We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B - a must if you want an extremely clean and allergen-free room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barclay House London B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barclay House London B&B
Save
You added Barclay House London B&B to your Saves list
21 Barclay Road, London SW6 1EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Den Haag
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B - a must if you want an extremely clean and allergen-free room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 4 restful nights at this wonderful B&B from 13 to 17 October 2012.

I will start with the fact that this B&B is extremely clean and has no carpet or old and heavy curtains. This might sound unimportant to a few but if you are one of the many allergic humans out there, you will understand what I am talking about.

Since our family is composed of 4 very allergic people (dust, mites, dogs, etc), we almost always need to pop one of those anti-histamic pills when not sleeping at home. But NOT at Barclay House. The B&B is extremely clean and Charlotte only uses hypoallergenic pillows and no wool blankets. We slept like babies and woke up full of energy for another day as tourists in a city that has definitely too much to offer. Really a must if you are allergic! And even if you are not, I am sure you will enjoy the extremely clean rooms as much as we did.

One of the highlights of our stay was a Royal Philharmonic Orchestra concert we attended at the Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall. And this would not have been possible without the expert advice of Charlotte. She told us where to go and what to see and booked the perfect seats for us.

Free WiFI was also a highlight for our teenage sons who could connect with their 'crowd' again after a long day walking around.

The location is also very convenient. It is a very short walk to the Fulham Broadway tube station and you can also easily catch one of the red public double-deckers that will take you all around the city.

Finally, the small kitchen adjacent to the rooms is very handy and you can help yourself to a warm tea and some home made chocolate chip cookies (our kids certainly had too many of those) in the morning or after a long walk in the city.

We will definitely return to enjoy the rooms, the pillows and Charlotte's cookies and expert advice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
We invest in the market-leading hypoallergenic pillows --memory foam granules as well as silk fiber wrapped foam core--, and encase them with the best zippered pillow protectors. Many guests buy at least the pillow protectors at the White Company, Sloane Square; but their pillows were recently bought by a guest and made their way back to Tokyo! We wash our pillows very often and buy new ones every six months, just like the Four Seasons Hotel up the road does. This was a multi-lingual family, full of enthusiasm for London's 'urban cool' side. They say that they'll be back soon for Christmas shopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    48
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
35
95
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Speers Point, Australia
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Charlotte does a great job with Barclay House - she really understands what travel is all about and sets out to ensure that travellers are at ease and not just during their stay but also well before.

My wife and I enjoyed four nights at Barclay House in late August and loved the experience. The place is located in a great spot, just off Fulham Road and really close to the tube and bus routes. There is no shortage of good quality restaurants in the area and the locals are all friendly. Charlotte kept in touch with us prior to our visit and made sure that we had the most cost effective introduction to the London Transport system - right from Heathrow (before we had even arrived at the B&B). She gave us some good advice on on-line bookings for London attractions and provided some sterling advice on the best way to get to Heathrow for an early morning departure (Simply Airports was great Charlotte).

Charlotte and Adrian live in the property and are there if you need advice, but they not in your face at all. This is a well managed B&B that forms a great base for exploring London.

Thanks Charlotte - we'll be back!

