We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - The City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza London - The City to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza London - The City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #198 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel with very comfortable rooms. Great choice of breakfast and excellent service. Really well situated for The South Bank, London Eye & London Dungeon. Across the road from Blackfriars Tube Station so getting around is really easy. We will definitely stay here again in our next visit to The Capital.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Blustars Taxi,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I was happy to read that in general you liked your visit to the hotel, the service we provide, our location, and that you will come and stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    470
    116
    39
    21
See reviews for
295
472
70
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a late August business trip to London. Desperately want to avoid the craziness of the tourist areas. I've used this hotel before and always found it excellent. It is close to St Paul's and Blackfrairs bridge for a evening stroll, has a excellent Indian food restaurant just up the street and is across from Blackfriars tube/rail station. Rooms were good and service above average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jay S,
I appreciate the time taken to post feedback about your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to see how much you loved our location and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwich1994
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a good quality hotel, and its not as if you'll run screaming from the room when you see them, but there were signs of tiredness in my room that have begun to tarnish an otherwise good experience. Mould on the shower door seal, bathroom door paint missing, stained wall in the bathroom, old and badly scratched plastic glasses in the bathroom. I am not a person who enters a hotel room, sets down his bags and then immediately hunts for faults, but nor am I completely unobservant. I would say that with the massive choice of hotels in London, Crowne Plaza would ignore these apparently small gripes at their peril.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Woolwich1994,
Thank you for the feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not as impressed with our room offering this time around. I have asked my housekeeping and maintenance team to check the room you stayed in again to take corrective action.
I am however happy to hear that my team rectified all issues once you had reported them. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Timber, Montana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at the Crowne Plaza-The City and I look forward returning. The location across the street from the Blackfriar tube station makes it simple to travel anywhere in London plus walking to St. Paul's or the Tate Modern (or other attractions) is delightful. As other reviewers stated, the rooms are compact but still comfortable. There's a feeling of quiet elegance throughout the hotel. The staff are 'at the ready' to be helpful. We stayed 5 nights in early December and found the central location perfect for sight-seeing during the short days and walking at night to incredible musical performances at St. Paul's or walking through St. James area, Westminster Abbey, or shopping at Harrod's--all of which were spectacularly decorated for the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear mtinnkeeper,
I appreciate the time taken to post feedback about your recent stay with us. It is always great to receive feedback from guests but even better when it is a repeat client. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Hills
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were originally booked at the Crowne Plaza Shoreditch, and several days before we were to fly to London, we were advised that, owing to renovations, they could not accommodate us for part of our stay even though we had booked in March. Arrangements were made to transfer the booking to Crowne Plaza London The City. The desk staff, especially Kilian, were extremely helpful in working through various problems this last minute change caused. The Hotel has well appointed rooms, a very good breakfast selection, and is very convenient to public transport. It was an easy walk from the Hotel to St. Pauls, the Millennium Footbridge, Globe Theatre and Tate Modern.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Iwo,
I appreciate the time taken to post feedback about your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to see how much you enjoyed it and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Crowne Plaza London-The City is a nice, medium size hotel ideally located next to St. Paul's, the Tate Modern, and the Blackfriar Bridge and tube station. The perfect Blackfriar pub is right across the street. The rooms were sleek and modern. The staff was courteous and helpful in giving directions, making reservations for dinner and attractions, and providing suggestions. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Madpaine,
Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor following your visit to Crowne Plaza London The City.
We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.
Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second visit. We stayed here overnight whilst visiting the Opera. Wonderful hotel. Staff are pleasant and friendly and the concierge chap very helpful. The suite room we was in was very good. I have come to expect he high standards at this hotel We will be back i'm sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear dansa3151,
I was so glad to read that you, once again, enjoyed your stay with us at Crowne Plaza London - The City. I was delighted that you enjoyed the room you stayed in and the brilliant service my team provided you with .
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in London
#150 Business Hotel in London
#156 Romantic Hotel in London
#168 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.