We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For an American audience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Zetter Hotel to your Saves list
The Zetter Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England (Islington / Clerkenwell)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“For an American audience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

This was my second stay at the Zetter. If you have a lot of energy or a few extra minutes, you could check out my previous review. In short, I am still very impressed with the hotel and even more impressed with the surrounding area. But if you are American (as am I), I wouldn't get too caught up in the rave reviews by British tourists. On the whole, hotels in London are lousy with respect to value compared to other European capitals and especially compared to the U.S., and you will be disappointed if you expect the Zetter to be on par with similarly priced modern/ trendy hotels in the U.S.. The dollar is very weak compared to the pound, and unlike the restaurant scene the hotel choices in London have not really improved much in the past 20 years. The rooms are small but well designed. Housekeeping is flawless, the staff is great, and the bartenders are simultaneously good-looking, engaging, and make great Mojitos. The biggest asset of the hotel is the surrounding area. You will feel that you are in the "real" London...hip, safe, exciting, and as convenient as anywhere else for sight-seeing but without the tourist hordes. Just keep in mind....for London (but not the U.S.), the Zetter is a really good value.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    217
    55
    19
    8
See reviews for
51
292
41
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

Some live in a house, some live in a flat, some live on a boat, but I on the other hand, until a few months ago, lived in a hotel! Not just any hotel, rather a restaurant with rooms, which in reality doesn’t sound as seedy as one might assume.



Housed in the old pool rooms on Clerkenwell road, The Zetter is more like the loft apartment you always dreamt of owning rather than a room to rent. Great management, staff who go over and above the call of duty, a restaurant serving home cooked Italian food that gives Elizabeth David a run for her money. What more could a 30 something girl in the city ask for?

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

What a wonderful experience staying in the Zetter was........ From the moment I arrived the reception I felt special and very modern. The rooms are just fab, I just love the pink lights, choice of music and all the quirky extras that are dotted around the rooms, very original. I also really appreciated the local information that was in the room for the guests, not only interesting but very useful The convenience of the vending machines on each floor is a brilliant idea, how many times have I forgotten that vital essential, and there they all were, not to mention the naughty treats, vodka redbull and chocolate yum yum!
I had breakfast and dinner in the hotel, again, service and food was just wonderful. The menu had that "special something" which made the meals just irresistible.
Would I come and stay again.........absolutely would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. Sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

My boyfriend and I decided to celebrate our engagement in London in style and after searching the found The Zetter to be recommended as stylish, modern and funky. We were not dissapointed - the staff could not have been kinder (and that was before they knew why we were there) - the rooms were really cool, with great quirky bits like pink lighting, rain showers and the comfiest pillows ever - but the best part for me were the cocktails. AMAZING. We had a great weekend and would definately, definitely go back.

  • Liked — The style and uniqueness
  • Disliked — Nothing - all was amazing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

The only problem with this hotel, is that it such a short stay!
Not many londoners are aware of this trendy area, let alone this little hotel. The area is amougst cafes, bars, restaurants and iconic nightclubs, I say pah to the west end.
You must visit the Zetter. They have these cool pink lights all over the hotel and grab a cocktail from the bar, the waiters are all beautiful.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — leaving!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

The Zetter pitches itself as "restaurant & rooms", and it was the restaurant which drew me to it as I was attending a business dinner in one of its private dining rooms, and decided it would be the most convenient place to stay afterwards. It's convenient for Farringdon station

The standard guest room I was staying in was smartly decorated, with some attention to detail. Although a double room, I think it would have felt cramped with two guests in it. There was no wardrobe, only a suitcase stand and a couple of coathooks - not a problem for me, but I would have expected at least some clothes storage space.

The bed was comfortable, and the secondary glazing kept out most of the noise from Clerkenwell Road. There were also folding shutters to keep out most of the light. The rooms are however arranged around an atrium, which means there is likely to be some noise from the bar on the ground floor (or from guests on other floors).

The room comes with a PC which provides the audio-visual entertainment through the tv - it plays DVDs, and includes an MP3 "jukebox" with a good (and free) selection of albums. The fan in the PC was noisy though. The wifi in the hotel is now free, but irritatingly if you want to access the internet using the PC keyboard it costs £10. There's no minibar fridge in the room, but there is a selection of non-refrigerated drinks and snacks, at the usual eye-watering prices (other than the bottles of water, which are free). (Note that there is a late night supermarket two doors down the street!).

The shower room (note there is no bath tub) was relatively spacious. Bathrobes provided, but £2 a pop if you want to use the shaving or toothbrush kits. The shower has a large shower head, though (if you're bothered about such things) the spray wasn't particularly powerful or adjustable.

The room was clean and well-maintained, other than a slightly faulty shutter and the sliding bathroom door being very squeaky and not locking. Overall, I would recommend it, but be wary of the potential noise from the atrium.

  • Liked — Location, stylish decor
  • Disliked — Noise from bar, lack of storage
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

This is the type of hotel you have to stay in before you die!
This was our second visit and hopefully not our last. We stayed in a top floor room with patio and city views and it is well worth the money.
The decor is chic with litle extras such as throws, hot water bottle, books to read in the loo, neon dog(!) and excellent music through the TV which kept my husband entertained and very jealous!
The cocktails down in the bar are perfect and moreish, the staff always polite.
The room was large and comfortable, the bed as good as my own and the shower washes away any trace of a hangover in the morning.
We truely did not want to leave and hope to return soon. If you're looking for somewhere special this is it.

  • Liked — Pure indulgence
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Islington / Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#125 Luxury Hotel in London
#164 Business Hotel in London
#175 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London
The Zetter Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Zetter Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.