We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation and re-branding will not get me to stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel London Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ace Hotel London Shoreditch to your Saves list
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JQ, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch) (East End / East London)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #357 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Renovation and re-branding will not get me to stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

When I review hotels on TripAdvisor I never rate a five-star hotel against a 3-star. I compare hotels based on similar experiences in the same category. I stayed here during a business trip with a large group and it was absolutely my worst experience while in the UK.

We hired someone who lived in London to find us a hotel that met the budget of our group of government and non-profit executives. From the very beginning the hotel misled us, did not fully reveal the extent of the renovations, and only showed the best rooms to our consultant. Some rooms did not have real windows but instead had opaque glass that made you feel like you were staying in an interior cabin on a cruise ship. It was claustrophobic! And when we asked about it they were unapologetic!

The desk staff were not locals so they were not helpful when it came to restaurant suggestions, directions, or transit information and they never seemed enthusiastic. They were never rude but I wouldn't call them friendly and in a city as large as London I really count on the hotel staff to give me some assistance, especially when I am travelling with a large group.

As for the booking staff, I have never dealt with people who were so unhelpful, unsympathetic to our situation, and at times, disrespectful.

There were a few good things: the location was fun, easy to walk to interesting restaurants (that we found on our own!) and nightlife. As it turns out, transit access was also excellent from this location but again, we discovered this on our own with the help of the transit staff and some friendly locals, not the hotel staff. The breakfast was generous with a fantastic selection, the room was clean, the view from the restaurant and rooftop patio was amazing. But given how poorly we were treated I would not recommend this hotel to others. I would instead look for another option in this interesting area. Renovations are never fun but that excuse for bad attitude. Better service and more honesty would have made this a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Skybox TO,

Thank you for your recent review of the Ace London, It was interesting to read your comments in relation to your stay at the hotel as it was during the previous incarnation of the hotel.

A lot of the points that you have raised are valid and a lot of the reason why staff went through extensive local knowledge to ensure that they have a good working knowledge of the area and make great and interesting recommendations about restaurants or galleries in Shoreditch and the surrounding areas.

The refurbishment programme has been extensive and the hotel has been transformed into a place very much in tune with the Shoreditch area. The hotel is unrecognisable from the property that you stayed in back in June

We do hope that you come back and visit us in the future to see the changes that have taken place in the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    118
    44
    18
    16
See reviews for
35
117
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Left just a few days ago. Preface by saying we had a very bumpy arrival-- first delayed then cancelled fight, followed by long wait ending in standby. My daughter and I were already wrung out. I had cancelled by mail, thinking I had already lost one nights fee and odds were low. Imagine my delight when Ben said from the airport our room would be ready! 9 am-ish. Blackout curtains, window bench comfy bed let us both nap. Hip yes, but much more important, thoughtful design...hooks, baskets, great bathrobes and shower products. Room service , coffee really, came right on time.we loved the staff and all amenities, and by the way also had favorite dinner I have probably ever had at the Hawksmoor. Thanks Ben!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hey, Sorry to hear about your flight problems but happy to hear Ben made you feel at home and that the room was comfy. Hope to see you again! xoxo

The Staff at Ace London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful beds, friendly and helpful staff, a hotel with style.

But I would prefer to be able to open a window, even if it would only be a small one, and there should be some more hooks in the room. In the bathroom there was only one hook although the room was ment for four persons.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hey Malmo, Thanks for staying with us at Ace London. We really appreciate feedback and love the fact you love the staff and hotel. We hope to see you again.

