We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Great location pleasant and helpful staff'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross

Save Saved
You added Travelodge London Kings Cross to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Kings Cross
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willings House, 356-364 Grays Inn Road, London WC1X 8BH, England (Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #693 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“'Great location pleasant and helpful staff'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my two sisters Oct 13. My husband made the booking before reading the reviews on here and we were dreading the experience on the evidence of previous travellers. The hotel is a 1min walk from the tube and there are several restaurants nearby. Indian, Chinese and Italian.We had a family room which consisted of a double bed and a pull out sofa, The bedding was clean as was the room and bathroom. We asked for extra pillows as only one each and extra towels as only two in room. Within half an hour they had been delivered by the very helpful desk staff. There is no getting away from the noise of the trains in room 404 as it is directly over the line. The first night was very warm so we had to keep the window open and the train noise up to midnight and starting again at 5am did disturb my sleep but my sisters slept through! The next morning I requested a fan which was in our room when we returned from our day out. We also bought earplugs from Boot across the road in the newly developed station and for the next two nights we slept well with the window closed and fan in action.
We paid £57 per night for the room and consider that very good value for the location and accommodation. The staff were helpful and friendly and we would definitely stay here if we visit London again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    210
    224
    161
    184
See reviews for
235
228
69
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The building can't cope with a main road, traffic lights, 4 railway lines and no air con.
I gather it is possible to request a quiet room, ring first.
There seems to be one hairdryer shared by all the guests in the hotel. You have to go to the front desk to book it!
It was hot.
You dare not open a window as the noise was so bad.
The double glazing can't even cope.
OK bathroom, clean, if your lucky a decent bed, one we had was VERY bouncy.

I can't comment on the breakfast. I took one look and scampered.

It is cheap.

Lovely facade to the building, the location is excellent for Kings X.

Room Tip: Check out the lovely facade of the building. But make sure you are not in one of the rooms you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived at about 8pm on a Friday to be told the 4 person family room we booked was not available. After much discussion we eventually ended split between two rooms. Both were very noisy - from a club nearby and the train track right next the hotel. There was a lot of very noisy people staying too. On the second night we were put together again but the room was tiny and hot. Would not return. Certainly not ideal for families!

Room Tip: Dont get one on the side of the hotel next to the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast of Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night and we were lucky to get a back room where it was quiet, the front would be very noisy. For a cost of £100 a night, I would have expected a much 'classier' modern room but the whole place needs a facelift. We had an old television with no Freeview, a very 'squeaky' bed a plus though,they must have had complaints re the heat as we had a fan supplied which we had to run all night as it was SO stuffy. I feel for the price breakfast should be included as it was very basic and cost nearly £6 a head. The staff were helpful regarding directions etc but the ones in the breakfast room seemed more interested in chatting than clearing tables which we had to do ourselves !!!! def not the best Travelodge I have stayed in .

Room Tip: ask for a back room, very noisy in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

No frills - if carpet cleaning is a frill. An uncomfortable lack of maintenance and cleanliness. Large rooms but the dirt in the carpets makes you feel uneasy. If you like the sound of trains you will sleep well though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night, as travelling early next day by Eurostar, location was perfect for that short 5-10minute walk maximum to St Pancras station. Hotel itself quite easy to find from the tube station but no obvious signage.
Check-in quick and efficient and staff very friendly and courteous.
The room itself looked a bit run down and tatty to be perfectly frank, there had been a second bed in the room, which has been removed however there were still marks around the walls from were it was. generally the room felt cold, and wasn't that pleasant. Also the nightclub situated behind the hotel added some unwanted noise, not an issue for myself but for a light sleeper may be an issue.
I know these points seem petty but for £87 a night, I think there's a right to be critical, and when booking with a national chain you'd expect a uniform standard which was clearly lacking, if this was a booking made with a smaller independent then people would slate them on trip advisor, if I had paid a lesser rate I would possibly be more forgiving.
I don't like writing negative reviews, as I myself read them and think sometimes people are 'too whiney and nit picky'. Overall the staff were very good and the location perfect. However, we were badly let by the quality and standard of the room itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed here a total of three times at varying prices. It is marginally more expensive than local B&B where the rooms can often be a tad bit small.
For us it has been the locality where we have wanted to be in London for a relatively early Eurostar.
First time was above the tube line which is an effective wake up call and not to be repeated. However when booking Travelodge on the internet avoiding a noisy room is a bit tough.
Other rooms are generally OK and clean though the last one we had the bed was what we would have imagined a trampoline would be like - it was a fight to get out of the middle.
Breakfast was about a fiver and would not eat here again in that a local café offer so much better value. (Avoid the plug in the socket in the middle of the floor near the toaster)
Would we stay again - yes - though only if we could not find a great deal on one of the better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid noisy rooms or take ear muffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Kings Cross

Address: Willings House, 356-364 Grays Inn Road, London WC1X 8BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #693 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Kings Cross 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge London Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Hotel London
Travelodge Kings Cross
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Kings Cross England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Kings Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.