We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean, central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merlyn Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Merlyn Court Hotel to your Saves list
Merlyn Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good value, clean, central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Really pleased! Great location, basic but clean. Cute rooms. Breakfast is a bit rubbish as only toast but for the price can't complain!!! Staff really friendly and helpful. Booked a triple room and we all got our own comfy bed.....no nasty sofa beds!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    74
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
29
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

this hotel seemed to good to be true. its got a great location 5 minutes walk from earls court tube station and easy to find. very nice lady in charge called Lucy. i was in a downstairs room with double bed and en suite. shower was nice and hot and the room was very clean. so no complaints really. i think the only thing they should add is a TV. its the only hotel i have stayed in that does not have one and they don't cost much nowadays. i missed breakfast both mornings i stayed so cannot add anything on that subject. however there are loads of pubs in the vicinity that all do breakfasts. all in all its an excellent place to stay for those on a budget. i paid £50 a night so i think its very good, just needs a TV to improve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

You may be a bit disappointed when you fist get in. But you may later understand that this hotel indeed offers you value for money. The house is old and the ceilings are high, adding to the comfort of your stay. Despite humble interior, Merlyn Court has all basic amenities, is clean and is conveniently located. Earl’s Court underground is only 5 min away. Kensington Gardens & Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall, Victoria and Albert Museum are also within walking distance (~20 min). At least two good pubs and a few groceries are located in the Earl’s Court Road nearby. The staff is friendly and offers very simple breakfast in the lower ground floor. For me, major inconvenience was one bathroom per floor (i.e. three guest rooms).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very clean. Wifi only works on the ground floor (this was not mentioned when I booked - it only said free wifi). The ground floor single room is very noisy - right next to the main door, so you hear the door each time it is shut, forget a good night's sleep). Very basic breakfast - just toast and weak tea / coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've been to this place twice. The second time was quite disappointing. Not only was the room smaller, but I found on its desk a long list of "don'ts" I hadn't seen during my first stay: one of the points included that I not leave the towel on the floor (why should that happen?) and be economical with water and light (that's also my attitude when at home, so why do I need to be told this?). It made me feel not like a 37-year-old guest in a hotel, but rather like a teenage pupil in a boarding school. Next time I won't forget my passport for registration (as a final-year research student based in the U.K., I had felt it unnecessary to bring it along with me) so that people at the hotel can address me according to my age. For £49 (standard single room) I would expect at least some tea-and-coffee-making facilities in the room and a richer and more balanced breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I thoroughly liked Merlyn Court hotel. My single room was spotless. It was a single twin bed with a sink. Must better than what I was expecting. The toilet & shower were just a few stairs away, but also very clean. The hotel kept everything clean which is very important to me. I'm out all day long, so I don't need the amenities. I stayed for two nights, and i only ate breakfast there once which was just tea & toast. They provided towels as long as you keep them hung when you were done. The building is very old, so you have to expect the creaking floors and noisy door locks...I really tried to be as quiet as I could, but those door locks would just make a load click. I felt very safe. They even cleaned my room the next day too. Lucy and Maddie were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend staying at the hotel for little amenities. They said they had internet, but I didn't use it because I couldn't find it on my floor. Again, I am pretty much there for a nice hot shower, and a bed to lay out, so it was still find with me. Always went down to a cafe with internet if I needed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

On our first trip to London for many years we were naievly hoping for value for money. Unfortunately we were disappointed with this hotel. Though the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean, the beds were uncomfortable and the breakfasts were very sparse. (Tea and coffee with thin white bread toast and marmalade-no choices). Over our 7 week trip this was one of the worst places in terms of value for money. The fact that there was no TV and no wifi was also disappointing- even though this was a budget hotel these facilities should have been provided. There is also no fire escape apart from the main staircase which might put off some people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlyn Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlyn Court Hotel

Address: 2 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlyn Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is family run, quiet, with clean bright rooms and totally no smoking. Our aim is to offer straightforward no frills fantastic value accommodation in one of the finest, green areas of Central London –there are several garden squares around us, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park are close if you like walking, interesting old architecture and a couple of museums too! There are restaurants, cafés, shops (open late), banks, and a post office only 3 minutes awaySince 1947, Merlyn Court Hotel has been a family run bed & breakfast recognised by local & international tourism associations and guides. It is popular with leisure and business travellers for its central location and for providing excellent value in a friendly and quiet atmosphere.We have tried to retain the original features of the building to provide clean, bright and airy rooms. Most have private facilities but we have also kept some basic rooms for the needs of the smaller budget traveller. Large rooms with 3 or 4 beds are also provided for friends or those with families.This is a popular, good value, no frills, unpretentious B & B. Many universities, art institutions and museums and medical institutions use our hotel for their research students and professionals.A homely atmosphere with multilingual staff and excellent rates for prime London.Make your trip to London a memorable experience and a pleasant stay as well. All these attractions are at very close proximity with the Bed and Breakfast Hotel MerlynCourt. We want you to take the best and the happiest memories of your visit and we strive to make that a reality with our dedicated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Merlyn Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlyn Court London
Hotel Merlyn Court
Merlyn Court Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlyn Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.