We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village to your Saves list
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #475 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Oost van Rotterdam
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed with 3 in a Crown room on the ground floor, facing the garden. The room was large enough, it included a double and single bed, a desk, two chairs, coffee table, water cooker and a small table with cups, glasses, coffee and tea. There was also a flat screen TV on the wall and a fan ( much needed, we were there last week , 34 degr. C ...) . The bathroom is rather small but as you are usually there by yourself, it's big enough. Shower is ok, could use just a little more presssure but it's hot ! The door lock was in need of some repair and it could use some hooks to put your clothes or towels on.
The room , bathroom and furniture where absolutely not worn out and everything was very clean.
Receptionists were friendly and efficient, so were the staff in the breakfast restaurant. Eventhough the hotel was full, breakfast items were plentifull and constantly being restocked . Choice is adequate ; toasts, cereals, yoghurt, pastries, some cheese and deli items, and the line up of hot British breakfast items. Service was great, dirty plates were taken away etc.

There is also a large bar downstairs and some function rooms.
The hotel has three small car parks, one in front and two in the back. Since you cannot reserve, you just have to be lucky. There is also parking in the streets around the hotel ( no charge). The railstation is just around the corner ( 5 minute walk) , get a off-peak ( after 930 and on weekends) day card for 8 pnds and travel all around london on the train, tube, bus and DLR .
From Blackheath to Central London ( Charing Cross ) is about 25 minutes.

All in all, a good stay for a good price.

Room Tip: Book a Crown room , facing the garden in the Garden wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Rotjeknor
Thank you for your interesting review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Clarendon. Sounds like you were here at a busy time, it is nice for me to read that the staff performed well, as they all work very hard. We all love the area, Blackheath is so special.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    178
    101
    27
    14
See reviews for
99
110
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lets start by putting this review in perspective. Why did I choose this hotel? I normally stay in the City of London but this time I had a hire car, so I didn't want to pay the congestion charge or exorbitant car parking fees. I needed a hotel that was around £80 and close to trains to London, and had free car parking. This fitted my requirements. I also know this part of London very well and therefore easily knew my way around. As a hotel it is dated and needs a major refurbishment. I stayed in one of the annexes which reminded me of my old school building and also looked a bit like the wing of a hospital. The room and bathroom were small but just about adequate for my needs. The staff were efficient but I would say they were not particularly friendly, as in no small talk. The breakfast was OK, standard fare conveyor belt system. Very close to the pretty but boring village of Blackheath, not much happens there, which you can walk round in about 5 minutes. Close to the beautiful Greenwich Park and famous Observatory, and as I said a few minutes walk to the station and about 15/20 minutes by train to the West End. And good for Canary Wharf for events going by other people's reviews. Not my first choice hotel, but suited my requirements this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear LordHow
thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel was booked for me by my employer, and it is not an area I have previously visited. I absolutely loved my stay here.

It is an old fashioned hotel, right on the village heath, so whilst the heat (caused by an English heatwave) made the room a bit too hot to be comfortable, I am not going to leap up and down saying install air-con as I think it could detract from the quaint nature of the building.

I had a wonderful view of the heath itself, and enjoyed a short stroll to the Princess of Wales pub just a couple of minutes away, which in itself comes highly recommended, even if the prices are a bit rich.

Room Tip: Get a view of the heath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Andyj300
Thank you for your review, Blackheath is a real gem, and I am so pleased you liked what you found here. It has been very hot, which makes Blackheath perfect place to be in, esp a nice pub overlooking the heath and local pond. We have a few other pubs in the village - The Crown, Hare & Billet, The Railway & O'Neils. All good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went to see Josh Groban at the 02 Arena and needed an Hotel which was close to the venue. The Clarendon just fits the bill for this as it took 10 minutes by taxi (which cost £7) and 20 minutes by bus on our return. The room was clean and the beds comfortable, which is really all you need for 1 night's stay. The only downside is that there is no double glazing on the windows and the walls are quite thin so, if you are a light sleeper, you could be disturbed by noises coming from next door occupants or people outside (we were on the first floor). The staff were friendly and efficient and we were really impressed with the quality of, and choices for, breakfast. Would definitely stay here again the next time we go to the 02 as it is value for money and conveniently situated for this venue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Gogogill
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay while visiting the O2 Arena. Thank you also for your nice comments about the staff and our filling breakfast. With regards to the Georgian (front windows) we have started a programme of replacing the original sash windows, with new versions (like for like,) which has reduced noise levels from outside.
Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Pretty basic hotel. 70's style. Don't think you can get a hotel in Zoe one to for much under £100. Friendly staff - but usually missing bar staff.

The single rooms are small and sweltering in this heat and the hotel has very little fans.

Breakfast is good

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Leetaylor0
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed here for going to see Michael Buble at the O2 Arena at the beginning of July. It was a hotel that had been booked a long time in advance. We found it a little hard to get to from where we were coming into London from, but it was okay when once we got there and then asked about getting back to where we needed to be to get home the next day!
To some the room might we had might be seen as quite pricey, but for a triple room that included breakfast the next day and also included return bus tickets to the O2 Arena AND for a hotel that was in London it was reasonably priced.
The room we had was lovely, and had all the amenities needed.
If you are looking for a hotel for when you are going to the O2 I would recommend this one, but especially if you are looking for a nice hotel outside of The City, but want something for the London attractions this is a lovely hotel.
I would recommend that you look into how to get there before you travel, especially if you are needing the underground like we did! But other than that fantastic hotel and would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Thats-So-Alex
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that the hotel suited you for your stay while visiting the O2 arena, and you enjoyed your stay. Not sure what your route to the hotel was, we are close to Blackheath Railway Station, which is 15-20 minutes by train from (Central London) either - Charring Cross, London Bridge, Waterloo East or Victoria. Transport for London is a good website for traveling through London. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed in a quad room last weekend with my girlfriends. We originally booked this as it was close to the O2 stadium. It is only a short walk from the hotel to Blackheath train station and trains run about every ten minutes into Charing Cross, taking about twenty minutes. Blackheath is a lovely suburb with lots of restaurants and coffee shops so you don't need to go into Central London all the time if you don't want. It's also only a couple of stops to Greenwich which has a good craft market on if your there on a Sunday. The staff were very friendly and even though the hotel was full the breakfast service was excellent. Would certainly visit again especially if your at the O2 stadium.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken_milton, General Manager at The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Lincolnshireukm
Than you very much for your review, it was nice to read how much you was able to enjoy all the best bits of this area. As you mentioned Central London, Greenwich with it's craft market - saturday & Sunday is also a great day in Greenwich with many worldwide food stalls and Blackheath with it's restaurants and village pubs and night life.
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village

Address: 8 - 16 Montpelier Row | Blackheath Village, London SE3 0RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarendon Hotel has 180 bedrooms and overlooks Historic Blackheath. This area of London is very special with Greenwich Park the River Thames and many fine attractions to visit. Situated in Blackheath Village the Clarendon offers a village atmosphere close to the O2 Arena (10 mins), Central London and Excel in Docklands. All rooms are en-suite and facilities such as the Meridian Restaurant, Nautical Chart Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarendon Hotel - Blackheath Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.