We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gelatiera

La Gelatiera
27 New Row | WC2N 4LA, London, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quite Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was very good. I've had better for cheaper in Italy, but it had some unusual flavors that were quite good in combination. Would have been happier if it were a bit cheaper, but I guess that's London for you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    25
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth every calorie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

As I was strolling down Brick Lane, perusing the markets and basking in the sunshine on Sunday afternoon, I was certain that life could not possibly get any better. Then I stumbled upon the cute little traveling La Gelatiera cart. Before tasting this gelato I was of the impression that all gelato was good gelato. But no, I was (completely, embarrassingly) wrong. All gelato is bad gelato unless it is from La Gelatiera! That sounds dramatic and it is dramatic because this stuff is just So Good.

La Gelatiera aim to create 100% natural and low-in-fat gelato in a range of unique flavour combinations like Honey/Rosemary/Orange Zest, Red Orange/Lemon/Liquorice and Vodka/Coconut.

You can definitely tell everything is all handmade daily using fresh seasonal fruits, organic local dairy and the best cocoa and vanilla beans in the world. Two scoops in a cup will set you back £3.50 and I recommend the Bacio (chocolate & hazelnut) and Pistacchio flavours. The pistachios used are even harvested from orchards in northeastern Sicily!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Gelato and Cappuchino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stumbled upon this place wandering home from Covent Garden. We were looking for a post-dinner coffee, which is apparently difficult to find in London. This place tasted like magic! The cappuccino is the best I have ever tasted (admittedly I am not a coffee connoisseur). And the Gelato---mmmmmm!! I had the honey-rosemary-orange zest, and my friend had the chocolate-chilli. Both were unbelievable!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Audacious flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Although it is quite a small shop it is big on creativity. The flavours are unusual and the combinations unexpected. We had a classic and divine strawberry sorbet and, something I've never seen before, a blood orange, lemon and liquorice combination. That was particularly delicious and intriguing as the citrus burst came first and the liquorice followed through without overpowering any other element. This establishment would be admired in Paris and Venice - two places where they really know ice cream and we have vast experience in these areas!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Super duper ices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Amazing artisan ice cream in eclectic flavours
The salted caramel was fantastic

The cakes also looked really good will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gelatiera also viewed

 

Been to La Gelatiera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gelatiera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.