We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at citizen m” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM London Bankside to your Saves list
citizenM London Bankside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England (Southwark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #48 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend at citizen m”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I am just back from my boyfriends birthday weekend away, had a fantastic time at the Citizen M, location is great (2 minute walk from southwark tube). Rooms were compact but contemporary & lovely perfect for couples. Only little downfall was when we wanted some food (hot meals) they only had salad and sushi, that wasn't to our taste. Apart from that we had a fabulous stay & recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,463
    565
    66
    25
    5
See reviews for
188
1,054
131
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

When you describe a hotel, you usually haul out the same handful of adjectives: comfortable, clean, cozy, etc. Sure, you could use them in describing the CitizenM in London, but you'd fall short because this hotel offers a truly unique experience.

We stayed in room 244 for several nights beginning April 27, 2014. First things first: the room was small, but it's so well designed that the size doesn't matter: a large window overlooking the courtyard, a tablet that lets you control everything in the room (large-screen TV, radio, mood lighting, alarm clock, etc.), plenty of room to store your stuff. The room and the entire hotel is done with a sense of humor and whimsy. Example: the alarm clock features a handful of settings, including "Wild Life" which awakens you to the gentle chirping of birds then (to make sure you get up) escalates to a noisy herd of animals including trumpeting elephants.

But wait, there's more. The large lobby features a nice selection of snacks and a full bar. (Thanks, Alex, for the terrific Negronis and introducing me to the Boulevardier.) It's also a perfect place for hanging out and checking out your itinerary; they've got four iMacs at your disposal.

The staff!!!! Could they be friendlier or more helpful? I think not.

This hotel is part of a new chain that's rapidly expanding. Their success is understandable: they present a delightful concept and deliver first-rate customer service. Oh, and the price is right.

Can you tell I liked this place?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

First class fantastic great lobby I wouldn't be surprised this year would be the place to hang out...great staff great books decor and atmosphere well done!! Efficient clean modern 21st century!! I'm pretty sure others are going to start to copy this for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We used this hotel 3 nights as part of our 6 week honeymoon. Not Really Romantic but as part of our sightseeing part of our holiday location being London this ticked all the boxes. This hotel room is don't get me wrong space is utilised to the max! however after a long day of sightseeing it was perfect bed was comfy big comfy soft towels great shower cheap compared to some other options the only negative was the samsung tablet was slow ( however you did get free movies ) i found it strange all apple devices downstairs and samsung in the room? the wifi is very good i would recommend this hotel based on somewhere to sleep and have comfortable necessary things not luxury but i couldn't really complain

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

If you are working in London and need a stop over this place is absolutely smashing. The ambience of the hotel is awesome, relaxed, creative and uplifting. The service is excellent and everything is either self service or remote control. Downstairs is beautifully laid out with cool decor which suits both work and leisure users. There are nice little touches everywhere you go, positive and fun slogans on hairdryers, soap, shampoos, pencils etc..... The rooms are small but perfectly formed, almost as if you were in an IKEA showroom bedroom. Your room comes equipped with a Samsung tablet from which you control everything in the room so don't stay here is you are a technophobe or you just don't like modern technology. It controls the mood lighting (i LOVE that) The bed is enormous and extremely comfortable in fact I had such an awesome nights sleep (maybe it was the lighting) ;) If you're in London for two or three days stay here definitely, any longer in town though and i may opt for a hotel with a larger room. Good work CitizenM. Big fat tick from me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel is look really modern and staff is really friendly. But the price could be match lower, anyway was staying for free days leave good memories. Am 24 years old the expression of future rooms was just maybe first 1 hour after was taken as a normal. But that's only opinion because i like more classic style but is good to try something new swell.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I wanted to love this hotel , I had it recommended to me and the reviews left me in no doubt it would be great. I left the review till I had finished my travels so I could compare it to other UK hotels.
For our holiday it just didn't work. We stayed too long - I think one or two nights would be good, but we did five.

Firstly, we slept well, huge bed, sound proofing, block out blind and great temperature control in the room. A great downstairs area and a shower head that made showering just lovely. All fantastic.

I enjoyed the area, the Borough Market, the Globe, the eateries, the relaxed atmosphere of the area were all great.

One reviewer said the hotel made them feel old and that's what I felt (as well as really frustrated at times). I just wanted things to work, but our room had several technical problems, mostly all dealt with by the friendly staff. But we were the customers that everything went wrong for - in the end we stopped mentioning the issues with our room or the downstairs computers, we just put up with things because they were so constant we got embarrassed . Don't get me wrong the staff did what they could and we got several items complimentary and that was nice I just wish it been a smooth stay. I would have traded the mood lighting, the tablet, the funky room , the TV just for a TV remote, phone, hot water system that worked. And to compounded it all our laundry was misplaced for three days - awkward when you are travelling light.

If I was a solo traveller for one or two nights it would be a fun comfortable place- I think, but for us, on that stay, particularly after staying at another London hotel which whilst more traditional , provided us with a large, comfortable room with everything working , I don't know if I would use again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#43 Luxury Hotel in London
#49 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the buzzing Bankside in the heart of London, citizenM is just minutes away from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line). Find here Vitra chic living rooms, free Wi-Fi & free movies on demand, rooms with a tablet moodpad to control everything from mood lights to temperature, tv and blinds. There is also canteenM food & beverage outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM London Bankside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.