We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, worn rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - The City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza London - The City to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza London - The City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #198 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Centrally located, worn rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This business hotel is well connected by metro, unfortunately the next by station „Black Friars“ is closed until 2011 for renovation. So just get off the next station “Temple” and walk back. Once arrived (along main road and the river Themse, approx. 10mins. walk) you’ll be welcomed in a large, modern lobby.
Unfortunately, our Superior rooms on the 5th floor weren’t as modern as the lobby, rather worn, with tiny bathroom. Our room got everything you’d need for a city trip: twin beds, ironing set, inroom safe, quiet location with view on side street.
In the lobby restaurant delicious snacks are being service and if necessary there’s a full size, modern fitness center.
There are several options to get into the city (Piccadilly Circus, etc.), a cozy walk take approx. 20mins.¨
Not a bad stay but would improve after room renovation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    470
    116
    39
    21
See reviews for
296
473
70
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This booking was originally for business. The course was cancelled but we chose to still use the booking. We were not disappointed. Everything about this hotel was excellent; the room, the temperature control, the staff, the breakfasts. We could not pick a fault. We were in a club room and found that these were without a doubt the best club facilities we have experienced. We plan on visiting this hotel again later this year.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Excellent Hotel Excellent Location Excellent Weekend Getway family Package
10 mins by tube to center of london

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Staff were great, facilities lovely, hotel itself unusual and interesting, calm and lovely, didn't eat in but breakfast was good, even crockery was nicer than the normal hotel fare. Staff couldn't have been more helpful whether it be reception staff, guest relations or consierge, all more customer focussed than many hotels. A good example of how it should be done in the operating of hotels, didn't want to go home!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Whilst I did not have any particular problems during my stay, I would not return next time I am in the area. Depending on the rate offered (I was on a corporate rate) it can be reasonably priced, however for the same money there are far better hotels closeby. I stayed at the Chancery court on my next visit which was incomparable and cheaper! The rooms are dated and tired and the lift continues to break whilst you are in it. On the plus side the breakfast is excellent and I would probably visit it again (but just for that)!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The hotel has some good and points first the good.....
-It's in central London
-Good rates can be found on many websites try get one with breakfast
-The rooms are nicely fitted out
-Bathrooms are great with good showers
-The area around the hotel is safe and the temple is lovely for a wonder around
-Staff are helpful on reception
- Good quality room service

The not so good
-The beds do not use feather pillows, toppers or duvets so everything is lumpy and cheap feeling. If you try to remove the lumpy mattress topper you will find a mattress you feel the springs through
-Breakfast is expensive at £20 so get a rate with it included, its not the best breakfast I have had at a Crowne Plaza as the buffet as they only have 1 type of egg, scrambled
-the carpets in the rooms and corridors need a clean they are filthy
- Breakfast staff are cold and dismissive and the seating is not set up well for a restaurant with some low tables and chairs
-Local tube is closed so a 10min walk to the nearest one
-Overpriced food and trying to get someone to take a room service order when no one answered the phone and the reception staff said someone would call back! 3 calls and I got some food ordered

I would stay again if I got a £99 rate with breakfast but I wouldn't pay much more because of the beds which are not much better than a cheap travelodge. Other Crowne Plaza's in London have better beds. Other than that the other little issues are no big deal unless you are paying £250 a night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We have just returned from a long weekend in London after a concert in Hyde Park.

We booked the Crowne Plaza City through last minute.com as one of their secret hotel deals.

The hotel location is excellent as it is situated right next to Blackfriars tube station. However, the tube is currently closed until 2011 so a 10 minute walk along the Thames brings you to the next nearest station - Temple. As we have had a weekend of glorious weekend of weather this was not an issue at all but may be something to consider in the colder months.

On arrival, we were warmly greeted and were given an upgrade of our room - always nice! Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful.

Our room was up on the 7th floor and was very pleasant in decor - dark woods and bright materials. Condiments were in large supply even a small coffee cafetiere and filter sachets!

Bathroom was excellent in size and amenities with one of the best and least complicated showers i have used in any hotel. Only major gripe here was that our towels were all changed the next day when it wasn't really necessary. I try to do my bit for the environment so this is always a bug bear of mine.

We ate in the Italian restaurant 'Raffertitti's'. The food was of a very high quality though probably a little pricey considering that it just felt a little like there was something missing from the plate. What we had was excellently cooked. We booked our meal through top table and got 2 courses and a glass of presecco for £25 each. The staff in the restaurant were absolutely superb and really couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.

Overall, a great hotel, great staff and a great location - once that tube station is sorted!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#153 Romantic Hotel in London
#168 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.