The Ace Staff London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you are looking for Hilton luxury this is not the place for you. But this should be pretty obvious from the outset and if you like the look of the hotel go for it. We stayed for two nights over New Year. We booked through an agent and on arrival the hotel had no booking for us in their system. This was quickly resolved between our agent and the hotel and I felt the staff handled it well. I have read other reviews noting that staff are inexperienced and young. Yes the staff are relaively young, but this is Shoreditch! There were one or two occassions where we noticed the inexperience of some staff members, which you wouldn't get in one of the more established hotel chains in the city, but this is a new hotel and there are going to be some tiny things. This did not take away from the friendliness of every single member of staff which for us is way more important than not offering to take our bags to the room. We were given a duluxe double which is the exact room on the photographs online. The room was large with a lovelt bathroom and extra comforable bed. A lot of quirky features which we didn't really make the most of. The hotel is in an excellent location less than 5 minutes walk from Shoreditch High St station and less than 10 minutes from brick lane. In summary we would 100% stay here again mainly due to the staff and location, if you can get a good deal then go for it. We wouldn't have been able to afford to stay here booking direct, but still reasonably priced for London.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Chad b, thanks for the 5 star rating! We really enjoyed reading your review and the fact you love the area. Shoreditch location is pretty special and creative.

We hope you come back to stay with us again xoxox

The Ace Staff London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Definitely a great place to stay. Lovely room, great bar and location. Only downside is that we were promised a turntable and a selection of records in the room, which was why we booked it. There were no vinyl nor records in the room, and when I asked the reception, they couldn't give me an answer why. Until one guy said that all the turntables wasn't working… Think they should have told us in advance or at least take it off their website, if they can't promise it.

Room Tip: Go for Superior De Luxe Double Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hey Oslo, We at Ace London really appreciate feedback! We hope you will come back and see us again and thanks for the 4 stars.

xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just few lines to say thank you to all friendly staff at hotel all very helpful, great looking place loved all the colours in our room 303! just few little things i would change please provide china cups in rooms as although i loved look of tin cups hopeless for making a hot drink in, sorry cup of tea is important.....needed more tea & coffee & milk too.. staff in little coffee bar were helpful too
thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hey Tynemouth, Thanks so much for the 5 stars and the most wonderful feedback about our team at Ace London. We hope you come back to see us again!

xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This hotel is moderately hip but not as much as it thinks it is.

Still it was a nice enough place to stay for a few nights, the ambiance when entering the reception is cool and the welcome very satisfying - pleasant young dood taking details and generally being an easy going person, which makes a nice change from the overly courteous or dare I say it rude receptionists from normal hotels. The facilities in room were good, digital radio, excellent a/c, heating, but nothing special special. Though I will give them points for the three liquid dispensers in the shower, they were all top quality soaps, shampoos etc.

The tv and remote control combo is atrocious. Overall 7/10 but not really worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hey raaaabert , Thanks so much for the 4 stars and thank you even more for the comments in regards to the staff and our hotel vibe! We love to hear that we make our guest feel chilled. Make sure you come back soon. The Staff at Ace London xoxo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Hotel London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel London Shoreditch

Address: 100 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JQ, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Business Hotel in London
#237 Luxury Hotel in London
#336 Family Hotel in London
#337 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ace Hotel London Shoreditch 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, a 5 star property in the historic Shoreditch neighbourhood, a hub for galleries, theaters and fashion, home of the Brick Lane market and a canvas for street artists from around the world.It’s a neighborhood with a long history of culture and industry — the first district where plays were performed in London, banned at that time in the center city, and later a center of in textile and furniture manufacture.Today’s Shoreditch is a leader in the arts, design, cuisine, culture and technology — an outpost in the global community of ideas. The design at Ace Hotel London hints at a wide range of influences from UK punk to the bold graphic style of the early 20th century Vorticist movement, to the clean Modernism of the Bauhaus.All rooms have vintage furniture, original artwork, in-room safe and flatscreen TV with Ace video-on-demand and Revo radios with Ace-curated radio stations, plus a well-stocked mini-bar and complimentary WiFI. Some rooms have turntables and a selection of vinyl and acoustic guitars.Easy access to Moorgate, Finsbury Square and Liverpool Street. Destination restaurant Hoi Polloi is by David Waddington and Pablo Flack who are restaurateurs behind Bistrotheque and Shrimpy’s. Gym is open 24 hours; the Hotel also features a Basement Bar with live gigs and DJ sets, a lobby bar, The Bulldog Edition - a coffee shop in partnership with Square Mile Coffee Roasters, an exhibition gallery, on-site juice bar, a flower shop, and 24 hours room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Ace Hotel London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.