We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small friendly hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Dials Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seven Dials Hotel to your Saves list
Seven Dials Hotel
7 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9DA, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #571 of 1,063 Hotels in London
tonbridge kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Small friendly hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a great little hotel a few minutes walk away from the centre of Covent Garden. The room was quite small but had an ensuite shower and was very clean. There is a 24 hour reception and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, usual full English plus cereals, toast and juice. Perfect as a tourist base or for somewhere to stay after a night out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    97
    68
    18
    18
See reviews for
48
94
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This sweet, funny, TINY, quiet, hotel was clean, warm, friendly and comfortable. The location was second to none - rubbing shoulders with the very expensive Covent Garden Boutique Hotel across the road, which costs 3 times as much.

The room was very small but who comes to Covent Garden and stays in their room? This was a great base for the sights, theatre and restaurants. I WILL DEFINATELY STAY AGAIN.
Breakfast, which was full english with no frills, was included - great value for money.

You could always pop into the Covent Garden Hotel on the way back to bed and have a bottle of wine if you are looking for up market ambiance. But who needs ambiance when you are asleep in a comfy warm bed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The location of this hotel makes up for the size of the rooms and the need for a lick of paint. The towels and bed linen were spotless but the 'bathroom' , which I suspect started life as a cupboard, had a hole in the door and no lock. It was minute and minimal. The staff are charming anf helpful and the breakfast is more than adequate. Stairs are a bit of a problem if you are getting on or have walking difficulties as the are very spiral and have no handrails. Overall we enjoyed our stay but wouldn't choose to stay for more than a night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Perfect place to culture some penicillin! Mould was all over the walls underneath the bubbling of the wallpaper! This hotel is amazingly situated right in the middle of west end, however definitely not worth the 105GBP a night that we paid. We paid less for hostels and got better livings while travelling over 5 weeks in the UK!!! After finding out we were on the 4th floor, we were offered no help in getting our 30kg luggage up the narrow winding stairs! We were advised that they would prefer if we paid a day before our check out!
Breakfast on a weekday was at 7.00am-9.30am, after walking down to the breakfast part of the hotel (basement) were were greeted with a line of people waiting for tables. Once receiving a table at 9:15, we had to advise the waitresses that there was no food left. The condiments provided are also all out of date.

On one morning, advising one of the reception staff of the mould, we were told that they were attending to other rooms first before the one we were in.
After 3 nights in the incredibly small room were we definitely ready to leave. Expensive, not what the pictures show on the website and stay if only needing something close to West End.

Room Tip: Stay if you love small rooms and mould!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed just one night at the Seven Dials, which was fine. The room rate, which included a cooked breakfast, was good value but the rooms are small with little in the way of facilities - not surprising given the excellent location but low charges.

So, if you are coming to London for the theatre or other cultural attractions and don't expect to spend much time in your hotel room, then the hotel is great. But it's not a place to linger - but why would you with so many other attractions at hand.

Room Tip: Go for rooms at the back but not too high up as there's no lift and the stairs are not for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This a very useful reference hotel... if you really know what you will get.
The hotel does not have any bells and whistles... it does not have any "turkeys" either. And all reviews must have in consideration the cost/benefit ratio.
Location could not be better, right in the heart of Covent Garden, where all the action goes: theatres, pubs, restaurants and all the Soho life nearby. Plenty of underground stations around. Piccadilly Line direct to Heathrow Airport.
Price does not get any better in any hotel 5 kilometers around. We paid 140 UK pounds per night on a triple room (more about that later) including breakfast.
Staff is friendly, kind and willing to help, where necessary. Room care is addequate, bed grooming, full towel change and WC cleaning everyday.
Now, what you should be aware about:
Hotel is in a narrow building with 4 floors (we stayed in 3rd), there is no elevator (lift) and the stairs are narrow. Bringing in the suitcases may be a chore (I was offered help but declined), bringing them out is the same, but this is work to be done only once on arrival and once on departure. However, if you have mobility issues, be aware.
Rooms have the bare essentials, however clean, cozy and quite new. But rooms are not spacious. When me & my wife reserved, there was only a triple room available but we reserved anyway, because the price & location were right. This triple room (#11 on 3rd floor) was exactly right for us, with a nice double bed plus a single bed where we could spread our things and open our suitcases. If we were on a double (or if we were 3) the suitcases should have to stay open in the floor.
The WC was ok, small but addequate, good shower, lavatory and toilet. Be aware that economy hotels in London have usually *very bad* WC's (or they have shower but no toilet, or no WC at all).
What else ? A clothes keeper big enough with lots of hangers & 4 drawers, two bedside drawers, small TV, hairdrier & mirror, coffee/tea kettle with cumplimentary coffee, tea & cookies every day.
The hotel stays in a very quiet street but cornering with a busy avenue. Londoners are noisy (and frequently unpolite and rude), you may be bothered with noises at night, like buses and lorries passing by, some sirens and even obnoxious people honking at 4am !! Not to mention the "night birds" speaking or singing loud as they pass by. Bring in your earplugs. And your eye covers (curtains are thin and don't block daylight). We were lucky, neighbour hosts were quiet (this is always a question of luck).
Big central heating, switched on when necessary (temperature was very comfortable). No AC, big fan in ceiling (maybe useful in summer, but London is never hot anyway).
Breakfast is the typical English breakfast, not our preference but quite addequate and substancial anyway.
All in all, and with the correct pondering of pro's and con's, this is a very interesting choice for an hotel, that we may easily use again next time.

Room Tip: Get a triple if you are a couple and if the price is right for you. Bring in earplugs and eye covers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Dark dreary rooms. I beg to differ with your reviewer our room wasn't partcularly clean.I feel the whole hotel could do with a revamp and some tlc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Dials Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Dials Hotel

Address: 7 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #571 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seven Dials Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Dials Hotel
Seven Dials London
Hotel Seven Dials
Seven Dials Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Dials Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.