We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean basic accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1SL, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 1,075 hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good clean basic accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located next to excel centre
Reception staff all very friendly and helpful
Clean rooms
Good new bathroom with bathtub... Tea and coffee facilities in the room
Nice and quiet... Even though close to city airport and the DLR.
Breakfast has plenty of food available.. Nice coffee. Francesco on the breakfast reception very friendly and interested in people.
All in all a nice hotel, only negatives are that the area is quiet and there are not resteraunts with a good range of foods. The best is to eat at the Premier Inn itself... Don't go across the road to the Ramada... The food there is tasteless and overpriced.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    522
    230
    63
    19
    22
See reviews for
282
196
49
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Easy transport links, great staff, cleanliness and comfort at a reasonable price short walk to the excel centre and they supply shower gel/ shampoo so you can travel light! Allarge screen TV Plus the great value breakfast all the reasons why I always choose a premier inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is located directly at Excel and London City Airport is a 5 minutes trip. Staff is friendly and the rooms are big enough and clean. The only thing, that was really annoying is the noise inside of the rooms. The rooms are so noisy, that I can only give an average rating, because it really reduces the sleeping comfort a lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for just the one night to go to a concert on the O2 across the river. Transport was easy enough for that using the DLR and tube.

Check in was speedy , despite the fact a new girl was being trained in the check in process. Good luck Ruta! My room was up to the usual high standrad that seems to be the norm in Premier Inns. I could see the DLR line from my window , and the London City airport flightpath is right next to the hotel, but from my room on the 4th floor noise wasnt a problem for me.
The wall mounted TV was that big , I actually missed it when I first entered the room.

I had a meal in the restaurant before heading across to the concert, first time I have actually eaten in a PI. It was just a 'basic' lasagne and chips, but it was lovely and filled me up after my day travelling across from Dublin.

The concert was great btw , and qucik travel connections had me back to the hotel within about 20minutes, and I had a great nights sleep.

I'm hoping to stay there again in October for another show at the O2 , just waiting to see if any offers come up on the PI website.

If you can get a good price for this hotel , its worth considering for show on the O2

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel was clean and modern. The staff were well trained and very friendly. The quality of the food was surprisingly good and great value. We had a family room and it was spacious and comfortable with large wall mounted flat screen tv. The only real downside was having to use the DLR to get there. The DLR trains run less frequently than the tube and you have to walk about 300 metres from the station to the hotel which is not a problem if it isn't raining! There isn't really anything else there except one pub and the O2 but for a good nights sleep at a reasonable price this hotel takes some beating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-pieters-kapelle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was another comfortable, friendly stay, with the Premier Inn's unbeatable breakfast deal. There are some things that aren't really the hotel's fault - it is next to the DLR, and if you're in a room on the corner, up on the 5th floor, it is noisy when a train goes by.

However, it didn't disturb me, and the windows are soundproofed, so I'm not dropping the score for that reason.

The bar is a bit cramped and tired; but it's an okay place to unwind in.

All in all, a great stay, but I wouldn't choose it for a romantic getaway. If you're visiting the Excel, or London in general, though, it's excellent value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lots of great things about this stay - very warm and friendly service; very efficient check in / out, the fantastic beds and pillows, incredibily quiet rooms given on top of city airport and a major road, great breakfast.
Not so good is the parking at £12 between 9.30am and 5.30pm which mean if you arrive at 2pm and leave at noon you have to pay two days - £24! Which is half the cost of the room!
Now the lunch...or not....
We checked in around 3pm in need of a quick lunch and were advised at reception that the restaurant was open for lunch. When we went to the restaurant it was being redecorated and there was no one at the bar. I asked at reception and someone came over who said the restaurant was closed for refurb and I was mistaken about it being open. I was told they could offer snacks but would need to check with the chef what was on as no menus had been printed. The chef came out and said he could do paninis but needed to check if the grill was on. I was then advised the grill and fryer were not on and it would be about 20+ minute wait. We could not wait so went to another hotel for lunch. Before leaving I went back to the receptionist who checked me in to advise her of the confusion. She told me there was no confusion, the restaurant was open and they were just "not doing their job". She went off to find the chef but we could not wait and I did not get any message as to the result. The restaurant did redeem itself at breakfast when the service and quality of food was excellent and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel

Address: Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Best Value Hotel in London
#82 Family Hotel in London
#182 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London Docklands, our Premier Inn will be sure to suit all your needs whether they are business or pleasure. Take a trip to the O2, which is only 20 minutes away. Or explore out to central London. The choice is truly yours, with the DLR (Prince Regent station) only a short walk away.Our dedicated and friendly staff will do there very best to meet your every need.With Thyme restaurant being on site you can be sure you won’t go to bed hungry.A good nights sleep and a comfy bed will be just what you need after a long day at work or sight seeing.Premier Inn, a good night sleep guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel London
Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.