We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this overrated disaster (not a 4 star property)” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Grand London Hyde Park

Save Saved
You added Park Grand London Hyde Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Grand London Hyde Park
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 1,073 hotels in London
Dubai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Avoid this overrated disaster (not a 4 star property)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Worst travel experience ever. Property is NOT 4 stars. Rooms are tiny, facilities almost non-existent, food average, and staff an absolute disaster.

We arrived at the beginning of Easter weekend and immediately got a bait and switch. The company tried to move us to their neighboring property across the street... the Shaftesbury, or some such do to some alleged maintenance issues.We arrive in the room and it is a closet with a bed stuck in it. An additional bonus was the permeating smoke smell in a non-smoking room. As we had two rooms, it wasn't just a one room issue. All seemed to be like that. It certainly wasn't the 'deluxe' room we had paid for and certainly wasn't fit to house an 18 month old.

We went back to the lobby of the Park Grand and demanded to speak to the house manager. Apparently, this was a new concept to them as none was available. After wasting about 2 hrs., we finally received rooms in the Grand which were far better than the other property. However, they were still quite small and they were not as advertised on booking dot com.

Would that would have been it. The day before leaving we confirmed late check-out on day of our flight. In the morning after breakfast, the manager approached my wife and said we would need to leave by 1. I have never screamed, or had to harangue a hotel manager before. I had to on this occasion as they were still not doing their job properly.

My suggestion would be to avoid this hotel at all costs. You will be disappointed otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPPLondon, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your valuable feedback and appreciate your comments.

It is most important to immediately rectify our shortcomings and listen to feedback to ensure corrective measures are taken as soon as possible.

However I would like to apologize for the inconvenience faced by you with regards to the reallocation and late check out, and would definately make every effort to earn it back by our hotel services for your future visits.

We hope to serve you again soon

Thank you,

Swapnil Waghe
Manager
housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    289
    113
    44
    57
See reviews for
173
181
49
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CARDIFF. WALES
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I am a seasoned traveller and my TA comments are based on the quality of the hotel according to what I am paying. So here goes. The hotel is just around the corner from Paddington Station. Turn right out of Station, right at next set of traffic lights, its' across the road on the other side. The 23 bus passes the hotel (get on it at Paddington Station though where you can buy the £2.30 ticket from the machine) The 23 runs 24 hours a day. It goes to Marble Arch, Piccadilly Circus, Westminster, Theatre Land, Oxford Street, Regent Street, the Strand and near loads of other main London places including Trafalgar Square and the British Museum. The bus runs every 5 minutes during the long day and also during the night. The bus ride is a pleasant one and saves all the hassle of expensive taxis and tube rides. The 23 is a must if you are staying at this hotel. (We used it to get back from three Theatres after the evening shows, it stopped outside them all) Now the hotel:- I had cause to make an observation and requested a move of room. (I was recuperating from an operation and needed a little more space) The staff were excellent, extremely helpful. My new room was well appointed. King size bed. Shower room a little small and if you are an extremely large person you may find the toilet a little cramped. But, hey ho, the price I was paying was extremely competitive so no complaints from me. It had all the usual accessories. A Mr SWAPNIL assisted us a lot, (he couldn't do enough for us) his manner, as indeed the manner of all the staff was excellent. We did not opt for early breakfast but wandered to a little place we got to know well just a few hundred yards down towards Hyde Park in a cul de sac on the left. (Just off Sussex Gardens Opposite a very nice Indian Restaurant) Right across from the hotel is a cul de sac with one good but small restaurant. Good Value and food. We did not have a car and I was very thankful for that. Down the road is Hyde Park where you can walk right across to Kensington (Harrods etc.and Park Lane) If you fancy a pint in the evening the Pride of Paddington opposite the Station was ok actually. The food there was a little expensive. There are a number of late night shops and restaurant near Paddington Station. Take your pick. We found a very good Indian in a side street, excellent value and service) Mind you one and a half pints of lager at the Pride of Paddington was £6! During our stay we spent all of our time in Central London using the 23 bus as our chauffeur. Anyway, hope this helps you all.

Room Tip: It would appear you should try and avoid a basement room. But for the price even those aren't t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPPLondon, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind compliments and we appreciate that your time taken to share your valuable comments.

We would be happy to have you as our guest the next time you visit Shaftesbury Premier London Hyde Park.

We hope to serve you again soon!!

Thank you!

