We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top-location, well designed rooms for short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM London Bankside to your Saves list
citizenM London Bankside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England (London Bridge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 1,066 Hotels in London
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“top-location, well designed rooms for short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel has a good vibe and is located just behind the tate modern, near the millenium bridge. The room is very small and high design, with funny elements like a "romantic" light option on the tablet that you will find in the room. This tablet can be used for heating/ airco/ music/ tv etc etc... something that you'd want in your living room. The selection of movies is just what you need for a long evening on the big bed... There's a small desk in the room as well- with a chair, with a tiny shower/ toilet cabin and that is about it. Good lounge downstairs, also for arranging a meeting. Restaurant is actually a bar with a small shop where you can buy food and heat this in the micro-wave. However nearby the rivier plenty of choice, we recommend the top-floor in the Tate (at reservation: ask for a window table overlooking the river) for lunch and for dinner the swan- just next to the shakespeare theatre (reservation needed for dinner).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    505
    56
    24
    4
See reviews for
169
951
114
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on vacation in the UK. Fabulous hotel, highly recommended. Very clean, comfortable, and staff is incredibly friendly. Location is phenomenal... walking distance to restaurants, bars, markets, the River, museums, the underground, etc. I couldn't ask for anything more. Bar/cafe is open late, and you can take items back up to your room. The trendy decor is great and the room controlled by tablet is fun. Highly recommended, and would definitely stay here again.

Only note is that this hotel is good if you are travelling alone or with someone you're very close to. Rooms have only one bed each, but it's a giant bed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Modern high tech hotel with good atmosphere throughout. Room small but comfortable and clean. All staff very helpful and courteous. Room fine for a short stay but would be restricting if staying more that a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for a work trip and was impressed by the lobby and 'odd' but interesting modern decor in the rooms. The rooms are small but comfortable and well laid out. There was enough space for my husband and child to join me later.

The value for what you get with the cleanliness, security and modern feel of the hotel is fantastic. The only downside would be breakfast which is strangely divided with some items being free and others at a cost displayed separately.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Ultra modern and trendy facilities, room not overly generous in size (especially when you have 2 large suitcases !) But even that doesn't detract from a wonderful experience. All staff were helpful and courteous and putting your needs first. Definitely value for money and will stay with this group again in the future.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, get the biggest room possible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Based on appearances this is a wonderful hotel but having spent 3 nights there, I have to say it is far from what I look for in a good hotel. I am in my 30's and love design, and I was wowed by the entrance and bar area when we arrived and the room was very clean which was great. However the first hurdle was unpacking....nowhere to put a suitcase as the room was so small, and hanging space was tiny (just space for 4 coat hangers).
Secondly, all I wanted after a hard days shopping was to put my feet up and have a brew.....not possible as there was no kettle on the room!! Yes there is a cafe on the ground floor but its not like chilling out in your room after a long day.
Everything in the room is controlled by tablet- lights, tv, blinds, heating etc. A nice idea but very annoying when you have to wait 90 secs for the tv to load and another 15 secs to switch the tablet on every time you want to adjust the volume!
The bed looked amazingly big at first glance but I soon realised that the 'bed-deck' is a clever design trick as there is simply not enough room to walk around the side of a standard double bed here. It was comfy but very frustrating when trying to scramble out of bed in the night and find the lights, and there was no bedside tables just a wall either side.
The bathroom was compact and clean but the handset for the shower had only a trickle of water, so unless you wanted the full hair-wetting power shower on it was pretty rubbish.
All in all it was a bit of a disappointment. The hotel had amazing design features but was ruined by the fact that the rooms (or should I say shoe-boxes) were crammed in to maximise profits. Well it has backfired I'm afraid as we shall not be recommending this hotel.
Yes it is wonderful to have changing multi-coloured lights in the shower and trendy tablet controls everywhere but to be honest I would much prefer a space that worked efficiently.....and a kettle!!!!!
It could have been so much more!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi "ManchesterMrsM",

Happy to have welcomed you at our home in London but disappointed we let you down with the experience. While we have created citizenM on our own style and décor, and understand we won't satisfy everyone, I feel sorry we didn't meet your expectations.

There is an obvious choice hoteliers have to make regarding the service offered, design, room facilities and the rate. At citizenM, we ditched the door man and huge rooms and instead focussed on a contemporary environment and a room that is functional in size, and smart in technology – at an affordable rate. Just like your home, the room is a place to sleep and rest while the living room has enough space to lounge and put the feet up, but again I understand people are different and therefore have different expectations.

I do apologise regarding the tablet, it should be responsive and fast. Lights can be controlled with the tablet but as well regular wall switches, there is one just next to the bed that easy to find during the night. The shower must be powerful and I'm again sorry that you experienced otherwise.

We believe your experience must be flawless and we are as disappointed when we fall short, but unfortunately this happens at times. If you haven't shared the issues you mentioned with the Ambassadors while at the hotel, please, write to me directly at citizendiego@citizenm.com with the room number you stayed in as we are committed to preventing this from happening again with other guests.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Ok, so the rooms aren't that big. But boy, do they pack in everything you need in this cleverly designed space. There's a fab shower, under-bed storage, desk & chair, fridge, safe, hanging space, shelves, mood lighting, free wifi and films....need I go on? Bed is huge and comfy, with nice linen over a squishy duvet.

Downstairs there's loads of lounging space with books, good food and a cool bar. Felt very happy as single woman to hang out there with laptop and a few beers (try the bottled 'ceilidh' beer). Close to Southwark tubs, Tate Modern (open until 10pm on Fridays), and with a big M&S food store across the road, this hotel is highly recommended.

I guess if there's two of you with massive suitcases it would be so good, but for a couple of days in London, this is well-worth checking out

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the buzzing Bankside in the heart of London, citizenM is just minutes away from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line). Find here Vitra chic living rooms, free Wi-Fi & free movies on demand, rooms with a tablet moodpad to control everything from mood lights to temperature, tv and blinds. There is also canteenM food & beverage outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM London Bankside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.