We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor value for money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM London Bankside to your Saves list
citizenM London Bankside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England (London Bridge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #39 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“poor value for money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Was very pleased with first impression, however this changed when we were given room 448,this is a disabled room. When approached staff, they stated that it was not,they lied. Breakfast limited and expensive,better cafes down the street. Staff have very limited knowledge of local area and facilities. After initial cost of room, was also annoyed to be paying £2 for a cup of tea!!. I am not mean by any way,but did find lack of tea and coffee making facilities in room, just another way of gaining further expense. Flashy hotel,beds are amazing, but would be researching more hotels before booking next time. Lovely hotel if you are given right room and a bottomless wallet!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi "Lewhar",

I'm very sorry we let you down with the room and breakfast.

Rooms are assigned at check-in and upon availability, you can choose the option that fits your preference. Ambassadors are more than happy to change when there is sufficient availability or when you add a note to the reservation. My apologies for the experience you had as it is not representative of citizenM and it's values.

As for the breakfast, you can choose a la carte, just like a local cafe, or for GBP11,95 a selection of fresh baked croissant, pain aux raisin and pain au chocolat with organic preserves, fresh pressed orange juice, organic cereals, including a gluten free option with yoghurt and fruit compote, fresh fruit salad, omelettes, tomatoes, sausage, hash browns, bacon and toast. We also serve espresso based coffee made to order for our guests. While we are always working on improving selection, I apologise if it doesn't fit your expectations. I hope you give us a chance by sharing more details about your expectations. If you wish to do so, feel free writing me directly via citizendiego@citizenm.com.

Your comments are taken very seriously as we improve the service we offer. I'm again sorry to let you down.

I wish you all the best and safe travels!

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    454
    50
    21
    4
See reviews for
164
863
105
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I cannot say how delighted my wife and I were with our stay at CitizenM. Upon entry you are greeted by welcoming staff who help you check-in. The lobby instantly catches your eye with its modern design and warm feeling. You can sit in any of the comfy couches and chairs or just lounge by the bar. The rooms are not large, but the personality of the room makes up for the size. The ipad tablet that controls everything from the lighting to blinds adds to the modern charm of the hotel. Free wifi works great and doesn't require a password. The bed is just as comfortable as the many trip advisor guests have mentioned. The rainfall shower also feels great in the morning or after a day touring London.
Make sure you treat yourself to this lavish hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love this high tech hotel, ipad controls for TV, AirCon, mood lighting and even the blinds. Very contemporary of course, indeed, a COOL hotel to stay in, this Dutch concept works in London, expect many more from them. Good breakfast selection, the cafe latte free until 11am are superb, Marks & Spencers & Tate Modern across the street. What more could you ask for..
Comfy beds, friendly staff - tick - got those too plus of course high tech check in, check out.
The rooms are a tad small for 2, perfect for 1. Loved it... Will be back ;)

Room Tip: Get a quiet courtyard room, as construction work is ongoing on one side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights in August 2013 my wife, three young daughters 9.7 and 3 years and myself. We were booked into two adjacent rooms due to max 2 occupancy per room.
First we felt the room is too small and the hotel is not a family friendly one.
But later, we were DeLiGhTED due to the wonderful, incredible FRIENDLY AND PROFESSIONAL TEAM, who WERE VERY CONCERNED ABOUT SATISFYING US all the time.
The Hotel is very modern, starting with the automatic touch screen check-in , modern colored furniture, wireless pad control panel in the room and light control in the room with different color for different moods.
if we had to go to London again we will think again about citizen M hotel! the welcoming and sweet approach of the manager Eylem and all of the team Suzan, Elise, Herald,...and we can say all of the team or family member their will make you feel at home! my 3daughters had a blast, and got in love with Eylem who was very thoughtful and super kind with my girls and therefore they are always asking to go to citizen m for our next trip to London,
in brief you can have a huge room in other hotels but if the team is not professional and very well trained you will not care about your spacious room then!so i advice u to experience citizen m soon and take our love to a family we left there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The CitizenM hotel fits spot-on with the trendy London area.The room is essentially built around a king-size bed. Just enough room for one - or two who are very close....very very close. There's only a bed so you're really not going to spend too much time hanging out in the room. Plenty of current technology. The rooms lights, alarm, climate are controlled by a samsung tablet with various mood lighting. You wouldn't send your parents here...they'd still be trying to figure out how to turn on the lights.

A common area that is actually fun to hang out in. Seems like most of the area workers frequent the bar area after work.

The workers there are very friendly and helpful.

The air conditioner has some issues, it never really got cool in the room. The room we were in overlooked a construction site so there was some noise. I'd prefer a bit of a bigger sink area, you can't walk from the closet to the bed if the bathroom "pod" is open.

I like the funky trendiness of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not overlooking construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and it was a fun ultra modern, very clean hotel with the most comfortable bed ever. Space in the room was tight but thats London for you. Everything is electronic from the
check-in, blinds, lights and television. Breakfast was very good and staff very helpful. Location is great although it took us a while to work out the quickest way to Southwark underground. Very near to Borough market, Globe theatre, Tate modern and Millennium Bridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for one night in August 2013 and were delighted with the whole experience.
From the fast and efficient automatic check-in on the touch screens (with some help from the excellent staff), to the lobby and bar area which was so well designed and furnished.

All around there were desks for people to work using their laptops and the free wi-fi with no registration or password necessary, free newspapers and, amazingly, what seemed to be the entire library of Penguin books with every classic that you can think of - any of which you could borrow without asking! There were lots of people just hanging out or browsing the internet and it made for a great atmosphere. The square bar in the centre was also excellent with a good range of beers and wines (including Prosecco on tap!) and the cocktails were good too.

Our room was compact but well designed and comfortable with a huge bed taking up the whole width of the room. All the systems from entertainment, to lights, to room temperature are controlled from a computer tablet. There was an extensive collection of movies available - and every single one is free! The inner "pod" of toilet and shower was well thought through and worked well.

The location is also great, being only a short walk to the Tate Modern, Globe Theatre, Tower Bridge and the Southbank

A great find and, without a doubt, one we will be visiting again at the earliest opportunity

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#24 Business Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the buzzing Bankside in the heart of London, citizenM is just minutes away from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line). Find here Vitra chic living rooms, free Wi-Fi & free movies on demand, rooms with a tablet moodpad to control everything from mood lights to temperature, tv and blinds. There is also canteenM food & beverage outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM London Bankside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.