We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, not the greatest value for size and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Grand London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Grand London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Park Grand London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England (Paddington / Maida Vale)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 NIGHTS GET 12% OFF
Ranked #362 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, not the greatest value for size and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here this weekend for my wife's birthday. The hotel was clean and on the whole, with some exceptions the staff where polite. The room was very small and although our friends had paid the same amount for the same standard of room their room in every way was smaller by some considerable portion. When this was mention the answer given was " that's just how it is not every room is the same". That being the case the price should reflect this difference, not a particularly great answer nor very professional. Also, and this my area of expertise (I earn my wage in this industry) our friends had a ironing board with a built in iron which had electrical wires exposed and was broken which plastic covers that made up the iron and concealed the irons electrical parts, this would be considered to be a code 2 failure of safety and should not be used at all or left in the room as there is a high potential that anyone using this piece of electrical equipment could receive an electrical shock our friends obviously did not used it . When this was reported in a polite way it was meet with a disconcerting almost non believing response that our friend was over reacting and this could not be the case, only when pictures where shown that the member of staff backed down but with no apology! This could be reported to the relevant safety organisation which I am sure would love to here of dangerous equipment left in rooms for guests to use...!!!! I am sure not really the sort of thing that they would like to have. To sum up the hotel is in an ok location, is clean, the breakfast was ok apart from the cold eggs and some sausages (it is a help yourself buffet) which staff again said they believed to be acceptable, be honest is over priced for a room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.
It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.
Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    427
    165
    61
    71
See reviews for
245
283
71
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We selected this hotel because of its proximty to Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express. It's only two blocks away. Other than that, it's pretty typical of this area and style of hotel. Clean, fairly well decorated rooms with updated ensuites with shower, large TV and free WiFi. But, as with all similar hotels, the standard rooms are very small ... room for the bed, your suitcases, a pathway to the toilet ... and that's about it. Breakfast was typical buffet style, including Full English. Generally during our two week stay in the UK, the beds have been slightly on the firm side and very comfortable. The mattress in our room this time was getting a little tired and was too soft to be considered comfortable. Don't expect a view, especially from the lower floors. At least the window could be opened in our room for fresh air. So ... very convenient, but just a place to sleep, with no real complaints.

Room Tip: Avoid the "lower ground" floor (a.k.a. "the basement"). Second floor or higher o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the comments .As mentioned, our rooms are indeed different in sizes. I would like to request you to give us an opportunity to arrange bigger room for you. Please let me know about your future visit to do the arrangement.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had the smallest room on our floor (according to the fire escape plan) and boy did it ever feel that way. Even though it was super clean, it's just about the smallest room I've ever been in (excluding hostels). Of course London is a pricey town and this is a good option in that sense, but I don't feel we got our money's worth. The room has about zero extras, no hair dryer, no fridge (but a place where they ripped the fridge out) and zero space. The TV's mounted sideways on the wall with no way to turn it so you had no convenient way to see the tv (as the bed was facing the other direction). The bed was really soft and strange, I usually like soft beds but this one has given me back pain in the mornings and I felt like I was going to roll out the entire night. Very clean but I can't wait to get out of here and I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us at Park Grand London Hyde Park.
As mentioned, our rooms are indeed different in sizes. I would like to request you to give us an opportunity to arrange bigger room for you. Please let me know about your future visit to do the arrangement.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obsteig
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fortunately today is my last day in this hotel. I stayed there for 6 nights and every morning I woke with a aching back. I complained two times because of the bed and the second time they did something, but the bed is still one of the worst I ever slept in.
The room itself is very tiny, but clean. This is the reason for the second rating point. Otherwise it would be only one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.
It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.
Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A very nice hotel, quiet and good breakfast. close to paddington station, would definitely go there again. Staff were extremely friendly and we were allowed to leave our suitcases in safekeeping as we arrived early. Look on their own website for cheaper deals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us. We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit & will look forward to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I've been in london many times and everytime looking for an hotel to stay that is acceptable without spending millions of pounds is really difficult. The Park Grand London hyde park is a great choice! rooms are quite and very clean, bed is comfortable and bathroom is quite big and clean! Staff is super friendly and breakfast is great!!
On top of this it's absolutely well located, just a couple of minutes walk from Paddington Station and Lancaster Gate, plus you have a bus stop close to the hotel with buses going everywhere around london. I definitely reccoment this hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our breakfast.
We hope to see you again very soon & you can certainly write to me housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com for any assistance you may require.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were a little confused at first with this hotel, The signage is poor enough, We were brought into one building to pay? and then walked around the corner to the place we stayed. we found this a little strange.
Ideal location though around the corner from paddington train and tube stations.
The corridors and lifts are a bit on the small side however our room (clubroom) was a nice size. The beds were very comfortable and found the staff helpful.
The breakfast was buffet style no frills but no complaints either.
We also availed of the luggage room facility which was handy for keeping your possessions secure whilst you wander the city!
Only real downside of this hotel was the bar facilty was poor, closed at 10 only 5/6 stools too small and would give you the impression that it was an afterthought.

Overall this hotel is in an ideal location for paddington and has comfortable clean bedrooms

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.
We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.
I request you to please give us another opportunity to serve in future.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#237 Business Hotel in London
#241 Luxury Hotel in London
#303 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Grand London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.