We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food but they run out quickly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan

The Swan
66 Bayswater Road, London W2, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
020 7262 5204p
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 1,197 Nightlife in London
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food but they run out quickly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a great pub and close to Hyde Park (beautiful area), but they have awesome fish and chips so go early because they run out quickly. Only 1 out of 8 of us managed to get the fish and chips that night but everything else was pretty delicious. We even went back the next day to try and get fish and chips again during lunch and was more successful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    58
    12
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellflower, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our hotel was in Bayswater so The Swan was very convenient. The food was very good and the service attentive. Good value for the price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent pub - but mice and fleas prevail!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I visited this pub several times as I was visiting London and staying nearby. Excellent food and atmosphere, but on two occasions I sat in the upstairs bar (inside not on the balcony) and saw mice running around the tables - this was also witnessed by the barmaid who said she had been shocked at first but had become used to them! On the second and last occasion I sat upstairs for a meal it was not only the mice running around but I was attacked by fleas which bit my ankles considerably. This pub needs cleansing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place for a pint and some dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed dinner and a beer on the top deck. Although overlooking a busy Bayswater Street, the Hyde park gate is in sight too. Bartender was very friendly and helpful with beer selection. The food was authentic, tasty and hearty after a long day of exhausting sightseeing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My "Local" Pub wherever I'll work or live in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

One of the best pubs in town? Possibly.

ALWAYS great atmosphere, with a nice crowd mix between close-by offices and hotels workers plus tourists staying close to it, passing by or visiting Hyde Park.

Super friendly staff and great food (if you like burguers, do yourself a favor and ask for the mighty-good "The Gov’nor Burger").

A favorite for life.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan also viewed

 

Been to The Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.