We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #706 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Reykjavik
1 review
“Tiny”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

We booked early and where aware tha 2 stars Hotel could be quite a suprice. But from reviews it got 6.5 average but by experience it should be lower.

It is very important for guests to know that THERE ARE STAIRS IN the hotel. Like ladders. And you feel the trains - that did however not disturbe us - we used earplugs!

First room we got had waterproblems. Next room we got tripple room for 2 and that room was ok. But that was luck! This room had the expectation size of a normal 2 person room. We felt strange was that they expected the guest to turn toilet water on and off. When we complained, oh yes I teach you how to do this.

Breakfast is ok, more selection than in low price hotels. But compared to prices at home value for money - we would have got 4 stars hotel for this price.

Hot water was good but all was very tiny -

Would not even tell my worst enemy! IF you select it anyhow, always select twin for 2 person, the double bed is only 140 cm wide!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — size and maintainence of rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    28
    11
    20
See reviews for
35
18
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
athens
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

Receptionist gave us a very small room on the first floor. We only went to sleep since we arrived around 10 pm. We had breakfast in the morning which was ok i guess, but had better elsewhere. For its price i would suppose its a good choice if you want the place just to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

We went there and slept in a room with "problems" in the toilet.
The smell was awful.
The next day they asked us to change hotel (because of the smell) saying that they had already reserved a room for us.
It wasn't true! And the other hotel arranged for us a twin room-instead of a double-in a dirty basement!
We looked for a room in London for hours!
And when we asked to the avon hotel to not charge the price for the night we spent there, they say NO!
that's crazy! NEVER GO THERE!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2007

We have just spent 3 nights at the Avon Hotel. (15th-18th
August, 2007). We found the Hotel to be a good budget hotel and the staff were more than helpful. The cooked breakfast was excellent and the location (just around the corner from Paddington Railway Station) superb. We were more than happy with the Hotel and would stay there again. Older visitors need to make sure that they request a room on the ground or first floor as there is no lift.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Advantages: good location, nice staff, low price for a room, a lot of restaurants around, really big English breakfasts.
Disadvantages: very, very small rooms (not enough space to place your luggage), very small bathroom (70 cm wide), stairs like a ladder, wallpapers and ferniture not very "fresh".
I`ve spent in the hotel 5 nights. The most serious problem was the lack of space in our room. It`s a good choice for people who want to have a cheap hotel in first tube zone. You won`t find a hairdryer in your room but you can take it from a reception desk. Additional problem generated bathroom: when I was shaving the door had to be open :-).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small room and bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

We stay at the Avon in April, 2007 for 4 nights. Yes the room is tiny, but it’s a budget hotel, so I don’t know what other traveler expect when they booked the hotel. The room is tidy, bathroom is clean and the hotel staffs are friendly. But the best thing about Avon is the location, 2 minutes walk to Paddington Station which goes directly to Heathrow. Hyde Park is 15 minutes, Oxford Circus is ½ hrs walking distance, the bus stop infront of the hotel, and everything is so close by or just hops on the tube. I also compare the price with other hotel around and they have the best rate, the rate also includes a full breakfast. I would stay here again for the location and rate.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2006

We booked for 5 nights a quad room for two parents and a daughter of 3.
We first got a small 3 bed room, when we came in the reception we were told that we would get a bigger room the next day, because it was booked already.
The next day we got a bigger 3 bed room. I thought well, lets leave it this way, they are just starting this service, this is ok for us.
But the problem remained, it was a 3 bed room. We wanted the bigger room because we have a 3 year old, and we have t be inside every evening so we wanted a little comfort, and the quad had a seating area. Well, there was one easy sitting chair, but that was also there with the other room.
No discussion possible afterwards, they charged us a quad room...

dispite this Terrible way of handling customers the hotel was ok.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — bill issues
  • Tips/Secrets — rooms ok, no extras but keep in mind. you can not rely on them
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #706 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Avon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.