Room Tip: We had the front room, but the street is pretty quiet. I suspect that all rooms are of the same qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We're glad that all the little extras that we provide were exactly what these experienced travellers appreciated. ...and when too much successful shopping has your luggage getting you down, splurge on a 'cheap-ish mini-cab' back to LHR, as these wise guests did! Glad to know that they'll be returning to stay again sometime; as we say to all guests, as soon as you have an idea of possible dates, even if very tentative, do let us know so that we can pencil you in, without obligation, in order to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I returned for our second visit to Barclay House. We first stayed here for 5 nights in June 2008 and returned for 4 nights in September 2012. The B&B is located on a quiet residential street a short walk from the Fulham/Broadway tube station. The neighborhood has many good restaurants and pubs. The recently remodeled bedroom and ensuite bathroom are very attractive. The spacious shower is a bonus. Charlotte and Adrian take very good care of their guests -- from the excellent mattress and bedding to the espresso for breakfast! Free wifi is also much appreciated!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
It's always nice to catch up with guests, and this time the weather was in our favour so that we were able invite them to late evening drinks on our rooftop terrace. Nice memories in the making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My daughter and I spent five days at Barclay House while visiting London. The Double Room was a comfy retreat after long days out seeing the sights. My 11 year old relaxed playing on the iPad (they have free WiFi) or watching TV. She also appreciated the little kitchen right outside our door. We made breakfast there each morning with tea, croissants, pain au chocolat and even crumpets. We were so fond of the crumpets we asked where to buy some to bring home. My daughter used the kitchen's little fridge for stashing snacks of fruit and yogurt.
The bathroom was new and immaculate, and the bed was very firm and comfortable. The room isnt large, but there's a huge window so it doesn't feel small. The location is great. Truly a two minute walk from the tube, with many restaurants and shops nearby.
Charlotte gave us a great tip of a suitable show to see: Matilda -- wonderful for children and adults, and we spotted Mick Jagger there!
The room is cleaned daily, which isn't the case with many b&bs. The cleaning staff is friendly and helpful, and they keep the room immaculate.
My daughter and I were so comfortable at Barclay House that I allowed her to stay in when I went out one night. Just like home!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
What a delightful mother/daughter team, full of enthusiasm for London and local neighbourhoods, not to mention all that they packed into their long week, from theatre, museums, and concerts to that recurring theme of so many guests, shoe shopping during the big summer sales! Thank you for being such appreciative guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed in the King for 6 nights and found the experience to be completely as advertised. Charlotte is an attentive host and can answer all questions. The location – as others have commented – is quite convenient to the Fulham Broadway tube station (District Line). Even better, Fulham is chock-full of great restaurants and shops only a few steps away. Aziz/del Aziz middle-eastern restaurant is particularly recommended – yummy! Also noteworthy are the modern furnishings and fixtures, everything spic-and-span and in fine working order. On a warm summer night you may sleep windows open, and I found the neighborhood to be quiet enough to get a sound night’s sleep. One can hear planes on approach to Heathrow, but I found them far enough away that they did not annoy. Note also that there’s no breakfast room, just a small kitchen bar to prepare your own. Check out the great London map wallpaper – very useful!

Room Tip: The size of the 3 rooms are scaled exactly as one would expect, the King being fairly large, followe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
We enjoyed inviting this guest up to our roof terrace for an evening drink and long chat about various travel adventures. It turned out that with daytime our corporate hats on, we both work in the same type of industry as well. This guest took our advice on going to the cathedral city of Salisbury for a day--easy to reach by traina and so much to explore. Just a note to say that the designer-led Philip Starke 5-star, compact bathroom of the KING en suite room is exactly the same as the one of the DOUBLE en suite room--same size, same fixtures, same design, same amenities, same in all respects; our architect had only guests in mind when she planned it so these 'en suite' bathrooms have a pleasing 'hotel' feel to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

