We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable except for the other guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfotel Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfotel Blue to your Saves list
Comfotel Blue
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   114 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7PD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable except for the other guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I should have realised that the type of room this hotel offers appeals to families and big groups, however the price was so good (only £45 a night) that I didn't think too much about it.

The location is great for the tube - closest stop Goldhawk Road, but very close to Shepherds Bush and Hammersmith too. There are also a few shops and restaurants very close by.

The room I had was on the third floor, and because this is a conversion, there is no lift. Be warned - if you have more than one suitcase you will be exhausted (no help was offered with my bag). I booked a single but had a double bed, but the room was much more suited to a single. The bed didn't allow enough room to open the bathroom door fully, and to access the window and the chest of drawers you had to climb over the bed. The bathroom was nice, but had really cheap toiletries. I would recommend taking your own.

The bed was comfy enough and the tv was fine, but again, because it was on the third floor, wifi access was unreliable (but it IS free).

Breakfast was ok, but be aware that "full" breakfast means only eggs - scrambled or fried. They were ok, but nothing to write home about. The normal continental stuff was offered too, but the coffee was appalling.

The major downside was the guests in the next room who woke me up both nights after midnight and talked/laughed/screamed loudly for at least 30 minutes before I banged on the "wall" - so thin you could understand entire conversations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    34
    31
    21
    9
See reviews for
27
32
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portoroz, Slovenia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a great time and cannot say anything bad. The food (breakfast) was good; typical English. The hotel has a wooden floor and can get pretty annoying if people next door can't understand that they are not alone. The staff is nice and prepared to help. Warming up milk late at night was not a problem and we always felt welcome. Would recommend to anybody visiting London and does not need anything luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfotel B, Manager at Comfotel Blue, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for leaving a positive review for us on tripadvisor, which is encouraging for our business. Your opinion highly matters to us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you back at Comfotel Blu hotel in your next trip. Book in advance and enjoy our discounted prices

Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and young child for 4 nights. I think this is a fantastic place, its immaculately clean. I have a problem with using bathrooms away from home but I have to admit the bathroom was really really clean, it seems its been recently renovated. Even the pressure of water in the shower was good.

I didn't know what to expect of the breakfast and as some travelers have written that there isnt much variety. we (including my 3 year old) were perfectly happy with the breakfast, they had fried egg, scrambled egg, cereal, fruit, yogurt, cake, milk etc... I don't know what else people expect knowing this is a budget hotel.

The transport link make it very convenient to travel with a little one. also, there is a huge super market a few minutes away and we were easily able to get food for my son.

Last but not the least, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave us maps of the area and explained the maps to us too. also, they told us about the discount vouchers for different restaurants in the area. they kept our luggage after check out and we collected it later in the day.

I would highly recommend this place if you're travelling on a budget but you're also looking for a clean place to stay in.

Room Tip: book in advance to get a cheap deal. the same room that we booked 8 months ago was costing much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfotel B, Manager at Comfotel Blue, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for leaving a positive review for us on tripadvisor, which is encouraging for our business. Your opinion highly matters to us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to see you back at Comfotel Blu hotel in your next trip. Book in advance and enjoy our discounted prices

Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Location is actually ok. About a 10 min walk to Hammersmith Underground. I booked a triple room for myself and 2 teenage kids. Room extremely small. No wardrobe, just 4 hangers underneath a shelf. No chest of drawers either, just 2 small drawers in bedside cabinet. On the plus side the bathroom was lovely and modern. Room very hot with no fan or air con. If window was open, very busy street below. Only stayed for breakfast once. Not enough seats for all guests and one poor lady cooking breakfast for everyone. She was also washing up and tidying away. This hotel would be fine for an overnight stay only!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the bacfk of the hotel may be quieter. Maybe book a larger room than you actually need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is not located in the city center, but this is less than 10 minutes walk from Hammersmith station. This is a big hub for buses, undergrood, as well as night buses (nice when you go in bars at night).

This was quite Cheap for London (2 nights for 4 peoples, 144£). The rooms are small, but bed was okay, no bad smells, bathroom very clean, no noise issue, and the front of the hotel is nice (looks like victorian house). This was a good stay

Only bad point: no kitchen, even if the hotel is mainly frquented by youngs travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for 5 night at the end of July. Room was quite small but was all we wanted as we were literally in our room to sleep. However it was very hot this time of the year which made it very difficult to sleep. The room was spotless and this can be said for the rest of the apartments, breakfast was delicious and was very filling. The environment outside was very noisy however and wasn't very helpful when trying to sleep. But overall you got what you paid for and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to London on a short break/trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Comfotel Blu for one night. Good location in busy Shepherd's Bush. Our room was very small, basement level. The double bed was a very small double - I've not come across one that size in a hotel or B&B before. Maybe getting decent sized beds should be on their to do list. It was comfortable though, and the room was clean, with tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was very small, and needed a hook behind the door or something to hang a towel on, as there was nothing like that. I also found that it lacked a hand towel and proper bath mat, as the mat in there was the kind you would put by your front door. I was concerned by the big cracks in the bedroom wall, which I also noticed in the breakfast room. A bit of cosmetic TLC is needed! Others mentioned noise issues, but we were at the back in our basement room, so no street noise there. Breakfast was fine, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, toast with jam, eggs, and tea/coffee/orange juice were available. If you're not planning on spending a lot of time at your accommodation then this would be fine - an alright place to rest your head. Free wifi too, although poor signal in basement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfotel Blue

Address: 114 Shepherds Bush Road, London W6 7PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfotel Blue London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfotel Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.