We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,Great Team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1SL, England (Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 1,075 hotels in London
Portsmouth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,Great Team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for I night.Very Handy for the o2 Took cable car over to 02 and DLR/tube back. Only a 3 min walk to DLR Very clean room,Premier Inn beds are the best out of all the hotels i have stayed in.Great Little bar and Restaurant and i have to agree with all the comments about the staff, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the customer service was fantastic it's a pleasure to stay in a hotel where the team look genuinely happy to help you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    521
    230
    63
    19
    22
See reviews for
282
196
49
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Basic but good clean rooms and good location.
Staff were pleasant and friendly and all public areas of the hotel were equally clean and well kept.
Air conditioning was a little noisy!
But would stay there again, as the beds were comfy and we had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit theatreland and the Royal Albert Hall. It was our 2nd visit and again we found the staff so accommodating and helpful. We arrived around 11.00. am and we were meeting our daughter there who was half an hour away at that time. Reception arranged with housekeeping to have both our rooms ready for us so we could check in before we went off to see the sights.. They really couldn't do enough for us.. The breakfast was brilliant and the restaurant very clean.
Unfortunately the DLR was closed for repair work on the Saturday and Sunday. It was a bit of a long journey by bus there and back to the West End but this was no fault of the Premier Inn.

On hindsight, the location was a bit far out for us to get to where we needed to be but to off -set that against the rail fare into London and what it would have cost us for accommodation nearer London, all in all it wasnt a problem for us but with children it could have been.

The brilliant part of staying at this Premier Inn is that during the week it is outside of the Congestion Charge Zone . We would certainly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel is well located for City Airport - nice early morning walk. Room was excellent and bed very comfortable. Only downside related to restaurant, which suffered from raucous noise from bar clientele (inebriated at 7pm!). Female staff were probably intimidated to complain/control the males in the bar. Food was good and good value, but slow to be delivered.

Room Tip: select a table in restaurant away from the bar if you want peace to enjoy your meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Had stayed there while attending the WTM 2012 at Excel centre. Found the bath tub very slippery to stand while taking a shower. Infact had a severe fall and had to be rushed in ambulance to hospital where was given a couple of stitches. Had a bandaged head with a black eye and was a sight to see when I went to the exhibition. Couldn't spend much time at exhibition for this reason and eventually the money invested was wasted. Did request the manager if he could refund some amount but he just turned a blind eye. Had a couple of colleagues in other rooms who also found the tub slippery but they were extra cautious after seeing what happened to me.

The staff otherwise are very courteous and helpful. Breakfast was great and room was clean. No noise in the room inspite of proximity to DLR. If they address the issue with the slippery bath tub, I think it would be a perfect place to stay easpecially keeping in mind its proximity to Excel and the DLR lines.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights while on a short break usual high standards of comfort and food and excellent location 3 mins walk from DLR but what was exceptional was the brilliant level of customer service EVERY member of staff was helpful friendly and polite but also appeared genuinely interested in us having a good stay.
Haven't come across this level of customer service in the UK before, very impressed well done and thank you.

Room Tip: Ask about special deals staff very helpful and knowledgable who will work out the best deals availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed there one night and arrived late. Managed to get a beer in the bar before the evening was over. A lot of business men watching football on TV. Upon check-in they guaranteed me a good nights sleep, and they were almost right. The bed was good but the sound isolation between the rooms could have been better. I stayed in room 214 and the neighbour was definitely upset about something because I could here him walking around and talk on the phone late in the evening. During night it was all quiet. A colleague of me stayed in a room close to the Tube line so he had heard the trains late in night and early in the morning. Good breakfast and all in all a reasonable priced hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel

Address: Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#75 Best Value Hotel in London
#82 Family Hotel in London
#182 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London Docklands, our Premier Inn will be sure to suit all your needs whether they are business or pleasure. Take a trip to the O2, which is only 20 minutes away. Or explore out to central London. The choice is truly yours, with the DLR (Prince Regent station) only a short walk away.Our dedicated and friendly staff will do there very best to meet your every need.With Thyme restaurant being on site you can be sure you won’t go to bed hungry.A good nights sleep and a comfy bed will be just what you need after a long day at work or sight seeing.Premier Inn, a good night sleep guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel London
Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Docklands - Excel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.