We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, good quality at good price. Friendly staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merlyn Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Merlyn Court Hotel to your Saves list
Merlyn Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, good quality at good price. Friendly staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

Nice place to stay. Great location, very near the tube station.
Friendly young staff.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, great location, reasonable price for a two star B & B.
  • Disliked — Hot water in shower was difficult to regulate.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    75
    26
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
29
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

The Merlyn Court hotel fills a specific niche: it's a low cost, clean motel near downtown London and the tube. For those people seeking inexpensive, no frills lodging in London - it works well.

Our experience with the motel was fine. Our flight got in early in the morning, and they were nice enough to allow us to check in early. The room was clean, and relatively quiet. The only noises we heard were doors banging at night, but given the age of the building this is understandable. Facilities were en suite, and while small were functional.

This hotel does not offer many amenities. Basically, you get a small room and a bed - not much else is included. We ended up buying our own travel alarm clock as there wasn't one in the room. There are no TV's in the room. There is a light breakfast, but it is served from 8-9. We were early risers, so were always gone before breakfast.

Would I reccomend this place to other people? Yes - but I would make sure the people understood that this place is very basic. If you are expecting services and room features like a traditional hotel would have - I would have to encourage you to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

This is a budget hotel and I never expected too much to begin with, but I think the owner could have been a little more helpful and complained less. First of all, the key to our room didn't work. Then when we asked her about face cloths, she went on and on about how people might steal them. I thought this was kind of tacky. I had the feeling that she didn't really enjoy running the hotel. And it didn't make for a particularly pleasant stay. The only good thing was, while we were there, we checked out the hotel next door (St. Mark) and went to that hotel for our second night in town - a much better choice.

  • Liked — It's very quiet and the location is convenient.
  • Disliked — The owner was not helpful.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Good location and great large room. Plenty of room for our tired feet. Ample room for luggage and nice high ceilings. Bathrooms were clean and good size bed and had a great view of the street. Staff allowed us to store our bags in our room when we did some morning sight seeing and then catch our train. Not far from Earl's Court station which was not far from Buckingham palace, Westminster Abbey, etc. Great fruit stand on Earl's Court street which we visited for breakfast every morning. They had wake-up calls which helped when our clock wasn't working. Good value and wouldn't mind staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

Great location very near the Earl's Court tube stop , convenient to food stores and a variety of restaurants . Stayed on the 4th floor which was quite a climb since there is no elevator . Our room was plain but clean , staff is quite helpful and pleasant . We stayed 4 nights and oddly enough were issued 1 towel each for the entire stay . There was a 2 pound charge for any extra towel asked for . Breakfast was not much but that didn't really matter to us . The plusses far outweighed the minuses and we would definatly stay again .

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Climb to 4th floor
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

Give high marks to Merlyn Court Hotel for location, friendliness, good/fair pricing, clean &comfortable room. Nice breakfast served in a cute, cozy room. Nothing fancy food wise, but how fancy is your breakfast at home? Good tea, toast, cereal and service with a smile - worked for us. Loved Luciana and staff - so hospitable in every way. Yes, lots of stairs, but actually less stairs than we encountered other places in Europe. Would be tough with more than the 14x22 inch suitcases most of our party had. Our room overlooked a little garden, it was nice and quiet. Great neighborhood, so close to the Tube (Earls Court) - hope to return soon.

  • Liked — Location and Luciana
  • Disliked — The stairs at the end of a long day
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

The hotel was wonderfully located, just a block from an Underground stop on a quiet street. I had a single, without a private bathroom. The bathroom was close by and always immaculately clean. The room itself was neat, clean, and spacious. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The only dissapointment was breakfast, which consisted only of tea/coffee, cereal and toast. However, given the price and its central location, it was definately a place I would stay again.

  • Liked — Price for the location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merlyn Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlyn Court Hotel

Address: 2 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Merlyn Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is family run, quiet, with clean bright rooms and totally no smoking. Our aim is to offer straightforward no frills fantastic value accommodation in one of the finest, green areas of Central London –there are several garden squares around us, Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park are close if you like walking, interesting old architecture and a couple of museums too! There are restaurants, cafés, shops (open late), banks, and a post office only 3 minutes awaySince 1947, Merlyn Court Hotel has been a family run bed & breakfast recognised by local & international tourism associations and guides. It is popular with leisure and business travellers for its central location and for providing excellent value in a friendly and quiet atmosphere.We have tried to retain the original features of the building to provide clean, bright and airy rooms. Most have private facilities but we have also kept some basic rooms for the needs of the smaller budget traveller. Large rooms with 3 or 4 beds are also provided for friends or those with families.This is a popular, good value, no frills, unpretentious B & B. Many universities, art institutions and museums and medical institutions use our hotel for their research students and professionals.A homely atmosphere with multilingual staff and excellent rates for prime London.Make your trip to London a memorable experience and a pleasant stay as well. All these attractions are at very close proximity with the Bed and Breakfast Hotel MerlynCourt. We want you to take the best and the happiest memories of your visit and we strive to make that a reality with our dedicated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Merlyn Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merlyn Court London
Hotel Merlyn Court
Merlyn Court Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merlyn Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.