We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Grand London Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Park Grand London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Grand London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 1,073 hotels in London
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked to stay here for a weekend away before Christmas with my boyfriend. Booked 2 or 3 months in advance and was £280 for 2 nights in a Club room. I read in different reviews different things about club rooms, some on one floor and very small and others that had a bed upstairs so i emailed the hotel who confirmed that the club rooms were accross 2 floors. Nearer to the time (about 2 weeks before) i checked the hotels rates and the same room for the same date was £213 and then under £200 just before so if you want to take a risk they still have rooms booking just before a stay seems to save you a lot of money on a room. There was a cheaper rate when initially booked in advance but the small print did state that for that rate you could be in one of their sister hotels if they did not have room so i don't know if this is what has happened to other guests who complain of being moved. I was worried about this and also read about reoccuring 'maintanence issues' at the hotel so i emailed them 2 days before and was assured our room was guarenteed and there were no problems.

We arrived an hour early at about 1pm and thought we would try and check in and our room was all ready for us. They did ask at check in if we wanted a room on 2 floors or not as they had both available, we did want the room on 2 floors and would have been dissapointed if there wasn't one available but perhaps as i emailed in advance they made sure they had this one available. The room looked as per the hotels website apart from some of the finishings were a little bit poor such as the carpets did not meet the walls and the duvet cover was ripped in places. The bed and bathroom was very clean which is the most important things to me and little things like the carpet don't really worry me. There was a half bottle of wine on arrival and a fruit basket as advertised when booking. We had signed up to their premeir awards scheme and this stated if available you get a free upgrade which would have been to their duplex suite (same room but more spacious) but i assume it was not available but perhaps if we had booked a standard room we may have been upgraded to a club room free of charge. We wanted a club room though so happy to pay for it. Feel the hotel is good value for money. Looked at others in the area for a similiar price and they looked more like hostels so very pleased booked here. It included breakfast both mornings which is normally £15 each. Good selection and most if it ok but some of the cooked items were a little cold.

It was about a 10 minute walk to Paddington station but looked as if a new tube was opening this year closer to the hotel. Hotel staff were all friendly and helpful. Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

We hope you will be back soon and for assistance in booking your future stay please write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    272
    102
    41
    56
See reviews for
155
175
46
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanaken, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the hotels and i have mixed feelings, some things are good and others are bad.
When we arrive at 15.00h our room was not ready, but they apoligized 2 times. And after 10 minutes we could go into the room.
At th reception desk were friendly people.
The room was small, very small. But all you need is in the room! It looked good. The bed was very small and the matress was so saggy, so with 2 people in the same bed it was not comfortable. The pilows were good!
The bathroom was clean, but in the bedroom they didn't vacuuming all the days. The cups for the tea/coffee were also dirty. We put a don't disturb sign, and at new years day at 10 in the morning the housekeeping came to knock they want to clean the room! But we had don't disturb on the door.
The worst thing in the room was the noise of the other rooms,you could hear people talk in the room next to you and in the room above us, you could hear every step the people made!!!
So we won't go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend booked this hotel end of October as a Christmas present for me, upon arrival today to be told they had a system error and had over booked... Although When we rang up last night they confirmed we had a booking and everything was fine. I will admit after reading reviews on here last night I thought this would happen.. So they sent us in a taxi to the grand royal hotel.. And got given a room which was literally abed and that was it, you couldn't even walk around the bed! Very disappointed in this hotel as we were looking forward to our stay. Believe negative reviews and don't bother booking a room cause you won't get what you booked!

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I decided to book a trip to London as a post Christmas getaway for myself and my Mother.
I found this hotel online as part of a special deal.

I arrived with my Mother, after half a day of sightseeing in London. We were looking forward to a rest and cup of tea. When we got to the desk we were faced with two unprofessional staff members. One was looking very shabby like he could barely dress himself and the other looked reasonable. They were both very unclear in what they were saying to us but eventually managed to state that the room we had booked had maintenance issues. I asked why they hadn't called and they said that they hadn't had the time. Next thing we knew we were faced with choosing two singles or going to another hotel in the Shaftesbury "Elite" Collection.

We chose to swap because we wanted a twin room.
I asked that the room be to the same standard in the alternative hotel, and that they put us in a quiet room.
We waited for a while. In the meantime a couple came in and were told the same thing, and offered a cup of tea (which we were not offered).

I paid then for this new room (no. 111) and we were escorted across the road to the Shaftesbury Premier. We were given room no. 118 (The Clubman) - This room was flawed and there were air conditioning units situated outside the window (which had a draft) - we had a broken nights sleep which impacted on Sundays sightseeing.

The Hyde Park Grand could not have been 4 Star - running a hotel isn't brain surgery - ensure you have maintenance teams at hand, train your staff to be courteous and speak in understandable and well constructed sentences, dress smartly, treat people with equality, and ensure that you stay in contact with guests should problems arise.

This is not the first time this has occurred - looking back at previous posts there have been many times this has happened - 1st Aug, 19th Oct, 31st Oct, 27th Nov, 7th Dec, 8th Dec.

I look forward to the managers response and also will be posting a review to the Shaftesbury Premier page - as that hotel also had much to be desired.

I will never go to this chain of hotels again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

You're in Town Visiting or for Business on a budget or not ; Grand London Hyde Park is The Place! Great customer Service . Very detailed and Professional ! From the Moment you check in
To the time you reach your Room. Rooms are very Clean . The Restaurant has a Great Service every morning. Great People , Friendly and Professional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your lovely comments about our premises & our fabulous staff.

We hope you will be back soon and for assistance in booking your future stay please write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A lovely hotel, we never seemed to exit Paddington station the same way twice so it took some finding. The staff were nice, not very chatty but always said good morning and called the lift or held doors open. The room was small but adequate, the bed was SOOOOO comfy and the room temperature was perfect. The bathroom was very small but the shower took up most of this so was lovely not to climb over a bath to shower. Water temperature was perfect, towels were a little on the small side but I just like a big bath sheet!
The room was absolutely spotlessly clean, which is the main factor for me. Tea & coffee facilities were replenished each day and the hair dryer was the best I have ever used!
Breakfast was nice, I think the orange juice was a bit over diluted and the tea was quite weak on our first morning, but again this is personal preference. Everything was hot enough, there was more than enough choice and a good English breakfast is a must when we are sightseeing in London.
I would certainly consider staying here again for the price and especially if we are visiting the Hyde Park Winter Wonderland again as the location was brilliant for this. Maybe a bit too far out of the West End for a one night stay but we were there 2 so it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read about our team’s friendliness and also your comments on our hotel cleanliness.
Hope to have a chance to give you warm welcome back in the near future.
Best Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besana in Brianza, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Hotel is very nice and good compared to other 4 starred structures according to London standards.

The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable.

Breaksfast is average, but the staff throughout the structure is very helpful and ready

Room Tip: The club room on two floors is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
As mentioned, our rooms are indeed different in sizes. I would like to request you to give us an opportunity to arrange room with bigger room.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our Breakfast
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#227 Luxury Hotel in London
#260 Business Hotel in London
#363 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Grand London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.