We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, quiet location (back of hotel), helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Grand London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Grand London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Park Grand London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 NIGHTS GET 12% OFF
Ranked #336 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable room, quiet location (back of hotel), helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel. I stayed for one night. Check in staff were helpful, despite one being a trainee. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The room and en suite were spotless. The only (minor) problem was that the water temperature in the shower fluctuated, but, on enquiry at reception, this may have been caused by a boiler issue.
Biscuits, fruit and bottled water supplied in the room in addition to tea and coffee.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if rooms at the front are noisier, but mine at the back was certainly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurdeep S, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit to the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always motivating to receive such positive feedback as yours. We constantly endeavor to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am pleased that they were friendly and professional during your visit.

I will pass your kind words on to the reception and concierge team and ensure that their service is suitably rewarded.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel..

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    381
    153
    50
    64
See reviews for
215
251
65
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was an OK hotel centrally located and a short walk to Paddington station. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The staff did their absolute best to make you feel welcome. The rooms were a generous side, the bedding comfortable and the heating first class with individual controls in the room. A bonus was the heated bathroom floors which were very cosy in the morning. The only problem was the WiFi which was so slow it was unusable. They had people look at it a number of times, but you couldn't even complete an on-line check in with your airline. Certainly, a greta place to stay if you are looking at exploring London as there are several liens that converge on Paddington station. If you need internet, forget it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurdeep S, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit to the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always motivating to receive such positive feedback as yours. We constantly endeavor to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am pleased that they were friendly and professional during your visit.

We do apologies for WI-FI issue in your room.

I will pass your kind words on to the reception and concierge team and ensure that their service is suitably rewarded.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Park Grand, and have to say I was quite disappointed with the 4 star rating. We booked what was classed as a Deluxe Double, and I think that my idea of Deluxe differs quite a lot from what the owners class as Deluxe. The room was quite small and didn't really have a lot of room and storage space. I wouldn't want to think I was staying there any longer than 3 nights. The bathroom was very small with only a shower (which was quite nice, although leaked). Breakfast was where I have the biggest gripe in that on 2 out of the 3 mornings we turned up for breakfast only to be told that there were no tables available ( a good job we weren't in a rush). For a 4 Star hotel I would have expected them to have enough tables to cope with a full hotel. Overall the location is quite good, but not a 4 Star or Deluxe rooms IMO. Not really worth the money.

Room Tip: If the hotel is busy and you are in a rush in a morning, allow yourself extra time for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurdeep S, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com or you can call me on 02072624521 as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I spent 4 nights with my family at the hotel which is very conveniently located to reach the center of London by bus or tube. The room and bathroom were clean and the breakfast was excellent. The only inconvenience we faced was receiving one double bed and a sofa bed, rather than 2 double beds as indicated on the website and confirmed by the hotel last July. The sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable to accommodate 2 adults and in a bad state. It was reported to the reception desk, however, we were informed that it was the only room available! I highly recommend to replace the sofa bed in room 120.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurdeep S, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments in TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you for sparing time to write the review.

Your kind words of appreciation go a long way in encouraging us to continue to offer our guests with highest care and personal attention.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the help and service extended to you at our hotel during your visit to London. We thank you for your patronage.

We do apologies that you were not satisfied with sofa bed in room 120.Your comments has been passed to housekeeping department and we will do the necessary from our end.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Park Grand London Hyde Park when you visit London next time.

We are confident that you would prefer to stay at our place.

Regards,
Gurdeep Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel was very well located for Paddington Station. Friendly staff and a clean and well kept hotel. My room was a Deluxe Single room, and was of hve I would call very little. Wondering how a normal single room would have eventually. Would probably have come back, but had also checked whether there were other hotels in the area that maybe had a little more room. The room was well equipped with new bathrooms. A little dull that you can not provide Internet line with better capacity than 0.5 MB download 0.01 Upload speed when you expect to sit to work in the afternoon evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurdeep S, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com or you can call me on 02072624521 as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I booked in to the hotel on a Lastminute Secret Hotel deal. I felt that this may have affected the welcome. Check in was hurried and lacked any warmth.

The location is good as the hotel is a brief walk from Paddington. Not sure how this can be called Park Grand Hyde Park when it is nowhere near really. I am guessing that this is because there is already a Park Grand Paddington and it would have been too confusing to have two.

The room I was given had two double beds for little old me. What it meant was that the room was really a bit full, which left you shuffling around the room. Clearly the owners had made some effort to tidy up the rooms with a new bathroom, however this had been done badly. The door to the bathroom had not been properly painted, there was no loo roll holder etc. The windows in the room were old and needed a good clean and possibly replacing.

I must say I did sleep well. I do think this hotel is probably more lower three star than 4. If I had paid full price I might have been gutted as after seeing the hotel website expected a far superior product.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurdeep S, Front Office Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com or you can call me on 02072624521 as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I throughly enjoyed my stay at park grand.hotel had been gone through major refurbishment and everything was modern.staff was very helpful and intelligent with local area. Rooms were smaller in size but worthy for London hotels. definitely a good choice .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurdeep S, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments following your recent visit to the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

We are very proud of our staff and it is always motivating to receive such positive feedback as yours. We constantly endeavor to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am pleased that they were friendly and professional during your visit.

I will pass your kind words on to the reception and concierge team and ensure that their service is suitably rewarded.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel..

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#224 Business Hotel in London
#233 Luxury Hotel in London
#299 Family Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Grand London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.