We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a night !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross

Save Saved
You added Travelodge London Kings Cross to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge London Kings Cross
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willings House, 356-364 Grays Inn Road, London WC1X 8BH, England (Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #696 of 1,073 hotels in London
west coast of Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“ok for a night !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night and we were lucky to get a back room where it was quiet, the front would be very noisy. For a cost of £100 a night, I would have expected a much 'classier' modern room but the whole place needs a facelift. We had an old television with no Freeview, a very 'squeaky' bed a plus though,they must have had complaints re the heat as we had a fan supplied which we had to run all night as it was SO stuffy. I feel for the price breakfast should be included as it was very basic and cost nearly £6 a head. The staff were helpful regarding directions etc but the ones in the breakfast room seemed more interested in chatting than clearing tables which we had to do ourselves !!!! def not the best Travelodge I have stayed in .

Room Tip: ask for a back room, very noisy in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    199
    206
    156
    179
See reviews for
213
219
67
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

No frills - if carpet cleaning is a frill. An uncomfortable lack of maintenance and cleanliness. Large rooms but the dirt in the carpets makes you feel uneasy. If you like the sound of trains you will sleep well though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night, as travelling early next day by Eurostar, location was perfect for that short 5-10minute walk maximum to St Pancras station. Hotel itself quite easy to find from the tube station but no obvious signage.
Check-in quick and efficient and staff very friendly and courteous.
The room itself looked a bit run down and tatty to be perfectly frank, there had been a second bed in the room, which has been removed however there were still marks around the walls from were it was. generally the room felt cold, and wasn't that pleasant. Also the nightclub situated behind the hotel added some unwanted noise, not an issue for myself but for a light sleeper may be an issue.
I know these points seem petty but for £87 a night, I think there's a right to be critical, and when booking with a national chain you'd expect a uniform standard which was clearly lacking, if this was a booking made with a smaller independent then people would slate them on trip advisor, if I had paid a lesser rate I would possibly be more forgiving.
I don't like writing negative reviews, as I myself read them and think sometimes people are 'too whiney and nit picky'. Overall the staff were very good and the location perfect. However, we were badly let by the quality and standard of the room itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed here a total of three times at varying prices. It is marginally more expensive than local B&B where the rooms can often be a tad bit small.
For us it has been the locality where we have wanted to be in London for a relatively early Eurostar.
First time was above the tube line which is an effective wake up call and not to be repeated. However when booking Travelodge on the internet avoiding a noisy room is a bit tough.
Other rooms are generally OK and clean though the last one we had the bed was what we would have imagined a trampoline would be like - it was a fight to get out of the middle.
Breakfast was about a fiver and would not eat here again in that a local café offer so much better value. (Avoid the plug in the socket in the middle of the floor near the toaster)
Would we stay again - yes - though only if we could not find a great deal on one of the better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid noisy rooms or take ear muffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

2 night stay in Septemeber at £98 per night. Noisy due to the trains, uncomfortable cold room, TV didnt work as there was no signal despite reporting this 1 hour after check-in & again the following morning at 7am, bathroom grubby, room shabby. DO NOT BOOK INTO THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Book at a different hotel - Jurys Islington is 0.4 miles away & £40 per room more but very well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's in an area of London that is starting to get a refurb. Also handy for the EuroStar from St Pancras.
We have just stopped twice. These visits were a week apart. Although the decorations have become a little tied both bed & shower rooms had been cleaned to a high standard. Every thing we used except the ceiling lights just inside the doors worked. This made it difficult to read the fire escape route map. ( We did not use the showers. )
One room did suffer from noise emanating from four busy train lines that run almost underneath the rear quarter of the building. These produce a lot of use which only stops during the middle of the night.
Security seems good. You need a valid key card to get to the stairs/lift & again to to get onto individual floors before reaching the room door.

Room 123 is on the rear quarter of the building which suffers from train noise. A week later we stopped for a couple of nights. This time in room 316. That room was very quiet. The ceiling light by the door did not work in either room. This made it difficult to read the fire escape route map. The heater in room 316 had a big dent in it & even turned right up did not get more than lukewarm.
We used the breakfast bar on one occasion. The two members of staff manning it were pleasant enough. But there concentration appeared to be on each other. This may have contributed to the shortage of cutlery.
Scores given are an average for both visits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very poor even for Travelodge standards. Motel standard. Sheets had not been cleaned - still had stains from previous sleepers.

The sirens constantly went off throughout the night since this part of town is a little rough. Quite a lot of hooligans and escorts nearby. It was completely overpriced - at 75 pounds a night! Over-priced cafe which didn't serve food.

Very close to King's Cross which is the only advantage. Better hotels nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge London Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Kings Cross

Address: Willings House, 356-364 Grays Inn Road, London WC1X 8BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #696 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge London Kings Cross 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Travelodge London Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Kings Cross Hotel London
Travelodge Kings Cross
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Travel Lodge London
Travelodge London Kings Cross England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Kings Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.