We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend at Primrose Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primrose Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Primrose Guesthouse to your Saves list
Primrose Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   34 Primrose Gardens, London NW3 4TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend at Primrose Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Booked this guesthouse through Groupon and enjoyed our 2 night stay.
Warm welcome, very relaxed, clean and comfortable Breakfast cooked by Newton was excellent, and the gift of wine and chocolate was lovely. House is old and quite a novelty, worth a visit.
Lovely location, like a little village in the middle of London, good choice of places to eat and drink, Washington pub nearby is an old fashioned pub with a great atmosphere.
.Easy for travel by train or bus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hope to see you again, there are some lovely new coffee/pastry cafes opened, Newton or me would love to cook you another breakfast!
lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    43
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
20
42
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Arrive 19/12/2010 We was met with a bottle of wine, chocolate and cookies which tasted really good.Our room was clean and spotless, landlady and her team is very friendly and helpful, I must say a big thank you to milton who cooked our breakfast, it went down a treat.
Lots of local attractions at very good low prices, Primrose park is a wonderful park to go too (I highly recommend it) Primrose park is only a 10 minutes walk away from primrose guest house,I highly recommend taking a trip to Primrose park. Tesco express is only 5 minutes away, Belsize underground is only a 5 minute walk. I would stay here again, especially for the breakfast...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
hello ladies

it was nice to meet you and im glad you enjoyed yourselves, newton says hello

regards
lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Location brilliant. Not too far from two decent tube stations. A reasonably priced car park within walking distance provided you do not have any heavy luggage, although this could be dropped at your room... I am afraid it stops there. We (me and my partner) did arrive slightly before the standard 2pm check in time. Initially was told room wasn't ready but would look after luggage so car could be parked. Then was told room was ready. Then was told it wasn't, and finally informed room 3 would do. All this going on whilst stood on the landing. After being told the room was ready, on first impression it was basic but adequate. Due to having things to do almost immediately, we didn't inspect too much of the room. On coming back, we soon noticed the cleanliness wasn't great. Now normally I read reviews and wonder why some can be bothered. Especially to write the finer details, but I do feel, this time, compelled to do this. I pulled back the duvet to find the sheets covered with hairs, (not all necessarilly head hairs either). There was blood on the curtain and the noise on an evening and a morning isn't ideal. For the room we stayed in, it is stud walls so you can pretty much hear everything going on next door. I do mean everything.
I understand you get what you pay for, and understand that a guest house differs from hotel standards, but to me, this was below par. As I paid £129 for 2 nights. The deal was purchased on Living Social and stated a bottle of champagne and chocolate would be given on arrival. This was actually a choice of red or white wine and a bar of chocolate. I decided not to mention this to the staff as no one ever seemed to be about to speak with. I chose not to eat here as I felt if the food were as shoddy the room, I wouldn't take the risk. So no food review.
In conslusion, I don't think its the most ideal guest house if your a couple, but might suit a few lads on a night out in the countries capital.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
hello
im sorry you were not satisfied, i do take pride in the breakfast we serve and its a shame you didnt come to the kitchen to try it, nothing was mentioned to me about the cleanliness during your stay so i was unaware, if it was i would have made sure something was done about it, i relied on my cleaner to take care of the rooms, due to me having to multi task and not always being able to be in the house all day, i make sure that someone is around in the house should any guest have any concerns in my absence and nothing was mentioned.

Lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Booked this accommodation through Groupon for a few days away with my boyfriend. Don't get me wrong, the rooms were lovely and clean and a big double bed and the bathroom was spotless and looked like new shower had been fitted recently. But for breakfast in the morning, you just basically have to share a kitchen with a table in it with all the other guests staying, like you're staying over at a friends house. When I read upon the guest house on their website before coming, it doesn't state this so you would assume that it would be in a dinning room with separate tables and there would be a buffet or table service or something?? It was very uncomfortable! Also, not much choice for breakfast, toast or cereals basically. Wouldn't stay again! But on the positive side, staff were very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
hello
this is a guest house and not a hotel but your comments have been taken on board and a new layout of the dining room area is now in place, there has always been a cooked breakfast and continental choice on the menu with ample choice

lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We saw this deal on Groupon last month and thought we could give it a try. First of all, what moved us to stay here was the location itself. Just within Zone 2, that would make our travel expenses much cheaper than staying at somewhere between Zone 4-5. Best part is, Primrose Hill is just 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel. There you can see a gorgeous panorama of London. Rumors has it that, some celebrities live in the area as well.

If you need food or even budget shopping, just drop down to Camden Town, 2 stops away from the B&B's tube station. The food there is good, and you are open to gazillion choices!

Upon arrival, we found Champagne, Chocolate and even cookies in our room. To me, it is the small things that counts. So this was just a big bonus to us. You have your own kettle in your room, and are free to make coffee or tea anytime as well. Television and ensuite shower/toilet included. There were toiletries and towels ready for us as well. Overall at first glance it was great.

Cleanliness wise it was alright. Just petty issues like we found a couple of strands of hair on the bed and the table. Sleep was good, the beds were awesome, either I was tired or it was just a really comfortable bed, because I slept through till the morning and even refuse to get up from it. The room is pretty small, but it definitely has all your basic needs.

Breakfast was good for me, I had toast, coffee, bacon and eggs and weetos. The landlady always make sure you had enough food before you leave the kitchen and explore London. She always ask "Do you need more coffee? Juice? Anything you need?" So a 5 star from me to her service wise.

Value wise? The location is so close to Central London and you even get Champagne and Chocolate. I checked many other B&B with Zone 1-2 locations and they are much more expensive than this place. So, Primrose Guesthouse is definitely 5 star value!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
hello shimay

im glad you enjoyed yourselves!

lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Cozy room, clean bathroom, good breakfast, nice hostess and a five minutes walk to Belsize Park subway station - it can hardly be a better stay in London and it is like staying at a friend's home! We were looking for great location, reasonable price and clean accommodation. This is exactly what we got and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
hello anna
thank you!

lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked this accomodation through Groupon for a Bank Holiday weekend break. The landlady, Lekha, was extremely welcoming and friendly, as was Mitch, her team member. We enjoyed a lovely weekend here at a reasonable price.

The accomodation was clean and tidy and the location excellent for exploring the sights of London, being only a 5 minute walk from Belsize Tube station.(Suggest buying an Oyster card at the tube station and topping up payments for use on all tube lines - an excellent and inexpensive way to travel around London).

Thanks, Lekha & Mitch, for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primrose G, Owner at Primrose Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
hello celia

you and your husband were one of my first visitors it was really nice to host you, sorry for the late response but iv only just found out how to put a response on!! see you again

lekha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Primrose Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Guesthouse

Address: 34 Primrose Gardens, London NW3 4TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Primrose Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian House family run guest house situated on a historic peaceful quiet residential terraced street in the heart of Belsize Park, Primrose Guesthouse offers you a peaceful oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of London. We are extremely central, yet in a placid area. Belsize park is one of the most exclusive and expensive residential areas in London and is home to many notable residents. Guest house situated in a very safe and quiet street offering peace of mind for female solo travellers.We are within a few minutes of Belsize Park, Swiss Cottage and Hampstead Underground Stations. Facilities include wifi internet, HD TVs in the room, tea & coffee making facilities in bedrooms, towels, complimentary toiletries, hair dryer. We offer cooked English or continental breakfast and the use of a fully equipped kitchen. Laundry service available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Primrose Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose Guesthouse London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primrose Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.