We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added citizenM London Bankside to your Saves list
citizenM London Bankside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England (London Bridge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #39 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The rooms are small but very well designed. The bed is enormous and v comfortable and the shower was excellent. The whole concept of the hotel works well. Very cool efficient and relaxed and the staff are great.
Dont think because its modern and different it is loud brash and full of youngsters. This is not the case there were people of all ages when we were there. we loved it and will be using citizenM again i

Room Tip: we overlooked the road at the front, noise was minimal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,213
    454
    50
    21
    4
See reviews for
164
863
105
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holmdel, NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

First: Location
It's not my first time in London. I like to stay in South Bank area. If you like to walk, as I do,
then you can WALK anywhere in the central London from South Bank. 10 mins to St.Paul Cathedral, for example, 3 mins to Tate modern and the bank of the river.
Bus service and 2 tube lines (Jubilee and Northern) are very close.
Only 14 pounds from Piccadilly circle on taxi to give you an idea.

There are more than plenty places to eat or to get food for the picnic/to go.

Second: Hotel itself.
There are dozens of hotels in the area, practically next door.
This is why I picked CitizenM and was happy with my choice.
This hotel does have a CHARACTER. I loved the concept, deco, facilities.

I like a good size bed. USA King size it is. This is the exact default bed option at CitizenM.
Also the following were very much to my liking:
- stream line check in/check out process;
- cheerful barmen;
- friendly front desk people;
- the mattress - not too firm not soft;
- lines and towels
- room controls done via tablet
- "mood" settings for the light in the room
- very good sound proofing
- good selection of free movies to watch on demand
- very fast and stable WI-FI and FREE
- AWESOME lobby - hang out floor with comfy couches, chairs, tables;
- outdoor sitting area - inner court yard with a few trees!
- free PCs (apple) and printer available;
- good food selection for breakfast and snack/lunch; note, you do not have to sign up for "breakfast option"; you can always pick and choose what you want OR swing by to M&S across the street and get what you want for less.

Now, keep in mind that room size is SMALL. Perfect for 1 lightly packed person. It should be also OK for to people who are also lightly packed. Absence of living space in the room is well compensated by the "shared living space" in the lobby. You can work, meet people, eat, have a drink, watch telly in the lobby.

Stayed 4 nights. Loved it. I'll definitely consider CitizenM for my next stay while in London.

Room Tip: ask for the room overlooking court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a fabulous concept for a city hotel chain We loved our brief stay in London at Citizen M Bankside We especially loved the details, the slogans that made us smile and the VERY helpful staff We will certainly be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very quirky hotel.
Very small rooms – reminded me of a caravan.
Long and narrow with a shower/toilet kiosk badly positioned opposite a basin, both half way into the room. Kiosk door opens into the room making it impossible for your partner to be at the sink
Two people cannot unpack at the same time.
Tiny wardrobe and only one chair.
Not a place to spend a long time.
However, having said that the bed is simply the ultimate in comfort. It must be seven foot square and fills one entire end of the ‘caravan ‘. Best hotel bed I have ever experienced.
The TV has a tablet remote to control not just the TV, but the blinds, lights and air con.
The TV has free movies!! The tablet can be used for internet access too.
No room service but the concierge will order you take away pizza. Nice touch.
Would go back.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the city is better than the inner courtyard. Second floor means you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Step into the future at citizenM, where you are greeted as "citizen _(insert your first name here)___"... Check-in is by kiosk, as is check-out. It's efficient and cool, as most things are here. In both cases, we had incredibly friendly staff around to help.

The hotel is cutting edge when it comes to tech, beginning with the kiosk and the RFID key that you get; simply touch it to your lift and your room for the doors to open. In the room, everything from the lighting to the TV and thermostat is controlled with a tablet. This includes "mood lighting," where you can dim the lights and add you choice of color to the room. (And "quirky: is also the word of the moment, as the poster by the lift is a poster of Robbie Williams holding up a pair of Union Jack-bedazzled panties to his face, and the wallpaper in the hall was a crowd scene from the 1940s. Not tacky, but quirky.)

The king-sized bed is nice to have, but the bed is pretty much the entire room. With two of us with one bag each, we couldn't move around the room at the same time. I don't know what the standard in London is, but folks, I have had a closet bigger than this room. (And oddly, the room never cooled off completely. The tablet assured me my room was impossibly cold, but it wasn't.)

The redeeming factor (or strange fact) is that the bathroom is the same size as the rest of the room. Open up the frosted glass door, and you'll find that the shower is one of those "rain forest" showers, with just a curtain around one corner of the bathroom. The entire floor is designed to get wet. I liked it, but others might not.

The breakfast that was served was a traditional English fry-up (minus the black pudding) along with amazing fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal and everything you could want, really... but it was also about £15 (!)... about $25 for a breakfast? No thanks. It was good, but not that kind of good.

Location is excellent, with bus stops directly across the hotel, and a "M&S Simply Food" high-end convenience store across the street. We went over, bought drinks and put them in the fridge.

I'd stay here again, because it's a steal (for London) and because the location is excellent... and well, because I love the tech gadgetry. I'm not a fan of the tiny rooms, but if you can deal with it, it's a great place.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet; Looking back, I probably would have gotten a streetside view to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013 with my wife and 2 teenagers. Kids loved the high-tech rooms where a tablet computer controls everything. Staff was very nice, but are not concierges if you need ideas on sightseeing, etc. We liked that wifi, movies, calls back to the US are free. Breakfast was overpriced, so we only had it once. Good location was walk to sites, tube, restaurants, etc. I would recommend the M to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard are cool, but loud on Friday night from people at the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

excellent breakfast
excellent and helpful staff
great location
wonderful design and conveniant for any purpose
computers and printer to use for free including wifi
very comfortable beds
even children friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#24 Business Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the buzzing Bankside in the heart of London, citizenM is just minutes away from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line). Find here Vitra chic living rooms, free Wi-Fi & free movies on demand, rooms with a tablet moodpad to control everything from mood lights to temperature, tv and blinds. There is also canteenM food & beverage outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM London Bankside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.