We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extortionate Price and Rude Receptionist” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Grand London Hyde Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Park Grand London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Park Grand London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 1,065 Hotels in London
West Midlands, UK
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Extortionate Price and Rude Receptionist”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked here through an online site because it was one of the few hotels available during the Olympics that had rooms available that were just extortionate in price rather than extremely extortionate in price. However when we attempted to check in, a very rude receptionist tried to tell us that we were no longer staying at the hotel but we could not understand what she was saying. Eventually she managed to explain that we had been bumped over to the Shaftesbury hotel. Despite asking why we were being moved no reason was offered or given. From reading reviews of this hotel and the Shaftesbury we may have had luck escape but it does not excuse terrible customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for the time and effort taken to write it.

I am deeply concerned to hear about all inconveniences caused to you at The Park Grand London Hyde Park.

As you aware we had Maintenance issue at the last moment and as per health & safety measures, we were forced to arrange alternative accommodation for you of the same standards.
To discuss this matter further, I request you to please contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    317
    138
    48
    59
See reviews for
190
201
52
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Found this by chance on-line -offer of the day. This hotel is OK for the price we paid. The rooms are clean and adequate, although it was described as having a fridge but we couldn't find it! The location is great for certain areas of London, you can walk to Kensington Palace from the hotel -it's literally only a 15/20 minute gentle walk through the gardens off the Bayswater Road.the price didn't include breakfast so we pre-ordered this. The breakfast staff need to be more aware of customers needs, after a little mix up with staff not having us down for a pre-booked breakfast we were pretty much left to fend for ourselves not knowing what the system was for breakfast. Also they had run out of eggs, and it took an age for them to top these up, staff seem to avoid eye contact with you and so consequently miss important cues from customers that could easily be recified. The breakfast was adequate though a little over-priced. the hotel round the corner does a full english for £7.50.
Also we asked the hotel to order us a taxi, we were not told until the taxi turned up that it's there own car/driver and subsequently at a much higher price, it left us in an awkward position and out of politeness we used the service. This should be made clear to you at the time of requesting. We estimated that we paid an extra £5 for that service which is fine if you are made aware of this.Otherwise you can flag a taxi down outside the hotel.
All in all this was an OK hotel in which I would stay in again, great location, clean and adequate rooms, friendly man in the reception area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. We, sincerely and profusely apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Your comments in regards to breakfast are pointed out to our Breakfast supervisor and will be extra careful so that none of our guest goes through this ever again. However I would like to elucidate to you about your comment on Taxi booking. We as a hotel do not operate any taxi company or have any connection with any taxi company. However on guest request we arrange chauffer driven cars only.
Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayes middlesex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We wasnt supose to stay at this hotel, we had orignally booked a hotel at inverness terrance bayswater but on the day had a all to say due to maintenance we had been oved ( load of rubbish - they do this all the time - see reviews ) we were moved to this hotel which is a 5 min walk to paddigton but away from bayswater where we wanted to be.

We were first moved to room 115 which was very small and has a tiny shower and as a larger lady i requested a bath we were them moved to room 810 which had a bath but had no air con and the window was over a generator which was too noisy to have the windw open. We were then moved to 110 which again had all the same issues and had a massive crack on the ceiling.

We then complained to staff as this moving aroud trook 1 hour and we missed our dinner plans and were not happy, we were then upgraded to a deluxe room which had no bath but a bigger shower, it was a top floor room and was ok - bed was softer but still a tiny room

hotel offered us 25% back on our stay and a free breakfast and free taxi to notting hil carnival which was nice of them, but this is no way a 4 star hotel, at most a 3 , probally a 2+

staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was gorgeous, but hotel and its chain need to sort itself out.

I like 4 star plus hotel but would never use this chain again

Please stay away, its cheap for a reason.

Room Tip: Complain !!!- after 3 rooms of complaining we got a delux which is acceptable followin a hotel chang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank for your review. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused to you on visit to Park Grand London Hyde Park.

I request you to please contact me so that I investigated it further but writing to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind regards

Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

provided us with great value for money, convieniently situated very clean and comfortable with use of a kitchen facilities. Beds were very comfortable, breakfast was good value for mony with great service throughout.m

Room Tip: Booked a club room with balcony at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share great feedback for your stay .
I am glad to read you had a pleasant stay with us and you found room comfortable.
Thank you for your positive comments about our staff .
I am looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Excellent value for money at this clean friendly hotel, plenty of ameneties offered and all utilities worked as they should. The quiet location was as described just five minutes walk from Paddington trains and tubes, the air conditioning was a godsend for an August break.

The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast's wholesome and plentiful. No complaints, just a well done to the management and staff of the Park Grand Hotel Hyde Park London, who provided us with excellent value for money in a Duplex/Quad room with two adults and two teenagers

Room Tip: Choose a duplex or quad room even if it is not strictly needed, you can sit in one room and sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Meredith,

It was a great pleasure to read your review of Park Grand London Hyde Park and all it has to offer. We are very proud of our high level of service and receiving such positive feedback inspires and motivates us to maintain such high standards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 grandchildren in a "quad" room which consisted of 2 very comfortable double beds. Room was small but very clean and tidy. Bathroom was very small but excellent power shower. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. Concierge facility enabled us to leave our luggage free of charge on our departure day for collection later that evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Keith ,

Many thanks for sharing your very kind feedback. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We checked out yesterday after a 3 night stay with our 2 kids aged 12 & 8. We stayed in London to do all the tourist things and have absolutely loved it!
The hotel was perfect for our needs and I would highly recommend it for families with children. We stayed in a clubroom (or duplex suite as it was described on the website). We had a super-comfy bed downstairs and the kids were upstairs on a mezzanine level (which they loved). There was a flatscreen tv on both levels and even a small kitchenette upstairs!
Bathroom was small but luxurious with toilettries. Breakfast had everything we all fancied. Fresh fruit and flowers and even free wifi in the rooms. The staff were polite and helpful. The hotel was modern, clean and well presented.
To sum up, it was perfect for us, we will stay again. When we booked in the day before, there was a special offer and I can't believe we paid less for this quality hotel than 3 nights in a Travelodge without breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is very encouraging to see guests enjoying and having a good experience while staying with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact us for any assistance you may require or for any future reservations.

Kind regards,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in London
#305 Business Hotel in London
#367 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Grand London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.