We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new hotel in great location with excellent facitilities. And cool.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added citizenM London Bankside to your Saves list
citizenM London Bankside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England (London Bridge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Dublin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel in great location with excellent facitilities. And cool.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stay in London very regularly for both business and pleasure and this trip combined both. We wanted to be around the London Bridge area for my commute. This hotel lives up to its billing. Very cool reception / bar / canteen area (and bookshop). Slick self service check in with staff nearby to help. Rooms are like most London hotels, small, but very very well designed. Huge bed for a small room (I'm over 6'3" and I could sleep in any direction on it). Everything in room is controlled by samsung tablet which offers web browsing on the free wifi. Bathroom is small but well designed wet room with large showerhead. 5 minutes walk from Borough Market, London Bridge train station, london bikes very near, handy for tate modern, oxo tower, waterloo station. Highly recommended and we will be back.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,317
    505
    56
    24
    4
See reviews for
169
951
114
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was searching for a while around London for a hotel for a business trip; my main requirements being in zone 1, wifi and comfortable but within a budget. I can't recommend this enough.
The location is great - right on Bankside, a sneeze away from the Tate Modern and a wide variety of restaurants.
Well-designed, perfectly proportioned rooms with enough room for an ENORMOUS bed, desk, chair and RAIN SHOWER(!!!)
An amazing lobby/bar which is open 24hrs and such a great place to meet friends in. I will be going back to this even if I'm not staying here in the future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exactly the same but one looking in (instead of to busy Southwark) would be my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

booked for a one night city break for £99, which was cheaper than other hotels in the area, yet the hotel is of very high quality.

only complaint is that the 'rain shower' had not been properly cleaned so only half the nozzles worked, however there was another shower head so it didnt really matter.

silent room, huge bed (6ft square), and incredibly comfy nights sleep. great to have free movies and wifi to relax after being out all day. mood lighting and automatic blinds were also a good feature. would definitely recommend, just clean the shower heads!!

Room Tip: windows are by side of bed (great to stargaze while you fall asleep) but go higher up for more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked fairly last minute, having read other positive reviews on trip adviser. We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of accommodation for such a good rate, especially in London. We a suckers for contemporary yet comfortable styling and this hotel hit the spot, especially as the staff were so helpful and informative. The little touches like being able to control the lighting, tv and blinds all via a tablet device was brilliant, I had fun changing the lighting while my other half was in the shower!
The room is compact, but I really liked it as it felt cosy, especially on a cold wet December day. The food and drink on offer was excellent, especially the breakfast, it kept us full all day. The drinks are a little pricey, but the bar staff were really knowledgeable, and it is London, drinks are very rarely cheap in the city.
The location was great for us, close to Waterloo, and near tube stations to be able to zip around London with ease. It's also great that it is so close to the Tate modern and lots of bars and restaurants along bankside.
I would really recommend this hotel for a short London stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was one of those few occasions when the reality is actually better than the website. Easy to find & a great location for the New Year's Eve fireworks & several tube/train stations. Check-in was automated but there were plently of friendly helpful staff on hand if you needed them. The room was compact but immaculately clean with everything that you need for two nights in London. The bed was massive & one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. My husband loved the tablet that operated the blinds, lights, TV etc & had great fun changing the colour of the shower room. It was so easy to use & great fun. The breakfast seemed a bit expensive when we booked it, but it was definitely worth it. Great choice of cooked & cold food as well as real fruit juice & coffee. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, there are several shops & cafes around. A fantastic New Year's Eve to remember for years to come. The only thing wrong with this place is that I can't afford to stay there more often!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Citizen M in Amsterdam last year and was quite blown away by the style and value for money. The London hotel goes one better. It's spacious, funky, and a really laid back place to unwind after a day out in London. In my case it was work, but nonetheless, Citizen M has set a new benchmark for low cost short stay hotels others will struggle to match. My favourite place to stay overnight in London, bar none!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and i really enjoyed our new years eve nite, in what was a Compact, Contemporary,comfortable, room and in an overall stylish hotel. The hotel was good for us as cyclists as they had their own secure cycle parking area which I think every hotel should cater for! The room had a bed which was very large and comfortable but unfortunately being old fashioned I am used to getting into a bed which is actually made for us, rather than havin 2 pillows & a duvet piled in the middle of the bed for us to actually make it ourselves!? The other thing which was missing in the room and I'm probably being old fashioned again but I love a kettle so that Im able to make myself a nice cuppa....We were on the 5th floor which had a good view of the city although we found that the windows were not very soundproof even at the height we were!
We did love the idea of using the tablet to operate the lights, blind/curtain, temp, tv, internet(which was free :-)) so for us this was a very new and a great inovative way to please urselves with how we wanted the room to feel & enterntain. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone who wants a good position in london as this was only a 5 min walk to the Tate modern & the embankment....The staff were nice and friendly and helped with check in & out which u do yourselves via computer! oh so modern! and even the lifts took a few minutes to work out how to use...with the aid of the card you are given when you check in! We cannot wait to go back again which we are planning to do new years eve again...

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter from street below Good for cyclists with secure parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge , Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in London
#28 Business Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the buzzing Bankside in the heart of London, citizenM is just minutes away from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line). Find here Vitra chic living rooms, free Wi-Fi & free movies on demand, rooms with a tablet moodpad to control everything from mood lights to temperature, tv and blinds. There is also canteenM food & beverage outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM London Bankside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.