We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Avon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #766 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay at the Avon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really had a great experience during out stay at the Avon in Sept. It was our first time in London and Anna, the proprietor, helped us in many ways. Our room was clean, quiet, pretty and very comfortable.

We had understood that the stay included a continental breakfast and were happily surprised to find it was a full English breakfast with eggs made to order and all the other fixings. It was delicious and the table settings were beautiful.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and hope to have an opportunity to return. Thank you Anna and staff!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor so the lack of an elevator wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    40
    32
    15
    25
See reviews for
36
22
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a triple room with 3 girls. Was small, but we weren't in the room much. The stairs are brutal, no elevator! I had a 50lb suitcase, backpack, and purse. Location is awesome, right around the corner from the Paddington Station. Breakfast in the morning was very good (full english breakfast and you're able to customize if you want) and the staff was superb! There's nothing really negative to say if you're a tourist and are out exploring the city anyway.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location was great, a 3 min walk from Paddington Station, and a 5 min underground, ride to everything a tourist wants to see. The room was small but clean. The staff helpfull and friendly. Breakfast was good. On the negative side was that we had a double room on the 4th floor and as there is no elevator, you have to climbe all the 82 steps on a narrow staircase, so do not bring any large suitcases with you. The shower is small and the waterpressure wasen`t the best. The window diden`t shut tight, so it was a bit of a drught. But overall it is a good hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Avon hotel and enjoyed our stay thoroughly: triple room on 3rd floor is simple but very clean, at times a little noisy with the life of London, staff amazingly helpful and friendly at any time, rich English and continental breakfast, and location is really excellent for getting around London. Wouldn't hesitate to book at the Avon again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

There is very mixed reviews about this hotel but dont pay too much attention to the negative ones. The hotel is in an excellent location with a Bus stop right outside the hotel and within a 5 minute walk of Edgeware Rd Station, the staff are very friend and the hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: The tube runs directly underneath the hotel so if you stay in the ground floor room you can hear it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

my sister stayed there alone first having had a long flight from australia they were so kind to keep her bags and also even lent her another bag to travel with ..I arrived to join her and being a vetran traveller thought this hotel was everything that you needed to be close to the train station ,,clean...good breakfast....and pleasant staff... price is right.,.

Room Tip: if you have heavy bags then rquest a room on a lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We rate this hotel 10 out of 10. We the Cuschieri family from Malta would like to thank you all for the lovely stay we had at your hotel. This is our second time that we stayed at Avon Hotel and I recommend it to everyone because the room was always clean, the breakfast superb and the staff very helpful and friendly. We are sure to be staying at Avon Hotel whenever we come to London and we won't change it for any other hotel.

Kurt Cuschieri

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#570 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#642 of 1,054 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#632 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#567 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.3 mi away
27 Paddington
27 Paddington
#529 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Hotel
Cardiff Hotel
#580 of 1,054 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #766 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Avon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.