We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zzzzzzz” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - The City

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza London - The City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Agoda.com
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #152 of 1,071 hotels in London
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Zzzzzzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights from Friday 13 September 2013 with my mum for some sightseeing, shopping and theatre.

Took at cab from victoria as i didn't want to hit the tube during rush hour. Check-in was quick and easy and the room was clean and quiet. Good selection of treats in the minibar but as you'd expect, rather overpriced. If you do fancy a nibble, tesco express is right next door to the hotel so let your feet do the walkin.

Ordered two of the crown plaza burgers as my mum was too tired to venture out and we were very pleasantly surprised. They were really delicious, meaty, juicy and well worth the cost!

Great sleep and even though the walls seemed quite thin, didn't hear any of our neighbours.

Hotel is just across from blackfriars tube and Westfield mall was very convenient via underground. Had an afternoon cream tea on the Thames before heading over to the theatre district to see Phantom. Tube back to Blackfriars after the show was again easy and convenient.

Breakfast in the hotel was great, super selections and something for everyone. The only negative Is the plates tend to be cold so if you have hot (or 'warm' as it tended to be), food it will cool fast!

I would definately recommend this hotel, it was convenient, clean and ticks all the boxes you'd expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Claude257,
I am glad that you loved our hotel and our location so much. We pride ourselves in delivering superior service and are happy to hear that we did not disappoint.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    565
    393
    90
    33
    16
See reviews for
239
399
60
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Really lovely hotel, not slap bang in the middle of all the main sights but right easy to get anywhere with the tube station directly opposite. Modern, clean rooms, air con was a godsend, very friendly and helpful staff. Not the cheapest you'll find in London but good quality at a fair price. We've already booked to return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Cruzwithkids,
It was great to see that you felt our hotel was the perfect place from which to experience London.

I was also happy to read that my team were so friendly and helpful. Please contact me directly with details of your next visit, I will be delighted to look after your visit personally.

Kind Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
marli.sadzinski@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

An overnight stay in the Crowne Plaza, Blackfriars was just what was needed as we passed through London. We checked in to a beautiful room with a view over the River Thames, clean, light and airey, excellent mini bar and access to their Club Lounge which we took advantage of before dinner in their resident Italian restaurant Diciannove - and continental breakfast the next morning. It was the perfect stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Charlotte D,
I was happy to read that you classed us as being an excellent hotel. We pride ourselves in delivering superior service and we thank you for taking the time to post feedback.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very pleased with this property. The room was more spacious than expected. Comfortable beds. Staff was pleasant. Edna, - or similar name - in housekeeping, was a delight as she greeted me each morning.
Quite pleased with the location. Right across from the Black Friars Station allowed easy access to the sights. A short walk over the bridge to the south bank of the Thames just outside hotel's door was convenient. Standing on the bridge in the evening was magical. All purpose corner store plus Starbucks right across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Stephanie S,
I appreciate the time taken to post feedback about your recent stay with us.
Thank you very much for your comments about the great service received from our colleague Edna, you compliments have been passed on and are a great motivator to keep up the level of services we are so proud to deliver in this property.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ok it's pricy but so enjoyable great rooms, clean and tidy, good food and as for the staff could not be more helpful so weigh one up against the the other we would go again well recommended. Near to everything

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Cholla,
I appreciate the time taken to post feedback about your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza London - The City. It is always great to receive feedback from guests but even better when it is a repeat client. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here as had to over night in London, the room rate was extortionate due to London fashion week, I couldnt check in due to the system being down and as I was due at a meeting later that evening I had to be let in by a receptionist, and collect my key later that evening. The follwoing morning I tried to shower, it was a disaster, there was no power or heat and in the end I gave up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear S8C11,
Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor, I am sorry to hear about the delay on your check in.
It is also concerning to read that you did also experience some issues in the room, unusual in this property.
I would be delighted if you contact me directly on marli.sadzinski@ihg.com for further details.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and once again all our expectations were exceeded. We stayed with Priority Club points and were upgraded to the Club floor. My husband has Platinum Ambassador status. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and met all our needs. We loved the quality toiletries and the comforts of the Club lounge. The hotel is located opposite the Blackfriars station and is near most of the London attractions. In the evenings we walked across the bridge over the river Thames to the opposite bank with it's many riverside restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear EtrRsa,
I was so happy to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you loved the service, finding it quick and attentive.
We pride ourselves on not only meeting but exceeding guest expectations.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#130 Family Hotel in London
#146 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul’s Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London – The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone’s throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you’re in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There’s also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you’re here, don’t forget to eat in at our award-winning restaurant, Refettorio, directed by Michelin-starred Chef Giorgio Locatelli offering some of the finest Italian food in London. Chinese Cricket Club, a destination Chinese restaurant set within Crowne Plaza London - The City, has attracted much acclaim for its menu of Sichuan specialist with a modern twist. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen’s other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.