We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primrose Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Primrose Guesthouse to your Saves list
Primrose Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   34 Primrose Gardens, London NW3 4TN, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Ampfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Girls weekend in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our host was most welcoming and very friendly. The rooms were clean, tidy and very comfortable (and warm, given that it was snowing!!). Breakfast was lovely. Aesthetically the rooms would benefit from some redecoration but this would not stop us from visiting again. Our host deserves to do well. Thank you.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you both at my guest house, hope to see you again

lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    41
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
18
38
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The primrose guest house is a tall terraced property in a handy and safe area, not far out from central London, about a 10 minute walk to the subway. The owner is a charming lady, and she and her family make one feel very welcome.
The downside is the fact that there is no sign outside of the guest house name, and the stairs were steep for me - not their fault that I have a mobility problem. Breakfast was made on the top floor, it was lovely in their upstairs kitchen.
The bed was huge and comfortable and basically nothing else matters, although the room was large it was cluttered. But it was quiet...
When going to London I may very well choose the Primrose Guest House again.

Room Tip: A room with a view on to Primrose Gardens makes a difference obviously, and we had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Im glad you liked the kitchen and breakfast, if you do visit again please request a room on the first floor so you dont have to walk up too many stairs, breakfast can also be provided in the room if you wish

lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

great location but accomadation a bit of a let down, door handles missing, no handles on drawers, bathroom! where do I start, small! if you are above 11st in size then don't book in here, struggle to get in shower or use toilet and the wash basin you can't fill the kettle sink so small, if you want hot water you need to run the tap for 5 mins and then if you go in the shower it was too hot to use no control over the heat. As we had a cheap deal on voucher and the lady and here son were really nice we didn't say anything at the time but we will not return or recomend shame really nice location could be a really lovely Guesthouse

Room Tip: have a look before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Im sorry that you had a few problems at my guest house, i was not aware of this, if you had mentioned it to me at breakfast i would have gladly done my best to put it right or move you to another room.
The room has since been checked by me personally now and everything put right.
Lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My fiancé and I recently stayed at Primrose Guest House for a few days over my birthday and had a lovely time. The room was a good size and the en suite was also of a good size with a nice shower. The location of the guest house is perfect, it is situated in a very nice part of London and only a a couple of minutes from the underground station. There are also some extremely nice restaurants less than a minute from the front door.
The service was also brilliant, the landlady and her son were extremely helpful and very welcoming, they couldn't do enough for us (which even included making me cakes on my birthday).
All in all, we had a great stay and will definitely be returning again, many thanks Primrose Guest House.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Im glad that you enjoyed your birthday weekend and cakes, it was a pleasure to have you both
do come again and this time maybe join in the indian cookery classes
lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The location is great as Belsize Park is a lovely area. Unfortunately that is where the positives end. The house although on a lovely street close to the station, is in real need of repair and updating. The host and her son are friendly people but the house decor is cold, cheap and bare. The room was a good size but everything in it was cheap from the bed, the bed linen and the furniture. The toilet shower room was cold and unwelcoming with no soap or shower gel. Our breakfast was cereal and toast which we had to get for ourselves. I feel strongly about doing this review as I believe its only fair that potential guests know what to expect.

We went from this guest house to a hotel near Euston which checking out and comparing prices, is near enough the same. It was amazing. I just wish the owner at the guest house would have a look at how offering a service of this kind should be. The house at Bellsize has huge potential but is such a long way off at present. I will not be going back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
im sorry my guest house did not meet your expectations, at breakfast during out long chat i did not get any negative comments from yourselves and i presumed everything was alright.
lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I wanted somewhere quiet to stay whilst exploring London but without paying a premium, and I was pleasantly surprised to find this place. Seeing the serene surroundings, you could be forgiven for not realising that you are in Zone 2, with Belsize Park tube station just 5 minutes walk away and the bustle of Camden Town easily within walking distance.

I thought opting for a modestly priced B+B might be a bit of a gamble, but what I found was a homely guesthouse in a convenient location, run by a lovely host family. The owner was kind-hearted, relaxed and friendly, and I very much enjoyed the full English breakfast that she cooked for me on both mornings!

My room, like the rest of the guesthouse, was in pristine condition. I had access to a comfortable double bed, ample space for my belongings (I don't pack lightly!) and a modern en-suite bathroom.

Overall, I was delighted with my stay and wouldn't hesitate to come back to Primrose Guesthouse again next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay here! see you again when you come to London!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This B&B is a family run business and they give a friendly atmosphere to all of their guests. Room was clean with good en suite facilities, modern and an easy to use shower. Location is very convenient, less than five minutes walk to Belsize Park underground station and only ten minutes to Camden Town. House is lovely and neighbourhood is quiet for a good night's sleep. There was a good selection of food for breakfast, including a delicious full English. Overall brilliant value for money in an excellent location, would recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Lovely to hear you enjoyed yourselves, do come again when you plan a trip to London!
lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Primrose Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Guesthouse

Address: 34 Primrose Gardens, London NW3 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Primrose Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian House family run guest house situated on a historic peaceful quiet residential terraced street in the heart of Belsize Park, Primrose Guesthouse offers you a peaceful oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of London. We are extremely central, yet in a placid area. Belsize park is one of the most exclusive and expensive residential areas in London and is home to many notable residents. Guest house situated in a very safe and quiet street offering peace of mind for female solo travellers.We are within a few minutes of Belsize Park, Swiss Cottage and Hampstead Underground Stations. Facilities include wifi internet, HD TVs in the room, tea & coffee making facilities in bedrooms, towels, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer. We offer cooked English or continental breakfast and the use of a fully equipped kitchen. Laundry service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Primrose Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose Guesthouse London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primrose Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.