My sister and stayed in this lovely B&B for three nights in June 2012. It was a last minute booking but Charlotte was very accommodating and found room for us! Location was excellent - very close to the tube station and in a quiet neighbourhood. We often walked back at night and always felt safe and slept very well - even with a party raging next door one night! Took us about 15 minutes to get into central London on the tube but the line connects to everything, very convenient. Charlotte was a great host - very friendly and offered advice as soon as we arrived about the B&B and the best way to get around the city. It was great to have her guidance but she also left us to our own devices, only popping her head in each morning to see what we were up to. Our room was lovely - very modern and chic with contemporary furnishings and a really cool bathroom. Little touches like umbrellas in the cupboard, bathroom toiletries and a handy London map were really appreciated. Wi-fi was free. Breakfast was a self-serve meal, which we both enjoyed, and we often had toast and pastries each morning with home-made preserves, yum! It was nice to have a quick meal and head out for the day. Only negative would be some noise from the apartment above each morning - it was quite loud, waking both of us up around 6am, but we are light sleepers. Another thing - on check-out, we told Charlotte we would return to the B&B with cash and keys around 4.30pm to 5pm. She said she would be home all afternoon as she was watching the tennis. When we arrived back to pick up our luggage and say goodbye, no-one was around. We repeatedly knocked on the door, rang the doorbell and even phoned upstairs but no-one seemed to be home so we just left keys and cash at their door as we were in a hurry to catch a cab. It was just a little odd and we both felt awful just leaving payment and running without properly saying goodbye, we hope everything was all right! All in all, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Another so well-organised travel friend duo that I only saw them a few times as they made the most of being in London, day and night! We want to encourage potential guests to see our precise architectural layouts, available to click on to enlarge, on each room description page. London homes have adequately sized, but not oversized rooms; it's the way they were built in the 1870s! That's why we remodeled last year at a five-star, designer led level to use every available inch/cm to best advantage for guests' needs. We've spent thousands of Pounds on new flooring and sound insulation but once in a while, when my husband has to get up really early to take guests to Paris for a 24- or 48-hour ueberTouring experience, guests below might hear him walking around; we'll be more careful in future and appreciate the comment made here. Regarding payment, as we both work outside of the house most days, once in a while, we are not around to collect payment as planned; in this case, I was stuck on a red bus, so it was impossible to arrive back in time. Payment on arrival is best for us, but sometimes guests are not comfortable with that. These guests did the right thing though, experienced travellers that they were, leaving the money discreetly under the door with a lovely thank you note to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It is a little bit small room but nice, charming, lovely rooms. The newly decorated ensuite room is very comfortable. Owners are friendly and knowledgeable and make you feel truly welcome in their home. We was relaxed and the Breakfast cooked by Charlotte was excellent - especially the fresh waffles with maple syrup, toast, fresh smoothies and coffee. 15 minutes walk to Big Ben and 15 minutes by bus if you want to go to the Victoria and Albert Museum. A favorable position. We had a happy and sweet space at Barclay House. We would highly recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barclay House London B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House London B&B

Address: 21 Barclay Road, London SW6 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just named one of Britain's Best 50 B&Bs by The Times. Our guests want 5-star style at a reasonable price in expensive London; Pls note: we totally renovated in mid-2011--reviews before that relate to rooms no longer available. We offer two design-led, five-star styled guest rooms each with its own bathroom inside the room, ie 'en suite'. Guest rooms exude award-winning British design, super comfort and convenience: Phillipe Starke bathrooms, RLangford beds with hotel-style high headboards, secure highest-speed WiFi, excellent lighting, large desks by ChannelsDesign, LED flattest screen tvs, guest breakfast bar; all in one area of an 1872 Victorian terraced house with all modern amenities Barclay Road is a peaceful, tree-lined road off the fashionable Fulham Road. Friendly neighborhood (Fulham) in central, southwest London, north of the River Thames, ie on the side where most of the attractions are. 2-Min walk to tube/buses. Fulham Broadway tube (District Line/green). 14/414 Bus up Fulham Road to Harrods and 3 of London's major museums. Careful attention to your needs -- free, secure highest-speed WiFi, luggage racks, salon grade 2200 watt hair dryers, bathrobes, slippers, self-serve 'breakfast on the go', best maps and advice to make the most of your stay. Designed with the needs of experienced travellers in mind; well organised rooms with large desks and contemporary wardrobes, firm beds, granite/mirrored bathrooms with powerful HansGrohe Airpulse rain showers--plenty of hot water (not always so at London B&Bs), and triple-glazed windows with plantation shutters and lockable sash stops to allow for air circulation. Your hosts live on the property and are available to assist you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barclay House London B&B England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barclay House London B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.