of restaurants etc you would want.

Breakfast was cooked to order (always a good sign in London) and was tasty - good quality bacon and sausage. We left our luggage at the hotel during the next day - there didn't appear to be a secure luggage room there, as the bag was just left in the lobby. So don't leave anything valuable in them (we didn't have a problem). A great stay in a part of town where hotels can be decidedly grotty - well done to the Bloomsbury Palace.

Room Tip: Room 4 was perfectly big enough in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Bloomsbury Palace as have just started work in London and this will be a regular commute. Hotel staff excellent , helpful and available. Hotel location is central and easy access to Central London. Down side is room size, I stayed in a single room for 3 nights and it was tiny. No wardrobe, just 4 hangers to hang my work clothes. Shower room compact fairly clean but could be better. The room was just far to small, there was no space to work, as the only seating area was the bed. Hotel is rated 4 star but its misleading. Breakfast was served from 7.30 but too late for me so no benefit for paying for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tingstäde, Gotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is small but excellent in many ways. It is close to central London. But it is on the rather peaceful Gower Street. Good service at the reception. Very good English breakfast in the basement. The basement room we had with three beds was small but clean and quiet during the night. But you had to put your suitcases on the floor and there were but one hanger in the small bathroom. Nowhere to sit except on the beds.

Room Tip: All rooms with three beds face the backyard and therefore are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had a small single room and it was really small, but well designed, so absolutely fine. Had ensuite, which many hotels for the price don't offer.
The only problem I had was fitting my phone charger in the socket as the space around it is too small for anything bigger than a standard plug.
Staff fine, breakfast as you would expect etc....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here two nights, paid £50 each per night with a friend! Pleasantly surprised by the modern rooms and they were so clean!! The hotel had an excellent location right next to googe street station and only 15 minutes walk from Oxford street! Hotel staff polite and very helpful, let us leave our suitcases in reception all day after checking out! Definitely recommend this small but pleasant hotel! Breakfast was delicious with a choice of full English, toast, cereal, fruit, coffee and juices!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloomsbury Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomsbury Palace Hotel

Address: 29 - 31 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 523 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and CityZen so you can book your Bloomsbury Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomsbury Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.