We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #751 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Malta
2 reviews
“Best Hotel in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Avon Hotel has become our favourite hotel in London. it is a humble, economic, but extremely well kept and hospitable place with good rooms furnished comfortably and with good taste and extremely clean and fresh. The hotel is run by a friendly family and there is a nice feeling of family business ethics, seriousness, dedication and reliable service. The full English breakfast is scrumptious, delicious and fresh.The location in Paddington is ideal and the area is comfortable and safe even in night and early morning hours. We as a family would suggest Avon Hotel a must to all who visit London with great value for money. We surely would go there again.

Family Cuschieri From Malta

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    32
    14
    23
See reviews for
36
22
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel was close to many restaurants, pubs and shops, and only 200 metres from Paddington Station. Although the room was quite compact it served the purpose we required. If you have any difficulty with walking then ask for a room on a lower floor as we were on the 4th floor and there were lots of stairs to climb and no lift. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good choice of cereal, fruit, croissants and juices, followed by a freshly cooked full English. The staff were very friendly and we were allowed to leave our luggage there whilst we were out the following day. I would recommend The Avon Hotel

Room Tip: If you have any problems with your legs and back then try to get a room close to the ground floor as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk, from Paddington railway / underground station's and easy to find at Norfolk Square. Staff at check inn and through out stay was very friendly. Room number 17, was a single on same floor as the reception, it was small but adequate after a day of exploring London. Only problem was some noise from the underground by passing train's but that was to be expected as hotel is very close to the station, but noise might be less on higher floors. Overall great price, location and clean room's.

Room Tip: Higher floor's for less noise from the underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The small double room was very SMALL, but very clean and tidy too. However, the bathroom was a caravan style moulded plastic plug in unit smaller than my shower at home.
Noise was OK
We went for breakfast at 7.45 and nothing was ready for us, so we left.
For London, good value for money.

Room Tip: 1st floor or higher, and if you don't want very small, don't go for a small one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Booked approx 3 months in advance for this reunion. I requested two twin rooms , next door to each other, and this was printed on my booking form. Two weeks prior to the visit I received a phone call to tell me that there were no twin beds available and I should book another hotel! I found the manager to be most irate who kept telling me not to stress. She also did not ring me back when she promised to do so. When I explained that I had no time to find alternative accommodation she said we would be next door in their other hotel, not good enough! When I arrived we were sent down the street to St Davids hotel, who we were told were doing Avon a favour. We were given rooms two staircases apart ! Avon spoilt the weekend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel probably portrays the English living in general, since the rooms are very small. Although nothing luxurious, the staff is kind and the breakfast is tasty with a large variety of choices. Convenient when leaving for Heathrow in the morning since the hotel is just 5 min from Paddington station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#574 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#642 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#628 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#672 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#564 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albro House
Albro House
#711 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #751 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Avon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Budget Places, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.