We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all our expectations!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Grand London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Grand London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Park Grand London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #357 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Met all our expectations!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Park Grand with my boyfriend. Overall, we were very pleased with the hotel. I have read a few reviews that say that the rooms are small, which I do partly agree with, but this definitely didn't cause any problems. No, the rooms aren't huge, but they are clean, well decorated, and have everything you could possibly need! The bed was incredibly comfy as well!
Upon arrival, we were greeted and checked in very quickly, and were given directions to our room. The en suite was a little bit cramped, but it was all very clean and modern, and the shower was bigger than a standard shower cubicle. We had a small problem with the toilet, as the water wouldn't stop running after a flush, but we informed reception, and they sent someone up to fix it straight away.
Breakfast was lovely, with plenty to eat and drink and friendly waitresses. The only problem we had was that we went to breakfast at the wrong time and had to wait a bit longer for a table. But that can be avoided by not leaving it too late.
The hotel itself is situated in a nice area, about a 10 minute walk from Hyde park, and 5 minute walk from Paddington station. We didn't really look around for any shops or restaurants particularly nearby, it seems like more of a residential area, but there are plenty of shops and the like near the station.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, as I feel that you get a really good deal for the price you pay, it's in a lovely location, the staff are friendly, and as long as you don't expect the Ritz, you'll be fine!

Room Tip: Rooms on a lower floor would be recommended in case the lift is out of order...climbing 6 flights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a great pleasure to read your review of the Park Grand London Hyde Park.
We strive to maintain high level of service and we are glad when we receive such positive feedback that motivates us in our work.

We do apologies that you found you room smaller then expected ,however we do have larger option available as well,if you could have given us the chance to show you another room.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you back to Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington Court London in the future.

Thank you

Kind Regards
Gurdeep Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    299
    122
    46
    57
See reviews for
177
195
50
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel a little out of the way, close to Hyde Park, but was good value for money with breakfast was included, staff were very plesant and helpful,room was very clean and tidy, everything in room you need

Room Tip: very close to Hyde Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

It was a real joy to read such motivating feedback from our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay in our property.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you at your next visit in London.

Best Regards,
Gurdeep Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

hotel is well situated to queensway and Hyde park hotel is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. the only downside was the mattresses were too soft and sinks in the middle would stay there again as the overall experience was good and was excellent value

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us at 02072624521.

Best Regards,
Gurdeep Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked to stay here for a weekend away before Christmas with my boyfriend. Booked 2 or 3 months in advance and was £280 for 2 nights in a Club room. I read in different reviews different things about club rooms, some on one floor and very small and others that had a bed upstairs so i emailed the hotel who confirmed that the club rooms were accross 2 floors. Nearer to the time (about 2 weeks before) i checked the hotels rates and the same room for the same date was £213 and then under £200 just before so if you want to take a risk they still have rooms booking just before a stay seems to save you a lot of money on a room. There was a cheaper rate when initially booked in advance but the small print did state that for that rate you could be in one of their sister hotels if they did not have room so i don't know if this is what has happened to other guests who complain of being moved. I was worried about this and also read about reoccuring 'maintanence issues' at the hotel so i emailed them 2 days before and was assured our room was guarenteed and there were no problems.

We arrived an hour early at about 1pm and thought we would try and check in and our room was all ready for us. They did ask at check in if we wanted a room on 2 floors or not as they had both available, we did want the room on 2 floors and would have been dissapointed if there wasn't one available but perhaps as i emailed in advance they made sure they had this one available. The room looked as per the hotels website apart from some of the finishings were a little bit poor such as the carpets did not meet the walls and the duvet cover was ripped in places. The bed and bathroom was very clean which is the most important things to me and little things like the carpet don't really worry me. There was a half bottle of wine on arrival and a fruit basket as advertised when booking. We had signed up to their premeir awards scheme and this stated if available you get a free upgrade which would have been to their duplex suite (same room but more spacious) but i assume it was not available but perhaps if we had booked a standard room we may have been upgraded to a club room free of charge. We wanted a club room though so happy to pay for it. Feel the hotel is good value for money. Looked at others in the area for a similiar price and they looked more like hostels so very pleased booked here. It included breakfast both mornings which is normally £15 each. Good selection and most if it ok but some of the cooked items were a little cold.

It was about a 10 minute walk to Paddington station but looked as if a new tube was opening this year closer to the hotel. Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

We hope you will be back soon and for assistance in booking your future stay please write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the hotels and i have mixed feelings, some things are good and others are bad.
When we arrive at 15.00h our room was not ready, but they apoligized 2 times. And after 10 minutes we could go into the room.
At th reception desk were friendly people.
The room was small, very small. But all you need is in the room! It looked good. The bed was very small and the matress was so saggy, so with 2 people in the same bed it was not comfortable. The pilows were good!
The bathroom was clean, but in the bedroom they didn't vacuuming all the days. The cups for the tea/coffee were also dirty. We put a don't disturb sign, and at new years day at 10 in the morning the housekeeping came to knock they want to clean the room! But we had don't disturb on the door.
The worst thing in the room was the noise of the other rooms,you could hear people talk in the room next to you and in the room above us, you could hear every step the people made!!!
So we won't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend booked this hotel end of October as a Christmas present for me, upon arrival today to be told they had a system error and had over booked... Although When we rang up last night they confirmed we had a booking and everything was fine. I will admit after reading reviews on here last night I thought this would happen.. So they sent us in a taxi to the grand royal hotel.. And got given a room which was literally abed and that was it, you couldn't even walk around the bed! Very disappointed in this hotel as we were looking forward to our stay. Believe negative reviews and don't bother booking a room cause you won't get what you booked!

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I decided to book a trip to London as a post Christmas getaway for myself and my Mother.
I found this hotel online as part of a special deal.

I arrived with my Mother, after half a day of sightseeing in London. We were looking forward to a rest and cup of tea. When we got to the desk we were faced with two unprofessional staff members. One was looking very shabby like he could barely dress himself and the other looked reasonable. They were both very unclear in what they were saying to us but eventually managed to state that the room we had booked had maintenance issues. I asked why they hadn't called and they said that they hadn't had the time. Next thing we knew we were faced with choosing two singles or going to another hotel in the Shaftesbury "Elite" Collection.

We chose to swap because we wanted a twin room.
I asked that the room be to the same standard in the alternative hotel, and that they put us in a quiet room.
We waited for a while. In the meantime a couple came in and were told the same thing, and offered a cup of tea (which we were not offered).

I paid then for this new room (no. 111) and we were escorted across the road to the Shaftesbury Premier. We were given room no. 118 (The Clubman) - This room was flawed and there were air conditioning units situated outside the window (which had a draft) - we had a broken nights sleep which impacted on Sundays sightseeing.

The Hyde Park Grand could not have been 4 Star - running a hotel isn't brain surgery - ensure you have maintenance teams at hand, train your staff to be courteous and speak in understandable and well constructed sentences, dress smartly, treat people with equality, and ensure that you stay in contact with guests should problems arise.

This is not the first time this has occurred - looking back at previous posts there have been many times this has happened - 1st Aug, 19th Oct, 31st Oct, 27th Nov, 7th Dec, 8th Dec.

I look forward to the managers response and also will be posting a review to the Shaftesbury Premier page - as that hotel also had much to be desired.

I will never go to this chain of hotels again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#231 Luxury Hotel in London
#290 Business Hotel in London
#357 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Venere, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Grand London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.