We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night noise in some rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Travelodge London Kings Cross to your Saves list
Travelodge London Kings Cross
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willings House, 356-364 Grays Inn Road, London WC1X 8BH, England (Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #627 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Late night noise in some rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall a standard Travelodge experience. Clean, refurbished, and reasonable value for money. Unfortunately our room (327) overlooked Thameslink and Tube lines and a bar/club, meaning disrupted sleep until 3am from the high levels of noise (including music and emptying bins for of glass). Train noise was present but not objectionable during sleeping hours. Our stay was a Saturday night. Suspect Friday night similar, but problem may not be as bad on other nights.

Complained about it in the morning, and was clear that staff were aware of the problem, but had still booked us into an affected room, and offered no form of refund/compensation.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    99
    88
    43
    47
See reviews for
114
110
20
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived around 1:30PM from the pouring rain and asked if we could leave our luggage. We were told very rudely that there was nowhere to store luggage and we would have to pay £10 to check in early. As I wasn't aware of this when I booked I felt incredibly ripped off and I was made to feel ridiculous by the receptionist for even asking. To me, storing your luggage is an essential part of staying in a hotel,and I find it pretty disgusting that they are trying to make extra money in this way. The attitude problem the receptionist had was unbelievable, if I were her I would be apologetic that my company are so bad!
The stay itself was fairly average, the room was clean and it was very quiet, but I was on a high floor. The pillows weren't very comfortable as they were really hard and huge (but I guess some people like this?!). I can't comment on the shower as we were in a big rush to get the eurostar the next morning.
I'll never stay in a travelodge again though because of the luggage thing and will instead go for an ibis/premier inn/best western.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent hotel! clean,great location train and tube just a stone throw away. If you want a hotel close to everything this hotel offers all your needs will be staying there again. We are also considering buying one of there beds so comfortable best night sleep I have had in a long time :)

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A very busy Travelodge, hard to get into unless you book in advance, but it is well placed and reasonable in price. It is a good base to explore London as very close to Kings Cross Station.
As a base good, don' expect to much and you won't be disappointed, but for the price its good value

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned from a four day stay at Kings Cross Travelodge. The room was standard and at the rear of the hotel - although previous reviews stated this area was noisy from the trains - we did not have this problem. The room was clean, tidy and more than adequate, The continental breakfast was more than sufficient for our needs with plentiful choice. The staff were outstandingly helpful - couldn't do enough for us. My sister was staying at the Shard at the same time - we went to see her room which was incredible - but the staff weren't of the same standard as the Travelodge!!. Only one incident marred the visit and that came from unruly guests on Saturday night. The security staff dealt with them right away and the hotel compensated us adequately. The position of the hotel was ideal for a visit to London and we would certainly stay again .

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. It was the cheapest I could find for half term while staying fairly central. There were myself, my husband and two teenage girls. The room was fairly small, but it did have a king size bed and two single beds, it would probably have seemed much bigger without the extra beds.
The room was spotless, as was the bathroom and the shower was hot with good pressure. There were plenty of big clean towels too.
There is no restaurant in this hotel, just a self service breakfast room offering a variety of cold breakfast stuff. Pastries, yoghurts, muffins, cereal, croissants and toast, lots of different jams and spreads, and cheese, but the room was fairly small, full of families and it was hard to get a table at times. The staff were very helpful though, and once asked a guy who was sat a a table for 4 by himself to move to a smaller table so we could sit together.
It was within walking distance of plenty of places to eat, very close to the underground and the British Library.
The only downside was a train track ran right under our bedroom window, but this is London, there's going to be a lot of noise from outside. We quickly got used to the train noise, they don't run all night anyway.
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very welcoming reception, however our room at the rear of the hotel overlooked the railway and tube lines so was very noisy. Not ideal for the start of a holiday! Also strong drains smell in bathroom. Surprised no heating or means to dry towels etc in bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Kings Cross

Address: Willings House, 356-364 Grays Inn Road, London WC1X 8BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #627 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Kings Cross 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge London Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Hotel London
Travelodge Kings Cross
London Travelodge
London Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Kings Cross England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Kings Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.