We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avon Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #718 of 1,073 hotels in London
Malta
2 reviews
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We rate this hotel 10 out of 10. We the Cuschieri family from Malta would like to thank you all for the lovely stay we had at your hotel. This is our second time that we stayed at Avon Hotel and I recommend it to everyone because the room was always clean, the breakfast superb and the staff very helpful and friendly. We are sure to be staying at Avon Hotel whenever we come to London and we won't change it for any other hotel.

Kurt Cuschieri

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    32
    25
    10
    18
See reviews for
29
16
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brit in spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We had to book this hotel for 5 nights at last minute for some personal business in London. Friendly and helpful reception on arrival boded well. Although our room on the first floor front was a little small and 'tired' and suffered a little from traffic noise at night (not surprising in London!) it was more than adequate. The en-suite was clean with a very good high power shower with plenty of hot water. The breakfast choice was superb, served in a very slick and cheery manner in a bright and clean basement breakfast room. This, with the more than helpful, welcoming and cheerful members of staff made this a very pleasant stay. We will definitely stay here again if in London.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I had such a great stay at Avon hotel i went back there twice!.
The staff are always friendly and more than helpful!
The rooms were spotlessly clean, awesome top class bathroom (in the single basement room).
Really GREAT brekkie! (best mushrooms!), best breakfast I had out of all the b&b's i've stayed in at Paddington to date.
Top location also, smack bang in the middle of everything, shops around the corner, park across the road & bus stop a few feet up the pavement.
Great little B&B i'd recommend it! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Everybody, this hotel worst hotel ı have ever seen in my life. the room size is small ok noting to do but bath room was horrible , the staff was not friendly when you ask some think . they answer very loudly I have never recommended to any one

I pay 82 ukp on a hotel . I read on comment, some people pay 42 ukp for single room

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Friendly welcome from the reception staff. Our room on the second floor was not small and the en suite was spotless, with none of the grime and stained grouting often found in bathrooms at this price point. Maybe we were lucky but there was not much traffic noise and the trains were a gentle rumble underneath and certainly nothing to keep us awake.
But the highlight was breakfast. Cooked to order and served in a clean, light, airy room by very cheery yet professional staff, it was decidedly better than breakfasts I'be eaten in hotels with two or three more stars.
Would I come back? Definitely. At this price it's hard to find a better place, other than staying with your mum.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I paid £49 for a single room, the room was small but this is only to be expected in London, the hotel is in a traditional converted London house so no lift. The decor is good, not pristine but better than most in this price range. The bathrooms are like you'd get in an Ibis, plastic prefabricated so small but clean.

What really makes this hotel though is the breakfast and the really pleasant staff who serve you, and it an English breakfast, yes English !!, a nice surprise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

What I liked about Avon hotel: 1. location 2. free full english breakfast 3. very helpful staff 4. free wifi. The hotel itself is basic; the rooms were small but they were clean. The Underground runs nearby the hotel so it's good to stay in the 1st floor or above. There's a bus stop 20 meters away that is serviced by buses from Victoria Station or Oxford St. Paddington Station is a few mins walk away. A hot breakfast is made for you when you show up for breakfast. The staff are friendly and accommodating. I will stay here again on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #718 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avon Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.