Swapnil Waghe.
Manager
housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hotel is a good location.. Just 5 minutes walk from the underground at paddington. Eay check in proceedure until we were given the key to a room already occupied with 2 people in the shower, Then the 2nd room was twin beds then the 3rd room was next to the lift on the ground floor and kept getting woken up. Room was pretty basic for an executive room (i think not) My recommendation is look elsewhere.. Also they charge £12 for a breakfast.. DO NOT BOTHER there is a great italian near the underground that does a full english for a fiver

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPPLondon, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your valued feedback and apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We take our guest’s feedback seriously and act on them without a delay, just so that we could serve you and all our guests better. If at all convenient, we would love to speak to you in person at your preferred time and I have furnished my E Mail address for any direct correspondence to gather a detailed feedback on your experience, as we would like to achieve excellence in all aspects of our Hotel and we would love to take your points and experience on board to get the services better.

Once again, thank you for your time and valued observations. The Team looks forward to welcoming you back to Shaftesbury Premier London Hyde Park, please do let me know if I could be of any assistance, it will be a sheer pleasure to serve you.

Kind Regards

Swapnil Waghe
Manager
E-Mail- housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had a similar experience to some of the others commenting on this hotel. On arriving at the hotel we had booked, they informed us they had had a burst pipe and were sending us to another hotel (this one). This set off all sorts of alarm bells as I had heard of this scam with elsewhere. Sure enough, using the free internet in the lobby we spotted several other reviewers describing the same experience at this or other sister hotels. If they habitually over book and need to move people around then they should just say this, it would have made little difference. Instead though they blame something else and shuttle you off. The hotel was fine and the staff helpful but I will not be staying at this or any of their other hotels. There are too many competitors to need to take the risk.

Room Tip: Don't worry about choosing a room, you might not even be in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPPLondon, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor, I would like to thank you not only choosing to stay with us, but also for your precious time giving your feedback. I am Sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction and that we could not come up to your expectations.

we would love to take your points and experience on board to get the services better.
please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

we hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

regards,

Swapnil Waghe.

Manager
E-Mail : housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs. UK.
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Lets deal with the positives first - the hotel is well located and within easy walking distance of Marble Arch, Oxford St etc. The rate that we paid is great value, its not easy to find a central London hotel at this price. The reception area is luxurious compared withe the rest of the hotel !. The breakfast was quite good and was included in the rate ( even better !),
Checking in was a very long and laborious process( just one receptionist) and by the time we were finished there was an enormous queue behind us, I had a club room which was very small ( but most central London hotels have small rooms), the decor was tired and in need of a makeover, and the room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road ( Sussex Gardens). The charming victorian sash window was not double glazed, so things were quite noisy !.
Everything else was just ok - so all in all, not a bad hotel if you are on a tight budget,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPPLondon, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear Richardi,

Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay in Shaftesbury Premier London Hyde Park.
We take our guest’s feedback seriously and act on them without a delay, just so that we could serve you and all our guests better. If at all convenient, we would love to speak to you in person at your preferred time and I have furnished my E Mail address for any direct correspondence to gather a detailed feedback on your experience, as we would like to achieve excellence in all aspects of our Hotel.

Once again, thank you for your time and valued observations. The Team looks forward to welcoming you back in Shaftesbury Premier London Hyde Park.

Regards,

Swapnil Waghe.

Manager
E Mail- housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were transferred to this hotel from a sister hotel nearby due to building works - taxi called, comp tea while we waited. only round the corner. Very happy. Hotel was friendly and clean. Our room was near the back ( I think, not sure after walking down lots of corridors!) and plenty big enough and modern. Bathroom modern and clean, only slight negative was the shower didnt seem hot enough. We were given complimentary breakfast as we'd been moved and this was very good. Buffet style, loads of choice fruit, croissants etc, full english, yogurt etc. Wasnt sure if we were allowed it for a second morning but a quick phone call to reception and there was no problem. All in all a very pleasant hotel which I could safely recommend and at a very good price for central london. Easy walk to Hyde park or Paddington.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I booked this room because of the location. Was a bit disappointed, but all in all I had a good stay. The free wifi only worked every now and then and my room was only slightly bigger than my suitcase. There was no floor space whatsoever, and there is no way I could have had another adult in this room, allthough it was supposed to be a double. The bed was 1 1/2, not a double and 2 suitcases iwould have been out of the question. The staff were friendly and helpful, though! And it was great that I could adjust the room temperature myself!

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room there is, it's still going to be very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate  , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#231 Luxury Hotel in London
#286 Business Hotel in London
#347 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, WHM Global Ltd., Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Hyde Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Grand London Hyde Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.