We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial College Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial College Accommodation to your Saves list
Imperial College Accommodation
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Prince's Gardens, South Kensington, London SW7 2PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 649 Specialty Lodging in London
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
“Excellent location and very good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at the Princes Gardens' accommodation on the Imperial College campus, Wilkinson Hall. The accommodation was totally value for money in terms of location and convenience. Albert hall, the Royal college of music, the Science museum and Hyde Park were just 5-10 minutes walking distance. the breakfast spread in the Imperial college hall of commons was fantastic. A very minimal but effective service supplemented the stay. Only negatives were possibly room size and lack of airconditioning, but who needs it when the weather is on the colder side. Would definitely want to stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    149
    43
    19
    11
See reviews for
30
112
89
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my daughter. Spotlessly clean basic accommodation, in a perfect area!! Right next to Royal Albert Hall, Victoria and Albert Museum, Science Museum, and only a ten minute walk to Harrods!! Very friendly staff and adequate breakfast in the morning. We will return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We couldn't have wished for more for £55 a night with breakfast and a 2 minute walk to South Kensington tube station!

We were thrilled with our stay here, very clean and comfortable rooms. The breakfast was very nice, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This accommodation are the student halls from late September to end June, but Imperial rents them out as hotel accommodation during the summer. Really good value - i booked through the Imperial website, and got 50% off, so paid £62 for one night for an ensuite double room with breakfast included in the morning. The room also includes gym access.

Our room was in Eastside, which was a double room facing away from the Eastside bar (so quiet!), with a lot of storage space, and a decent bathroom.

Great location - I went to Imperial as an undergraduate, and it has that very "student halls" feel for me. 2 minutes from the tube station, near some major tourist attractions, and also comfortable! Recommend staying here. But book in advance, and arrive at the check in desk BEFORE 2pm otherwise you will be queueing for a long time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good tea making facilities & clean towels. The bed wasn't as clean as it could have been and the sheets/one pillow were quite thin. The bed itself was uncomfortable as I could feel the springs in my back.
Very nice and helpful staff though!

Room Tip: Don't get a shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I traveled to London from the USA and needed a safe, economic, and convenient-to-tourist-attractions place to stay. Prince's Gardens (at Imperial College) fit our needs perfectly. It was easy to take the underground from Heathrow Airport to the South Kensington Station and walk the 2 blocks with luggage to the check-in/accommodation. The area seemed very upscale and safe and we did not have concern about going out at night, etc. The room was very basic with a full-size bed, and essentially provided a clean place to sleep and shower. There was not air conditioning, but this was not a problem at all during our trip as the weather was lovely. The breakfast at the college cafeteria was a short walk from the room and was both tasty and filling every morning. There was a selection of both cooked items and fruit/cereal to choose from. There was a small charge for Wi-Fi for the duration of the stay, and it did have some connection/password problems during the first day, but those were resolved during our visit. My only complaint is the the bed was very hard and uncomfortable and you could almost feel the firm springs (as well as hear them very clearly!). Otherwise if you have similar needs to ours for you trip, I definitely recommend Prince's Gardens. If we go back to London we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night as I was going to the RAH. Fantastic location as it is approx a ten minute walk to the RAH. It's also close to all the museums and South kensington eateries. Basic ensuite accommodation but clean and had everything I needed. There is a short walk to breakfast-which is in the college canteen.
I would definately stay here again although I'm sure it isn't the right place for everyone. For £41 a night it's a steal! Get it booked!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial College Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial College Accommodation

Address: Prince's Gardens, South Kensington, London SW7 2PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 649 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial College Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial summer accommodation provides the perfect base for exploring the many sights and attractions London has to offer.During July, August and September, Imperial’s student halls of residence are open to the public and provide great value bed and breakfast accommodation in a fantastic central London location - South Kensington, whether you are visiting London for a weekend or a longer break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Imperial College Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial College Hotel London
Imperial College Accommodation London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial College Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.