We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a tourist, it worked for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza London - The City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza London - The City to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza London - The City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #198 of 1,065 Hotels in London
San Diego, CA, USA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“For a tourist, it worked for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent two nights here and found the hotel pleasant enough. I liked its location as a tourist. Located practically along the banks of the Thames and directly across from the Blackfriars tube station, you could walk or train to wherever you wanted. I like varying the neighborhoods that I stay in when returning to a city and I found this neighborhood an interesting change from, say, Bloomsbury. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    469
    115
    39
    21
See reviews for
295
471
70
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend. I got for the first time a funny feeling in a hotel that it was without a heart. I mean everybody did his job and was friendly but only up to the need. I didn't feel welcome and was glad to leave on monday. The location is not that great because next to a busy road and the blackfriars station is new but not the best tube option to get around quick in Londen certainly if the lines go down on sunday. Close to the Thames but you see nothing of it. It was more quiet inside the hotel so that was good. The breakfast was rather poor (Who cooks those awfull eggs ?) For this price and 4 star i expected more. The room was decent size but the bathroom wasn't with the door slamming against the toilet. So all in all very average stuff and you can get better for this price range.

Room Tip: probably at the back on top floors, no view tough
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - The City, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear WimLeuven,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the friendliness of our staff.

However, We’re sorry about the poor breakfast selection and for the poor customer service provided by our staff. We Will look into this and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndonville
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed only one night, about a month before the Olympics and the last night of our trip so we would be closer to the airport. Great room, great location and very quiet. Be aware of the cost. This is not an inexpensive hotel, approximately $600.00 a night. Perhaps during other seasons and other times prices are lower but not when we stayed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great location, easy to access Underground (Black Friar stop). Tesco express, Starbucks, Costa and other quick places to get drinks and snacks across the street from hotel. Rooms were good size for Europe, beds and linens comfy. Very clean and amazingly quite. Close to St. Paul's and easy to catch Hop on Hop off bus. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Next to Black Friar Pub, worth a visit. Kids were upset that hotel did not have free wi-fi, but Starbucks and Costa does.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here on monday evening 17th september. The reception staff member was very welcoming and acknowledged my Gold priority membership and gave us an upgrade to the 6th floor without any prompting by me. The room on the 6th floor was large and comfortable with a desk and easy chair and a very good sized bathroom with bath and shower above. The room had a fridge ,safe, ironing board,trouser press etc so was well equiped. On the 6th floor is a 'club lounge' for exclusive use for that floor(ie room key entry) in the lounge was drinks and canapes and we had an excellent- self service- cooked breakfast . The lounge also has a PC and printer, newspapers and tea and coffee. We were touched by the thoughfulness of the receptionist as she had arranged a bottle of wine and some delicious chocolates and a card for my husbands birthday.
The postion of the hotel is ideal, right opposite Blackfriars train/tube station also an easy walk across to the South Bank and the Globe and the Tate Gallery via the Millenium bridge. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will certainly be staying there next time we go to london to the theatre.

Room Tip: Recommend 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

this was a business trip, so all I wanted was a silent and comfortable room and I got one like that. Internet worked, so was everything else!
Stay away from Lufthansa, there are better ways to fly!
Stay away from Lufthansa, there are better ways to fly!

Room Tip: mine was little bit on the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excellent service, the rooms were very comfortable and home from home. It was brilliant to have a Bose speaker for my iPod. The food was excellent and if you join their Convivium club (ask for details) you get a lot of discounts. Ask for Chris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Luxury Hotel in London
#146 Business Hotel in London
#164 Romantic Hotel in London
#169 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza London - The City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.