We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing lack of communication” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - The City

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza London - The City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #184 of 1,073 hotels in London
Leeds, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dissapointing lack of communication”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I booked this hotel back in October 2012.. for a visit in Feb 2013. I managed to get an early saver rate so that I could take my mither to london for her 70th birthday. The hotel itself was immacualte and very well presented. We arrived early and they managed to check us in at 10:45am.. very impressive!. Our room was spacious and fashionable. so far a perfect hotel. Unfortunatley though the bar in the hotel was closed for a refurb, something that we were not informed of prior to arrival... also the whole hotel had an acrid smell of varnish and glue because of the referb. This meant that the foyer was the only place to get a drink and this was woefully understaffed. We left after 30 minues of trying to get a drink! Whilst this didnt spoil our stay it dampened it a touch. It would have been nioce to get a night cap after the show we had been to see..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    600
    414
    100
    34
    19
See reviews for
264
425
63
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed on the ridiculously cheap £20.13 priority club promotion rate for a weekend in January. We expected the rock bottom worst room for that price in a top notch London hotel but instead were upgraded to a smart modern Club floor room including club lounge access! wow. Very impressed with that level of customer service.

The club lounge was relaxing and friendly with good evening canapes and bar drinks for free, though fairly small for such a size of hotel and quite crowded. We therefore took breakfast in the main restaurant downstairs for just £10 per head each day, which was fabulous.

As priority gold members, we also got free newspapers and an excellent additional treat, free use of the inroom movies. We had a great night in watching a film and relaxing after a long day sightseeing

This location is excellent. You are alongside Blackfriars Bridge by the Thames, and Blackfriars tube station. It's a 3 minute walk to St Paul's Cathedral and the City of London district, and a nice 5 min walk over the river to the Southbank, Tate Modern and Globe theatre. We are suburban Londoners and loved having the central location to wander about by the river here.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful, it was a real delight to stay in. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for two nights on a promotional rate. Check in was fast, very friendly and efficient, offered an upgrade and as a Priority Club member offered either free wifi or in room entertainment - we went for the wifi which worked excellently throughout the Hotel. Rooms were very comfortable, spotlessly clean with everything you would expect - tea,coffee making facilities, trouser press, iron and ironing board etc. Very nice toiletries from Temple Bar Spa. Plug sockets are located on the side at the end of the desk which took a bit of finding. No problems with noise even though our rooms looked over New Bridge Street at the front of the hotel. Breakfast was very good, fresh and good quality. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have just returned from spending the weekend at this super hotel. The hotel is conveniently located across the road from a train station, close to St Paul's Cathederal and the City of London.

I stayed on a very cheap rate, having booked a standard room. On checking in, the delightful and very friendly Italian receptionist lady, acknowledged my Priority Club membership and upgraded my room to a large room with two double beds. I was also offered either free wifi or movies and I selected the movie option. The room itself was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We had room service one evening and although I thought it was expensive, it was a good meal and was brought promptly to the room.

Did the hotel and staff exceed my expections? Absolutely. Would I stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Go for a pint to the Blackfriars Pub across the road from the hotel. It has one of the most beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

With the help of the concierge staff parking in London was easy. A member of the concierge staff drove my car to a local NCP car park and collected it the next day and all for a very reasonablecharge plus the parking charge. The hotel was very modern and reception was very efficient.

Our room was immaculate with tea/coffee making facilities, trouser press and large screen T.V.
The bed linen felt like silk and came with a guarantee of a good nights sleep aided, if necessary, by free sleep inducing aroma therapy.

Breakfast was a reasonable £10 each but only if you collected vouchers from reception,without vouchers it was £23.50 each. Vouchers were not recommended on check in and so breakfast cost an eye watering £50. No refund was offered!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great 4* hotel with a great location. It has all been said before in previous reviews but I can add that the rooms are comfortable, clean and stylish.. Didn't hear any noise from the corridor or neighbours and the room stayed dark when the sun came up which is a good thing for a light sleeper like me. You can walk to most central London attractions from here or alternatively there plenty of public transport options to choose room. Paid extra for breakfast which was good quality and fresh with the usual selection of items. We were on a promotion rate which made our stay amazing value for money so thank you Crowne Plaza we had a fantastic weekend thanks to you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Couldnt get a better location.

Hotel was modern and clean.

As a Priority Club Platinum member I was offered free Internet but no upgrade or room gift.

Like all hotels, plug sockets were lacking and poorly positioned.

Breakfast was fantastic, so much choice. Paid £10 each in advance.

PC in business centre wasn't working for the duration of our stay but staff bent over backwards to help us.

We paid a special promo of £20 a room hence exceptional value; I'd never pay rack rate for any hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in London
#148 Romantic Hotel in London
#163 Business Hotel in London
#173 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.